This is the "Consumer Satisfaction" page of the "Marketing Research Methodology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marketing Research Methodology  

Last Updated: Jan 8, 2015 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=546892 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Consumer Satisfaction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Consumer Satisfaction Books

Cover Art
Business Process Mapping Workbook - J. Mike Jacka; Paulette J. Keller
Call Number: HF 5415.335 .J33 2002
ISBN: 0471079774
Publication Date: 2002
A holistic approach to harnessing a company's processes to achieve true customer satisfaction Every move that a corporation makes is a mixture of input, action, and output-in short, a process. To keep customers, employees, and shareholders happy, corporate management must juggle conflicting priorities. These competing priorities result in conflicting processes. To help achieve true customer satisfaction, manage-ment needs tools that allow for a holistic approach to analyzing these processes. This book provides that tool. It shows corporations how to analyze and enhance their critical processes in order to deliver the highest level of service to their internal and external customers. Providing a clear understanding of what process mapping can do for a company as well as practical applications for each step in process mapping, this useful guide outlines a proven method for assuring better processes and building a more customer-focused company.

Cover Art
Contagious: Why Things Catch On - Jonah Berger
Call Number: HF 5415.153 .B463 2013
ISBN: 9781451686579
Publication Date: 2013
"New York Times" bestseller What makes things popular? If you said advertising, think again. People don't listen to advertisements, they listen to their peers. But why do people talk about certain products and ideas more than others? Why are some stories and rumors more infectious? And what makes online content go viral? Wharton marketing professor Jonah Berger has spent the last decade answering these questions. He's studied why "New York Times "articles make the paper's own Most E-mailed List, why products get word of mouth, and how social influence shapes everything from the cars we buy to the clothes we wear to the names we give our children. In this book, Berger reveals the secret science behind word-of-mouth and social transmission. Discover how six basic principles drive all sorts of things to become contagious, from consumer products and policy initiatives to workplace rumors and YouTube videos. "Contagious "combines groundbreaking research with powerful stories. Learn how a luxury steakhouse found popularity through the lowly cheese-steak, why anti-drug commercials might have actually increased drug use, and why more than 200 million consumers shared a video about one of the seemingly most boring products there is: a blender. If you've wondered why certain stories get shared, e-mails get forwarded, or videos go viral, "Contagious "explains why, and shows how to leverage these concepts to craft contagious content. This book provides a set of specific, actionable techniques for helping information spread--for designing messages, advertisements, and information that people will share. Whether you're a manager at a big company, a small business owner trying to boost awareness, a politician running for office, or a health official trying to get the word out, "Contagious "will show you how to make your product or idea catch on.

Cover Art
Customer Orientation and Market Action - Michael D. Johnson
Call Number: HF 5415.5 .J639 1998
ISBN: 0133286673
Publication Date: 1997
In Customer Orientation and Market Action Johnson provides a rigorous yet practical introduction to customers in today's marketplace. By integrating research and application, the book helps both students and practitioners gain valuable insights into consumer characteristics and needs, and use these insights to improve business decisions.

Cover Art
Customer Satisfaction Evaluation: Methods for Measuring and Implementing Service Quality - Evangelos Grigoroudis; Yannis Siskos;
ISBN: 9781441916402
Publication Date: 2010
This important new work provides a comprehensive discussion of the customer satisfaction evaluation problem by presenting an overview of the existing methodologies as well as the development and implementation of an original multicriteria method dubbed MUSA (MUlticriteria Satisfaction Analysis). The chief objective of MUSA is the development of a model able to evaluate the level of customer satisfaction both globally and partially for each of the characteristics or attributes of the product or service being considered. Furthermore, the method aims at providing an integrated set of results capable of analyzing customer needs and expectations and to justify their satisfaction level. And finally, the book examines the development of a decision support tool to help understand and apply results.Individual chapters consider the customer satisfaction problem, presenting the various quantitative and related consumer behavioral models; quality-based approaches; the MUSA method and its extensions and advanced topics; customer satisfaction surveys and barometers; applications of the MUSA method in real-world customer satisfaction surveys; and different information technology approaches related to customer satisfaction.Customer Satisfaction Evaluation: Methods for Measuring and Implementing Service Quality is intended for researchers and practitioners in marketing, quality management, service management, and anyone interested in applications of Multicriteria Decision Analysis (MCDA).

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Customer Satisfaction Measurement Simplified: A Step-by-step Guide for ISO 9001:2000 Certification - Terry G. Vavra
Call Number: HF 5415.335 .V378 2002 + CD
ISBN: 0873895002
Publication Date: 2002
Recent changes to the ISO 9001:2000 international standards require that organizations must have an effective method of measuring customer satisfaction to achieve ISO certification. In addition to maintaining thorough documentation of each process, these organizations must also measure the effectiveness of that process, along with the consequences for the customers. Customer Satisfaction Measurement Simplified is the first book on the market specifically written to assist on attaining this requirement. Using graphics, charts, and real data with examples drawn from the authores own experiences, Customer Satisfaction Measurement Simplified will guide you through the process of implementing a customer satisfaction measurement process to help your organization meet ISO 9001 certification. Use Customer Satisfaction Measurement to Improve Performance Intended to address the practical questions of quality and satisfaction professionals who need quick answers to specific issues, Customer Satisfaction Measurement Simplified is a concise guide that will show how to implement an efficient measurement system. Terry Vavra begins by demonstrating how to identify the requirements of the customer, then explains the best way to measure the level of satisfaction, and finally how to analyze and report the data collected. In this era of increased competition and globalized economies, businesses are striving to find any point of uniqueness to distinguish themselves from the competition. By effectively measuring customer satisfaction levels, organizations can demonstrate how they differentiate from the competition. Contains a bonus CD-ROM with additional information, charts and templates. Ahora disponible en espaol.

Cover Art
Handbook of Customer Satisfaction and Loyalty Measurement - Nigel Hill; Jim Alexander
Call Number: HF 5415.335 .H55 2000
ISBN: 0566081946
Publication Date: 2000
"This book presents a thorough examination of how to use research to understand customer satisfaction and loyalty. It takes the reader step-by-step through the process of designing and conducting a survey to generate accurate measures of customer satisfaction and loyalty. The research process is explained in detail, including questionnaire design, analysis and reporting but the book also covers other elements of an effective customer satisfaction process. These include project planning, communicating with customers before, during and after the survey as well as providing internal feedback and taking effective action to address issues raised by the survey."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved

Cover Art
Listening to the Voice of the Customer: 16 Steps to a Successful Customer Satisfaction Measurement Program - Jon Anton; Debra Perkins (Contribution by)
Call Number: HF 5415.335 .A57 1997
ISBN: 0915910438
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Managing Customer Value: Creating Quality and Service that Customers Can See - Bradley T. Gale; Bradley Gale
Call Number: HF 5415.157 .G34 1994
ISBN: 0029110459
Publication Date: 1994
Even today with quality improvement the battle cry of American industry, the quality programs in most companies are limited to "conformance to technical standards," according to quality expert Bradley Gale. While some have ventured a step farther to measure customer satisfaction, few of them, Gale demonstrates, have attempted to track market-perceived "quality" -- how buyers select among competing suppliers, why orders are won or lost, and which competitors are succeeding in which market segments.Using cases including Milliken & Company; AT&T, United Van Lines, and Gillette, Gale shows how leading-edge companies have gone beyond the minimal achievements of conformance quality and customer satisfaction to focus on the third, higher stage, "market-perceived quality versus competitors" and aspire to an emerging fourth stage, "true strategic management." Drawing on his extensive research at AT&T, Johnson & Johnson, Parke-Davis, and other world-class companies, Gale provides new metrics for market-perceived quality that are straightforward and easy to interpret. His set of seven integrative tools for customer value analysis makes up the heart of the "war room wall" to help guide business-unit teams in their effort to outperform competitors in satisfying customers. The great value of these tools is that they are derived from a future-oriented strategic navigation system that tracks competitive information and market-perceived quality. Learning to master this system accelerates customer satisfaction from a slogan to a science and leads ultimately to true strategic management -- the fourth stage of Total Quality Management.The processes described in this book provide an insider's perspective on the criteria of the Baldrige Award. Bradley Gale's insights and innovative methods for defining, measuring, and improving market-perceived quality will create an entirely new thrust for the worldwide quality movement.

Measuring Customer Satisfaction and Loyalty: Survey Design, Use and Statistical Analysis Methods - Bob E. Hayes
Call Number: HF 5415.335 .H39 2008
ISBN: 9780873897433
Publication Date: 2008
"The third edition of this best-seller updates its detailed information about how to construct, evaluate, and use questionnaires, and adds an entirely new chapter on customer loyalty." "Readers will gain a sound grasp of the scientific methodology used to construct and use questionnaires utilizing the author's systematic approach. They will be able to pinpoint and focus on the most relevant topics, and study both the qualitative and quantitative aspects of questionnaire design and evaluation. These and many more important scientific principles are presented in simple, understandable terms."--BOOK JACKET.

Cover Art
Modern Analysis of Customer Surveys - Ron. S Kenett; Silvia Salini; Ron Kenett
ISBN: 9781119961161
Publication Date: 2011
Customer survey studies deals with customers, consumers and user satisfaction from a product or service. In practice, many of the customer surveys conducted by business and industry are analyzed in a very simple way, without using models or statistical methods. Typical reports include descriptive statistics and basic graphical displays. As demonstrated in this book, integrating such basic analysis with more advanced tools, provides insights on non-obvious patterns and important relationships between the survey variables. This knowledge can significantly affect the conclusions derived from a survey. Key features: Provides an integrated, case-studies based approach to analysing customer survey data. Presents a general introduction to customer surveys, within an organization's business cycle. Contains classical techniques with modern and non standard tools. Focuses on probabilistic techniques from the area of statistics/data analysis and covers all major recent developments. Accompanied by a supporting website containing datasets and R scripts. Customer survey specialists, quality managers and market researchers will benefit from this book as well as specialists in marketing, data mining and business intelligence fields.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Researching Customer Satisfaction and Loyalty: How to Find Out What People Really Think - Paul Szwarc
Call Number: HF 5415.335 .S98 2005
ISBN: 0749443367
Publication Date: 2005
* Includes both a client and supplier perspective of market research on customer satisfaction and loyalty

Cover Art
The Satisfied Customer: Winners and Losers in the Battle for Buyer Preference - Claes Fornell
Call Number: HF 5415.335 .F67 2007
ISBN: 9781403981974
Publication Date: 2007
In a world where consumers have access to an abundance of free information about purchase alternatives, business managers must adapt to a startling new reality. What businesses and investors must realize, says Fornell, is that customers know something that Wall Street has yet to figure out. The Satisfied Customer makes the case that global market forces are all pointing towards one inevitable truth: the cost of poor service will soon be borne by the companies that serve it - not the customers that receive it. The Satisfied Customer prepares managers and investors for a major shift in economic power that will change how capital moves, how corporate assets are managed, and ultimately, how business is done. This book describes how companies that underestimate the newly-empowered customer are punished by product and equity markets alike, and offers practical advice on how to prosper when buyers are kings and investment capital fuels their power.The implications of the newly-empowered buyer turn much of conventional business practice on its head. The Satisfied Customer explains how superior financial returns can go hand-in-hand with reduced risk; why customer satisfaction should not be maximized, but customer complaints should; why exceeding customer expectations is a bad idea; why getting too close to customers should be avoided, how customer loyalty can sometimes be too costly, and why high productivity is not always a good thing.According to the New York Times, Claes Fornell's American Customer Satisfaction Index (ACSI) is the definitive benchmark for how consumers feel about the products they buy. The Satisfied Customer draws from the ACSI database and CFI Group cases, including examples from Amazon.com, American Airlines, Apple, AT&T, Best Buy, Chrysler, Circuit City, Comcast, Costco, Charter Communications, Dell, Double Tree Club Hotel, eBay, Electrolux, Florida Marlins, Ford, Gateway, Google, Haier, H&R Block, Hyundai, KLM, Kmart, McDonald's, Northwest Airlines, Microsoft, Southwest Airlines, Sprint Nextel, the Swedish Postal Service, Time Warner, Toyota, Trader Joe's, Volvo, Whole Foods, and many others, to reveal the winners and losers in the battle for buyer preference.

Cover Art
Satisfaction: How Every Great Company Listens to the Voice of the Customer - Chris Denove; James D. Power; James Power
Call Number: HF 5415.335 .D46 2006
ISBN: 1591841097
Publication Date: 2006
For nearly four decades, J. D. Power and Associates has been measuring consumer satisfaction and helping businesses improve profits by paying attention to what customers really want. Their annual awards are widely publicized and valued worldwide for what they say about a company's commitment to its customers. Now, at last, the company has created the definitive book on how to boost profits by increasing customer satisfaction. Although most businesses pay lip service to putting customers first, few actually listen to the voice of the customer and use it as a tangible asset. In this book, J. D. Power and Associates provides an insider's perspective on some of the most successful companies on the planet. Corporate giants such as Toyota and Staples and local legends like Mike Diamond Plumbing all use customer satisfaction as their key to market dominance. Satisfaction opens the vault on years of J. D. Power data, quantifying the elusive links between satisfaction and customer loyalty, market share, and profits. The book provides extensive coverage of the varying touchpoints of consumer satisfaction--covering every type of business from service providers to product manufacturers--and shows companies in detail how to make a commitment to consumers at the highest levels and translate this commitment into strategies and practices. For any business that wants to reap the rewards that come when they truly put the customer first, this is the ultimate guide.

Satisfaction: A Behavioral Perspective on the Consumer - Richard L. Oliver
Call Number: HF 5415.335 .O55 1997
ISBN: 0070480257
Publication Date: 1996
Designed for MBA and doctoral programs that have a quality/satisfaction sequence, this new text about the meaning, causes, and consequences of customer satisfaction derives from the author's twenty years of research on the topic. The book covers every psychological aspect of satisfaction formation and is applicable to all consumables, product or service. After defining satisfaction, reviewing current research, and describing what the best practitioners in the field of satisfaction measurement are doing today, the author broadens the determinants of satisfaction to include needs, excellence (quality), fairness, and regret ("what might have been"). Chapters on satisfaction processes including dissonance, attribution of responsibility, consumption affect, and consumption processing culminate in a "consumption processing model." The book concludes with chapters that consider such postpurchase consequences as complaining behavior and customer loyalty and it discusses why an understanding of satisfaction psychology is vitally important to management.

Cover Art
You Are What You Choose - James Hamilton; Scott de Marchi
Call Number: HF 5415.32 .D43 2009
ISBN: 9781591842866
Publication Date: 2009
The hidden patterns behind the way we make decisions Several recent books, from Blink to Freakonomics to Predictably Irrational, have examined how people make choices. But none explain why different people have such different styles of decision making--and why those styles seem consistent across many contexts. For instance, why is a gambler always a gambler, whether at work, on the highway, or in a voting booth? Scott de Marchi and James T. Hamilton present a new theory about how we decide, based on an extensive survey of more than thirty thousand subjects. They show that each of us possesses six core traits that shape every decision, from what to have for lunch to where to invest. We go with "the usual" way of deciding whenever there's a trade-off between current and future happiness, when facing the risk of a bad outcome, or when a choice might hurt other people. We're also consistent about how much information we want and how much we care about the opinions of others. Readers can determine their own decision-making profile with a test in the book. Once they understand the six core traits, they'll have a big advantage in their marketing campaigns, management strategies, investments, and many other contexts.

Cover Art
The Ultimate Question - Fred F. Reichheld
Call Number: HF 5415.5 .R439 2006
ISBN: 1591397839
Publication Date: 2006
CEOs regularly announce ambitious growth targets, then fail to achieve them. The reason? Their growing addiction to bad profits. These corporate steroids boost short-term earnings but alienate customers. They undermine growth by creating legions of detractors-customers who complain loudly about the company and switch to competitors at the earliest opportunity.Based on extensive research, The Ultimate Question shows how companies can rigorously measure Net Promoter statistics, help managers improve them, and create communities of passionate advocates that stimulate innovation. Vivid stories from leading-edge organizations illustrate the ideas in practice.Practical and compelling, this is the one book-and the one tool-no growth-minded leader can afford to miss.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
George Libbey
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip