This is the "General Research" page of the "Marketing Research Methodology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marketing Research Methodology  

Last Updated: Jan 8, 2015 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=546892 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Research

Cover Art
Action Research in Organisations - Jean McNiff; Jack Whitehead
ISBN: 9780203184646
Publication Date: 2000
Action research is increasingly perceived and used as a powerful methodology to promote professional awareness and development. This text demonstrates how it can be utilised to promote management and organisational improvement.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Consumer Insight: How to Use Data and Marketing Research to Get Closer to Your Customer - Merlin Stone, Alison Bond, & Bryan Foss
Publication Date: 2004
You must log into the EBSCOHost eBook Collection database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Doing and Writing Action Research - A. Jack Whitehead; Jean McNiff; Jack Whitehead
Call Number: LB 1028.24 .M3985 2009
ISBN: 9781847871749
Publication Date: 2009
Doing and Writing Action Research provides a clear, comprehensive, and user-friendly guide to the practical aspects of carrying out action research. Written with practitioners involved in workplace-based professional development programs, as well as those on research training courses, in mind, this book covers all the core issues, with guidance on how to present findings, produce a research report that can inform policy, demonstrate the quality of one's research, and be critical and write theoretically. The book contains many worked examples of action research projects, to help illustrate the guidance on producing successful written accounts.  

Cover Art
Doing Qualitative Research - Benjamin F. Crabtree (Editor); William L. Miller (Editor)
Call Number: R 853 .S64 D65 1999
ISBN: 0761914978
Publication Date: 1999
This completely revised and greatly expanded edition of Doing Qualitative Research spans the spectrum of primary care research, illustrating when methods are appropriate and how to use them. New to this edition are additional collection methods, a new section on analysis and interpretation, more emphasis on participatory strategies, and suggestions for evaluating quality and enhancing reflexivity incorporated throughout the text. Each chapter is written by a gifted researcher who: defines their topic and the context of their research, defines key themes and processes, provides examples, explores theory, and shares their excitement of discovery. The book is richly illustrated throughout with detailed examples.

Cover Art
Doing Work Based Research - Carol Costley; Geoffrey C. Elliott; Paul Gibbs
Call Number: H 62 .C66 2010
ISBN: 9781848606784
Publication Date: 2010
Electronic Inspection Copy available for instructors here With the growth of work based learning and practitioner research this book leads the way by addressing key issues faced by 'insider-researchers' - learners, practitioners and managers doing research projects in the organizations and communities in which they themselves work, or where they are already familiar with the setting. The authors explore the implications of these research contexts, and discuss approaches and methodologies that work based researchers might adopt, with a particular focus on ethics - one of the key concerns for those undertaking a research project of this type. This book is an authoritative and readable guide to the theory and practice of work based research. It is for anyone undertaking a research project based on work practice, including learners on postgraduate, undergraduate and doctoral programmes. Practitioners, managers and participants in work based courses or modules in education, healthcare and business management, will find it particularly useful.  

Cover Art
Collaborative Research in Organizations - Niclas Adler (Editor); Alexander Styhre (Editor); A. B. (Rami) Shani (Editor)
Call Number: HD 30.4 .C645 2004
ISBN: 0761928626
Publication Date: 2003
Collaborative Research in Organizations: Foundations for Learning, Change, and Theoretical Development leverages and sustains the role of management research while increasing the theoretical development of complex organizational and management issues. The true partnership ideal and emergent inquiry process make collaborative research complex and difficult to organize, lead, and manage. This book addresses these needs by revisiting traditional research ideals.

Cover Art
Contemporary Research in E-Marketing - Sandeep Krishnamurthy
Call Number: HF 5415.1265 .C67 2005
ISBN: 1591403723
Publication Date: 2005
E-Marketing is intrinsically inter-disciplinary. Academic researchers in many fields are conducting research in this area. Contemporary Research in E-Marketing, Volume 1 brings the work being conducted in many disciplines to one outlet, encouraging cross-fertilization of ideas and greater dissemination of key research concepts.

Cover Art
Demographic Targeting - James A. Pooler
Call Number: HF 5415.127 .P66 2002
ISBN: 0754609200
Publication Date: 2002
Retailers who ignore the demographics of their customers do so at their peril. Demographic targeting is the key to success when it comes to modern retailing; this book takes a look at shopping from the perspective of demography as a crucial concept for understanding the modern shopper.

Cover Art
Design and Analysis of Experiments - Douglas C. Montgomery
Call Number: QA 279 .M66 2001
ISBN: 0471316490
Publication Date: 2000
Learn How to Achieve Optimal Industrial Experimentation Through four editions, Douglas Montgomery has provided statisticians, engineers, scientists, and managers with the most effective approach for learning how to design, conduct, and analyze experiments that optimize performance in products and processes. Now, in this fully revised and enhanced Fifth Edition, Montgomery has improved his best-selling text by focusing even more sharply on factorial and fractional factorial design and presenting new analysis techniques (including the generalized linear model). There is also expanded coverage of experiments with random factors, response surface methods, experiments with mixtures, and methods for process robustness studies. The book also illustrates two of today's most powerful software tools for experimental design: Design-Expert(r) and Minitab(r). Throughout the text, You'll find output from these two programs, along with detailed discussion on how computers are currently used in the analysis and design of experiments. You'll also learn how to use statistically designed experiments to: * Obtain information for characterization and optimization of systems * Improve manufacturing processes * Design and develop new processes and products * Evaluate material alternatives in product design * Improve the field performance, reliability, and manufacturing aspects of products * Learn how to conduct experiments effectively and efficiently Other important textbook features: * Student version of Design-Expert(r) software is available. * Web site (www.wiley.com/college/montgomery) offers supplemental text material for each chapter, a sample syllabus, and sample student projects from the author's Design of Experiments course at Arizona State University.

Cover Art
Design of Experiments - Robert O. Kuehl
Call Number: Q 182.3 .K84 2000
ISBN: 0534368344
Publication Date: 1999
Robert Kuehl's DESIGN OF EXPERIMENTS, Second Edition, prepares students to design and analyze experiments that will help them succeed in the real world. Kuehl uses a large array of real data sets from a broad spectrum of scientific and technological fields. This approach provides realistic settings for conducting actual research projects. Next, he emphasizes the importance of developing a treatment design based on a research hypothesis as an initial step, then developing an experimental or observational study design that facilitates efficient data collection. In addition to a consistent focus on research design, Kuehl offers an interpretation for each analysis.

Cover Art
Developing Effective Research Proposals - Keith Punch
Call Number: H 62 .P92 2000
ISBN: 0761963553
Publication Date: 2000
A well-constructed research plan is vital to the successful execution of any research project. This book shows how to design and prepare research proposal and present it effectively to a university review committee, funding body, or commercial client. The book is organized around three central themes: What are research proposals; who reads them and why?; what general guidelines and strategies can help students develop a proposal; and what might a finished proposal look like? The book will be invaluable across all areas of social science, both basic and applied, and for students undertaking quantitative, qualitative and mixed-method studies. Developing Effective Research Proposals can be used as a workbook to Keith Punch's bestselling text An Introduction to Social Research (Sage, 1998) or as an independent guide.

Cover Art
Essentials of Social Research - Kalof
ISBN: 9780335236794
Publication Date: 2008
Essentials of Social Researchis a well-balanced and engaging treatment of the many facets of doing research. Capturing a trend toward the use of multiple methods and perspectives, the authors weave theoretical insights with interesting findings and applications on a variety of topics. Their use of common examples from one chapter to the next is an innovative way of conveying the value of a multi-method approach to inquiry. And, they let us in on a secret shared by many researchers, which is that research is fun and we enjoy doing it. There is something here for students across the spectrum of the social and behavioural sciences. Daniel Druckman, George Mason University and the University of Queensland, Australia Clearly written, well-thought out and logically organized, the book is an ideal text for all undergraduate courses. … I particularly like the book’s thoughtful discussion of the quantitative/qualitative debate. The authors are even-handed about the strengths and weaknesses of the methods, noting that each is appropriate some of the time, neither is appropriate all of the time and the best empirical research often combines the approaches. … Finally, the application problems at the end of each chapter are so well thought out that a faculty member need not spend hours developing the basic homework assignments and can focus on designing appropriate research project for the students. Helen Roland, University of California, USA What is meant by ‘the scientific method’? How do I go about collecting data? Should I use qualitative methods, quantitative methods, or both? Essentials of Social Researchis an introductory text designed to provide straightforward, clear answers to the key questions students have about research methods. Written for those with no prior background in social research methodology, it covers the fundamentals of social research, including: types of research, reasoning and data, basic logic of quantitative and qualitative inquiry, major data collection strategies, and the assessment of research findings. In addition, this handy guide: Offers ongoing exercises to illustrate the text material Covers basic critical thinking skills Emphasizes the complementary contributions of quantitative and qualitative methods Provides examples of research from published literature Essentials of Social Researchis key reading for all undergraduate social scientists undertaking research.

Cover Art
Evaluating Research - Francis C. Dane
Call Number: Q 180.55 .E9 D355 2011
ISBN: 9781412978538
Publication Date: 2010
Aids students in understanding and interpreting quantitative research articles Designed for anyone who needs to learn to read and understand empirical reports in the social and behavioral sciences, this multidisciplinary book provides individuals with the knowledge necessary to understand research without overwhelming them with information about how to conduct research. His enthusiasm for methods present on every page, author Francis C. Dane wants readers to have the skills to evaluate research and critically use empirical results. Readers will gain a greater appreciation for the ways in which consuming research can add to their understanding of the way the world works and how they can enhance their efforts to improve it. Key Features Every facet of evaluating research is covered from key terms and concepts to communicating the final resultsThe author pairs statistical concepts and procedures with appropriate research methods Strong pedagogy such as chapter overviews, summaries, key terms, and application exercises allows readers to check their understanding of the material This book can be used in both upper-level undergraduate and graduate-level courses in public policy, public health, education, sociology, psychology, social work and nursing.

Cover Art
Evaluation - Peter H. Rossi; Mark W. Lipsey; Howard E. Freeman
Call Number: H 62 .R666 2004
ISBN: 0761908943
Publication Date: 2003
Since Peter H. Rossi, Mark W. Lipsey, and Howard E. Freeman first published Evaluation: A Systematic Approach, more than 90,000 readers have considered it the premier text on how to design, implement, and appraise social programs through evaluation. In this, the completely revised Seventh Edition, authors Rossi and Lipsey include the latest techniques and approaches to evaluation as well as guidelines to tailor evaluations to fit programs and social contexts. With decades of hands-on experience conducting evaluations, the authors provide scores of examples to help students understand how evaluators deal with various critical issues. They include a glossary of key terms and concepts, making this the most comprehensive and authoritative evaluation text available. Thoroughly revised, the Seventh Edition now includes * Substantially more attention to outcome measurement * Lengthy discussions of program theory, including a section about detecting program effects and interpreting their practical significance * An augmented and updated discussion of major evaluation designs * A detailed exposition of meta-analysis as an approach to the synthesis of evaluation studies * Alternative approaches to evaluation * Examples of successful evaluations * Discussions of the political and social contexts of evaluation  

Focused Interview: A Manual of Problems and Procedures - Robert K. Merton, Marjorie Fiske, & Patricia L. Kendall
Call Number: BF 761 .M4
Publication Date: 1956

Cover Art
Foundations of Mixed Methods Research - Abbas Tashakkori; Charles B. Teddlie
Call Number: H 62 .T294 2009
ISBN: 0761930116
Publication Date: 2008
Mixed methodology has become an increasingly popular way of both researching and teaching methodology across the social sciences, and students across these fields are expected to be proficient in both quantitative and qualitative techniques. This text begins with an introduction to and overview of the development of mixed methodology, and then takes students through all aspects of working with mixed methods from research design and data collection through to analysis and conclusions.

Cover Art
Handbook of Applied Social Research Methods - Leonard Bickman (Editor); Debra J. Rog (Editor)
Call Number: H 62 .H24534 1998
ISBN: 076190672X
Publication Date: 1997
The crisis of borders and prisons can be seen starkly in statistics. In 2011 some 1,500 migrants died trying to enter Europe, and the United States deported nearly 400,000 and imprisoned some 2.3 million people--more than at any other time in history. International borders are increasingly militarized places embedded within domestic policing and imprisonment and entwined with expanding prison-industrial complexes. Beyond Walls and Cages offers scholarly and activist perspectives on these issues and explores how the international community can move toward a more humane future. Working at a range of geographic scales and locations, contributors examine concrete and ideological connections among prisons, migration policing and detention, border fortification, and militarization. They challenge the idea that prisons and borders create safety, security, and order, showing that they can be forms of coercive mobility that separate loved ones, disempower communities, and increase shared harms of poverty. Walls and cages can also fortify wealth and power inequalities, racism, and gender and sexual oppression. As governments increasingly rely on criminalization and violent measures of exclusion and containment, strategies for achieving change are essential. Beyond Walls and Cages develops abolitionist, no borders, and decolonial analyses and methods for social change, showing how seemingly disconnected forms of state violence are interconnected. Creating a more just and free world--whether in the Mexico-U.S. borderlands, the Morocco-Spain region, South Africa, Montana, or Philadelphia--requires that people who are most affected become central to building alternatives to global crosscurrents of criminalization and militarization. Contributors: Olga Aksyutina, Stokely Baksh, Cynthia Bejarano, Anne Bonds, Borderlands Autonomist, Collective, Andrew Burridge, Irina Contreras, Renee Feltz, Luis A. Fernandez, Ruth Wilson Gilmore, Amy Gottlieb, Gael Guevara, Zoe Hammer, Julianne Hing, Subhash Kateel, Jodie M. Lawston, Bob Libal, Jenna M. Loyd, Lauren Martin, Laura McTighe, Matt Mitchelson, Maria Cristina Morales, Alison Mountz, Ruben R. Murillo, Joseph Nevins, Nicole Porter, Joshua M. Price, Said Saddiki, Micol Seigel, Rashad Shabazz, Christopher Stenken, Proma Tagore, Margo Tamez, Elizabeth Vargas, Monica W. Varsanyi, Mariana Viturro, Harsha Walia, Seth Freed Wessler.

Cover Art
Handbook of Interview Research - Jaber F. Gubrium; James A. Holstein
Call Number: H 61.28 .H36 2001
ISBN: 0761919511
Publication Date: 2001
Interviewing has become the window on the world of experience for both researchers and professionals. But as familiar as interviewing is now, its seemingly straightforward methodology raises more questions than ever. What is the interviewere(tm)s image of those who are being interviewed? Who is the interviewer in the eyes of the respondent? From where do interviewers obtain questions and respondents get the answers that they communicate in interviews? How do the institutional auspices of interviewing shape interview data? Drawing upon leading experts from a wide range of disciplines to address these and related questions, The Handbook of Interviewing offers a comprehensive examination of the interview at the cutting edge of information technology in the context of a challenging postmodern environment. Encyclopedic in its breadth, the Handbook provides extensive discussions of the conceptual and methodological issues surrounding interview practice in relation to forms of interviewing, new technology, diverse data gathering and analytic strategies, and the various ways interviewing relates to distinctive respondents. The Handbook is also a story that spins a particular tale that moves from the commonly recognized individual interview as an instrument for gathering data to reflections on the interview as an integral part of the information we gather about individuals and society.

Introduction to Social Research: Quantitative and Qualitative Approaches - Keith Punch
Call Number: H 62 .P93 2005
Publication Date: 2005

Cover Art
Market Intelligence - Martin Callingham
ISBN: 9780749442019
Publication Date: 2004
One of the biggest problems facing organisations that commission market research is ensuring that they get the research they want and that the research is relevant to the organisation. There are many different approaches that can be taken for any one piece of research and it is crucial for an organisation to get this right. Failure to do so can lead to substantial pain in the debriefing meeting and quite possibly failure and wasted budgets. Market Intelligence examines the clientside perspective of market research and describes the pitfalls and problems when commissioning and briefing market research. Market Intelligence is fully international in scope and offers comparative examples and case studies from Europe and the US. The book also outlines Data Protection legislation and details the professional ethics incorporated in the MRS Code of Conduct. This is an invaluable guide for students, market researchers and non-professional researchers.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Market Intelligence - Martin Callingham
Call Number: HF 5415.2 .C25 2004
ISBN: 0749442018
Publication Date: 2004
One of the biggest problems facing organisations that commission market research is ensuring that they get the research they want and that the research is relevant to the organisation. There are many different approaches that can be taken for any one piece of research and it is crucial for an organisation to get this right. Failure to do so can lead to substantial pain in the debriefing meeting and quite possibly failure and wasted budgets. Market Intelligence examines the clientside perspective of market research and describes the pitfalls and problems when commissioning and briefing market research. Market Intelligence is fully international in scope and offers comparative examples and case studies from Europe and the US. The book also outlines Data Protection legislation and details the professional ethics incorporated in the MRS Code of Conduct. This is an invaluable guide for students, market researchers and non-professional researchers.

Cover Art
Market Research in Practice - Paul N. Hague; Nick Hague; Carol-Ann Morgan, eds.
ISBN: 9780749441807
Publication Date: 2004
This practical guide to the basics of market research takes a clear, concise step-by-step approach. It describes and explains the various tools and techniques available to market researchers. Comparative examples and real-life international case studies help make the basics of market research straightforward and accessible. Market Research in Practice assumes no previous knowledge of the subject and offers guidance for the reader who is either studying or completely new to market research. The book also outlines data protection legislation and details the professional ethics incorporated in the MRS Code of Conduct. Contents include: the role of market research market research design desk research focus groups and in-depth interviews sampling questionnaire design interviewing self-completion questionnaires and e-surveys data analysis report findings Part of the new Market Research in Practice series and published in association with the Market Research Society, Market Research in Practice is an invaluable guide for students, researchers, marketers and users of market research.

You must log into the EBSCOHost eBook Collection database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Narrative Methods for Organizational and Communication Research - David M. Boje
Call Number: HD 30.3 .B65 2001
ISBN: 0761965866
Publication Date: 2001
`The book is a unique and excellent introduction to postmodern narrative analyses' - Organization Studies `[This book] should succeed in putting the metaphorical cat amongst just about every metaphorical pigeon that might imaginably take flight within the organization and communication research arenas. Story time will never be the same again, nor will interpretative research' - Stewart Clegg, University of Technology, Sydney `Timely and first rate. It nicely stretches a reader's thinking about the topic' - Thomas Lee, University of Washington, School of Business `David Boje is a pioneering theorist in organization studies and management... [His book] is yet another example of Bojee(tm)s pioneering spirit and concern for exactitude. [His] scholarly account of narrative and antenarrative methods is both corrective and exploratory of how stories must be understood in terms of their own internal dynamics, and not viewed as static entities. Bojee(tm)s book is a magnificent start... A book that breaks new ground in organizational analysis, this is a must-read for researchers and practitioners in the fields of organization and management studies' - Adrian Carr, University of Western Sydney `Boje masterfully shows how to analyze texts and ideas before they are reduced and fitted into the dominant ideological frameworks of the day. [He] provides a powerful tool for achieving greater democracy in how we approach doing social science... [and] liberates our capacity to make meanings for ourselves' - Paul Hirsch, Northwestern University, Kellogg Graduate School of Management `This is an important book. It is a major methodological contribution to critical, postmodern studies of organizations and management. It is essential reading for critical management scholars' - Robert P. Gephart, Jr., University of Alberta School of Business `David Boje has emerged as the leading postmodern thinker in management theory and organization science. His prolific output lights the path for others to follow in a field awakening to the challenge of postmodern critical theory. Updating and revising narrative theory for the prevailing eoepostmodern condition,e Boje masterfully reconstructs the concepts and methods of storytelling, as he subverts the dominant principles of modernist organization theory. He offers a subtle and complex notion of narrative... This impressive book should leave an indelible mark on management and organization studies' - Steven Best, University of Texas, El Paso An essential guide for academics and researchers needing to look at alternative discourse analysis strategies. As a research tool, narrative methods have become increasingly useful in organization studies, where much research involves the interpretation of 'stories' in some form. This methodology can be applied where qualitative story analyses can help to assess interview, newspaper or web document stories for research projects. In this book, Boje sets out eight analysis options that can deal with storytelling, recognizing that stories in organizations can be self-destructing, flowing, networking and not at all static. In so doing, he shows ways in which narrative methods can be supplemented by 'antenarrative' methods, where fragmented and collective storytelling can be interpreted. A valuable resource that will be widely used in organizational or communications research, for graduate level qualitative methods seminars and by researchers wanting to do story analysis. David Boje is Professor at the New Mexico State University. He is also on the editorial board of the journal Organization.

Online Interviewing - Nalita James; Hugh Busher
Call Number: H 62 .J345 2009
ISBN: 9781412945318
Publication Date: 2009
Online Interviewing is a short, accessible and highly practical introduction to designing and conducting online interviews in qualitative research. James and Busher focus on helping the reader to understand the methodological and epistemological challenges of carrying out online interviews in the virtual environment. This is an ideal introduction for anyone who is interested in using online methods and who has an interest in the theory of the method.

Cover Art
Reading and Understanding Research - Lawrence F. Locke; Stephen J. Silverman; Waneen Wyrick Spirduso
Call Number: Q 180 .A1 L63 2010
ISBN: 9781412975742
Publication Date: 2009
Ideal for students, novice researchers, or professionals who need to analyze and apply research findings, this book provides step-by-step explanations, tools, and training exercises. This edition provides sections on quantitative, qualitative, mixed methods, and research reviews.Key Features Assumes no prior knowledge of research procedures Provides readers with a step-by-step format for decoding the complex language and formats used in reports and reviews Includes the most common formats for both quantitative and qualitative inquiry. Offers both illustrative examples and powerful training exercises Gives specific attention to strategies for critically appraising reported research Presents completely updated references as well as an annotated bibliographyIntended AudienceThis text is appropriate for both upper-level undergraduate and graduate-level students across the social sciences enrolled in introductory research courses as well as students in professional preparation programs. Beginner researchers will all benefit from it.

Cover Art
Reading and Understanding Research - Lawrence F. Locke; Waneen Wyrick Spirduso; Stephen J. Silverman
Call Number: Q 180 .A1 L63 2004
ISBN: 0761927689
Publication Date: 2004
Reading and Understanding Research, Second Edition is based on the notion that helping to demystify the process of consuming research will not only make for better students, but will help make for better research. The authors presume no special background in research, and begin by introducing and framing the notion of reading research within a wider social context. Next they offer insight on when to seek out research, locating and selecting the right reports, and how to help evaluate research for trustworthiness. A step-by-step reading of reports from qualitative and quantitative studies follows, and the final chapters examine in greater detail the different types of research to be encountered and how to examine the research more critically. This book is ideal for a novice researcher (and those that teach them!).

Cover Art
Research Design - John Creswell
Call Number: H 62 .C6963 2003
ISBN: 0761924418
Publication Date: 2002
"Creswell's Research Design is an accessible and useful book that stimulates students through walk through experiences, use of exercises, and production of actual writing samples. It is a book that models the types of issues that best suit different approaches and allows students to understand when to use mixed methods. Furthermore, its focus on theory and paradigms is done in a way that helps students decode their meaning." --MARTHA MONTERO-SIEBURTH, University of Massachusetts, Boston New to the Second Edition: Because mixed methods research has come into its own since the publication of the first edition, every chapter now shows how to implement a mixed methods design in your proposal or plan as well as showing how to implement qualitative and quantitative approaches Ethical issues that may arise in quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods designs have been added to a new section in Chapter 3 Writing tips and considerations have been expanded and moved to the first part of the book to get your research plan started in the right direction The latest developments in qualitative inquiry, including advocacy, participatory, and emancipatory approaches have been added to Chapter 10 Mixed methods procedures (Chapter 11) show readers how to identify types of mixed methods strategy, select data collection and analysis approaches, and plan the overall structure of the study   

Cover Art
Research Design - Catherine Hakim
Call Number: H 62 .H22 2000
ISBN: 0415223121
Publication Date: 2000
In this book, children learn about sound waves, loud and soft sounds, and high and low sounds.

Cover Art
Research Design: Qualitative, Quantitative, and Mixed Methods Approaches - John Creswell
Call Number: H 62 .C6963 2003
ISBN: 0761924426
Publication Date: 2002
"Creswell's Research Design is an accessible and useful book that stimulates students through walk through experiences, use of exercises, and production of actual writing samples. It is a book that models the types of issues that best suit different approaches and allows students to understand when to use mixed methods. Furthermore, its focus on theory and paradigms is done in a way that helps students decode their meaning." --MARTHA MONTERO-SIEBURTH, University of Massachusetts, Boston New to the Second Edition: Because mixed methods research has come into its own since the publication of the first edition, every chapter now shows how to implement a mixed methods design in your proposal or plan as well as showing how to implement qualitative and quantitative approaches Ethical issues that may arise in quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods designs have been added to a new section in Chapter 3 Writing tips and considerations have been expanded and moved to the first part of the book to get your research plan started in the right direction The latest developments in qualitative inquiry, including advocacy, participatory, and emancipatory approaches have been added to Chapter 10 Mixed methods procedures (Chapter 11) show readers how to identify types of mixed methods strategy, select data collection and analysis approaches, and plan the overall structure of the study   

Cover Art
Researching Customer Satisfaction and Loyalty - Paul Szwarc
Call Number: HF 5415.335 .S98 2005
ISBN: 0749443367
Publication Date: 2005
Customer satisfaction and loyalty has been one of the largest areas of market research for the past twenty years, and interest in it continues to increase. Organizations today invest heavily in programmes designed to retain customers as they recognize the importance of having loyal, committed customers to sustain and increase company profits. Researching Customer Satisfaction and Loyalty is a vital guide to this expanding area. It examines how to research customer satisfaction from both a client and a supplier perspective, and how to get the best results from that research. The breadth of detail is exhaustive and topics covered include: the development of customer satisfaction and loyalty, management theories about it, qualitative and quantitative research, and how market research projects get commissioned. The book also looks at the factors that both supplier and client need to consider when preparing a research brief and proposal, how interest in this area is changing and what the future holds for research into customer satisfaction.

Cover Art
The SAGE Handbook of Social Research Methods - Julia Brannen (Editor); Pertti Alasuutari (Editor); Leonard Bickman (Editor)
Call Number: H 62 .S2758 2008
ISBN: 9781412919920
Publication Date: 2008
The SAGE Handbook for Social Research Methods is a must for every social-science researcher. It charts the new and evolving terrain of social research methodology, covering qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methods in one volume. The Handbook includes chapters on each phase of the research process: research design, methods of data collection, and the processes of analyzing and interpreting data. As its editors maintain, there is much more to research than learning skills and techniques; methodology involves the fit between theory, research questions, research design, and analysis.

Cover Art
The SAGE Handbook of Online Research Methods - Nigel Fielding; Raymond M. Lee (Editor); Grant Blank (Editor)
Call Number: ZA 4228 .S24 2008
ISBN: 1412922933
Publication Date: 2008
Social upheaval, political gridlock, and controversies over taxes, the environment, and an unpopular war: the state of Minnesota in 1968 was a lot like the state of America today. Tom Berg, a lawmaker in Minnesota during the 1970s, was a witness--and a party--to the deal cutting, arm-twisting, and just plain hard work that led to historic political shifts. His account of the making of legislative history at the state level and relationships with federal and local governments has much to tell us about where we stand as a nation and how change happens. A firsthand look into the political and personal mysteries and realities that make real and significant differences in people's lives, Minnesota's Miracle is a civics lesson and legislative primer with a rare kick--it's as rollicking as it is relevant. Berg tells the stories behind changes made in legislative policies and programs during a critical decade, describing the key players, their emotions, the politics they employed, their electoral wins and losses, the impact of national politics when Walter Mondale was elected vice president, and the role of important court decisions. It was a time of partisanship, high emotions, violent protests, heated controversy, and outright political fights over issues that continue to haunt us; but it was also a time when government functioned well, in what Time Magazine called "A State That Works." Berg's behind-the-scenes view of the "Minnesota Miracle" is a work of living history that offers suggestions and as much hope as it does hard truths and cold facts.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
George Libbey
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip