This is the "Survey Research" page of the "Marketing Research Methodology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Marketing Research Methodology  

Last Updated: Jan 8, 2015 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=546892 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Survey Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
Asking Questions: The Definitive Guide to Questionnaire Design: For Mrket Research, Political Polls, and Social and Health Questionnaires - Norman M. Bradburn; Brian Wansink; Seymour Sudman
Call Number: H 62 .B65 2004
ISBN: 0787970883
Publication Date: 2004
Since it was first published more than twenty-five years ago, "Asking Questions" has become a classic guide for designing questionnaires'the most widely used method for collecting information about people's attitudes and behavior. An essential tool for market researchers advertisers, pollsters, and social scientists, this thoroughly updated and definitive work combines time-proven techniques with the most current research, findings, and methods. The book presents a cognitive approach to questionnaire design and includes timely information on the Internet and electronic resources. Comprehensive and concise, "Asking Questions" can be used to design questionnaires for any subject area, whether administered by telephone, online, mail, in groups, or face-to-face. The book describes the design process from start to finish and is filled with illustrative examples from actual surveys.

Cover Art
Conducting Research Surveys Via e-Mail and the Web - Matthias Schonlau; Ronald D. Fricker; Marc N. Elliott
ISBN: 9780833031105
Publication Date: 2002
Internet-based surveys, although still in their infancy, are becoming increasingly popular because they are believed to be faster, better, cheaper, and easier to conduct than surveys using more-traditional telephone or mail methods. Based on evidence in the literature and real-life case studies, this book examines the validity of those claims. The authors discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using e-mail and the Web to conduct research surveys, and also offer practical suggestions for designing and implementing Internet surveys most effectively.

Cover Art
Cross-Cultural Survey Methods - Janet A. Harkness; Fons J. R. van de Vijver; Peter Ph. Mohler
Call Number: H 62 .C73 2003
ISBN: 0471385263
Publication Date: 2002
PRACTICAL METHODOLOGIES FOR CROSS-CULTURAL RESEARCH Since all research is in a sense comparative, it is sometimes argued that methods and requirements remain the same, no matter what country or nationality is involved. The editors of this volume contend that this philosophy is an oversimplification. Although comparative survey research builds on and benefits from best practices established in monocultural research, cross-cultural research requires methodologies which address the central issues of equivalence of measurement and comparability of findings. The literature dealing with these issues has tended to be piecemeal, scattered across disciplines, and focused on specific questionnaires and the needs of single disciplines. This book provides the first systematic, interdisciplinary and hands-on treatment of the issues of greatest saliency for comparative survey research within and across countries. Breaking new ground in its approach, Cross-Cultural Survey Methods describes how to recognize and deal with the major obstacles at each stage of researching, striving for equivalence and comparability. Topics include: ∗ Designing and crafting questionnaires for comparative subjects, including questionnaire translation ∗ Error and bias issues in cross-national surveys ∗ Techniques for analyzing bias and equivalence ∗ Statistical techniques for substantive analysis and the use of multidimensional scaling to analyze bias and research questions ∗ Important issues of preparing data for secondary analysis, such as data access, and documentation ∗ An introduction to meta-analysis in comparative survey research Consistently readable and grounded in the expertise of noted international authorities, this volume fills an increasing need for practical methodologies for cross-cultural research.

Cover Art
Designing and Conducting Survey Research - Louis M. Rea; Richard A. Parker
Call Number: HA 31.2 .R43 2005
ISBN: 078797546X
Publication Date: 2005
Designing & Conducting Survey Research, third edition Since it was first published in 1992, Designing and Conducting Survey Research has become the standard reference in the field for public and nonprofit managers who are responsible for conducting effective and meaningful survey research. This updated and expanded third edition builds on the first two volumes and contains additional statistical techniques, new reporting methods that meet the growing demands for accountability, and more user-friendly analysis methods. Designing and Conducting Survey Research is a complete, practical guide to conducting sample survey research. In a comprehensive manner, it explains all major components of survey research, including construction of the instrument, administration of the process, and analysis and reporting of results. Clear, concise, and accessible, this guide explains how to conduct a survey research project from start to finish. Further, it shows how this research method can be applied in such diverse fields as urban affairs, social science, and public administration. Designing and Conducting Survey Research is an excellent tool that will help both professionals and students understand and explain the validity of sample survey research. Praise for the Previous Edition of Designing & Conducting Survey Research "Clear, thorough, well-written, and eminently practical. Takes you step by step through all you need to know to conduct a survey or evaluate one and provides a basic understanding of the theoretical basis of sampling. The clarity of the book makes it a model for effective instruction and one that opens the road for those who must master the subject themselves." -Norton Long, professor emeritus of political science, University of Missouri, St. Louis "A basic tool for conducting survey research projects that any researcher can understand and use. Freed of confusing statistical theory yet comprehensive in approach, with step by step details." -John B. Sauvajot, public management consultant and former deputy chief administrative officer, San Diego County "Demystifies the arcane world of pollsters and survey research. Anyone who conducts surveys, hires survey consultants, reads reports, or makes policy based on survey data will benefit from this book." -Robert J. Waste, Survey Research Center, California State University, Chico

Cover Art
Designing Surveys That Work! - Susan J. Thomas
Call Number: H 62 .T447 1999
ISBN: 0803968515
Publication Date: 1999
This valuable guide provides detailed instructions for each step of the survey process, from choosing the right topic to designing the survey, selecting and working with the respondents, and making sense of all the data.

Cover Art
Leslie Kish - Graham Kalton (Editor); Steven Heeringa (Editor); Interanational Assn. of Survey Statisticians Staff (Editor)
Call Number: HM 538 .K572 2003
ISBN: 0471266612
Publication Date: 2003
Leslie Kish formulated, among other things, the "margin of error," an assessment of the accuracy of opinion polls. He was elected president of the American Statistical Association; and was a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; the American Association for the Advancement of Science; and the Royal Statistical Society of England.  A co-founder of the Institute for Social Research at the University of Michigan and of the International Association of Survey Statisticians, Kish was at once a remarkable teacher, thinker, and leader in the field of survey statistics. This volume collects, for the first time, Kish's most important papers.

Handbook of Survey Research - Peter H. Rossi; James D. Wright; Andy B. Anderson
Call Number: HN 29 .H294 1983
ISBN: 0125982275
Publication Date: 1985
This book is divided into three parts. Part 1 provides a general background for what follows; it includes both a discussion of the substantive importance of dynamic analyses is sociology and a review of models and methods previously used by sociologists interested in the empirical study of social dynamics. Part 2 contains eight chapters on models and methods for analyzing change in qualitative outcomes; it concentrates mainly on methods based on analyses of event-history data. Part 3 contains six chapters on comparable models and methods for analyzing change in quantitative outcomes; it focuses primarily on methods based on analysis of panel data. Key Features * Clarifies and develops models and methods for causal analysis of dynamic social processes * Formulates continuous-time models of change in both quantitative and qualitative outcomes * Develops suitable methods for estimating these models from the kinds of data commonly available to sociologists * Develops a stochastic framework for analyzing both qualitative and quantitative outcomes * Alters the way that sociologists think about the empirical study of social change processes

Improving Survey Questions - Floyd J. Fowler
Call Number: HN 29 .F67 1995
ISBN: 0803945825
Publication Date: 1995
What is a good question? Although there are several potential sources for error in survey data, the validity of surveys depends on the design of the questions asked. This book shows how to word and format a question, write questions that will evoke the kind of answers for which they were designed, and empirically evaluate survey questions. In addition, the book covers topics such as how to write good questions aimed at collecting information about objective facts and events, how to measure subjective phenomena, some alternative methods for attacking common measurement problems; shows how to evaluate the extent to which questions are consistently understood and administered, and explains how to evaluate the data resulting from a set of questions. A clearly written book, Improving Survey Questions enables researchers and practitioners to write better survey questions and helps users of survey data to evaluate their data more critically.

Cover Art
International Handbook of Survey Methodology - Don A. Dillman (Editor); Joop J. Hox (Editor); Edith D. de Leeuw (Editor); Edith Desirée de Leeuw; J. J. Hox; European Association of Methodology Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: HA 31.2 .I565 2008
ISBN: 9780805857535
Publication Date: 2008
Taking into account both traditional and emerging modes, this comprehensive new Handbook covers all major methodological and statistical issues in designing and analyzing surveys. With contributions from the world's leading survey methodologists and statisticians, this invaluable new resource provides guidance on collecting survey data and creating meaningful results. Featuring examples from a variety of countries, the book reviews such things as how to deal with sample designs, write survey questions, and collect data on the Internet. A thorough review of the procedures associated with multiple modes of collecting sample survey information and applying that combination of methods that fit the situation best is included. The International Handbook of Survey Methodology opens with the foundations of survey design, ranging from sources of error, to ethical issues. This is followed by a section on design that reviews sampling challenges and tips on writing and testing questions for multiple methods. Part three focuses on data collection, from face-to-face interviews, to Internet and interactive voice response, to special challenges involved in mixing these modes within one survey. Analyzing data from both simple and complex surveys is then explored, as well as procedures for adjusting data. The book concludes with a discussion of maintaining quality. Intended for advanced students and researchers in the behavioral, social, and health sciences, this "must have" resource will appeal to those interested in conducting or using survey data from anywhere in the world, especially those interested in comparing results across countries. The book also serves as a state-of-the-art text for graduate level courses and seminars on survey methodology. A companion website contains additional readings and examples.

Cover Art
Internet, Mail, and Mixed-Mode Surveys: The Tailored Design Method - Don A. Dillman; Leah Melani Christian; Jolene D. Smyth
Call Number: HM 538 .D55 2009
ISBN: 9780471698685
Publication Date: 2008
A complete, start-to-finish guide for every researcher to successfully plan and conduct Internet, mail, and telephone surveys, Internet, Mail, and Mixed-Mode Surveys: The Tailored Design Method, Third Edition presents a succinct review of survey research methods, equipping you to increase the validity and reliability, as well as response rates, of your surveys. Now thoroughly updated and revised with information about all aspects of survey research'grounded in the most current research'the new edition provides practical ?how-to? guidelines on optimally using the Internet, mail, and phone channels to your advantage.

An Introduction to Survey Research and Data Analysis - Herbert F. Weisberg; Bruce D. Bowen
Call Number: HN 29 .W399
ISBN: 0716704846
Publication Date: 1977

Cover Art
Mail and Internet Surveys: The Tailored Design Method - Don A. Dillman
Call Number: HM 538 .D55 2007
ISBN: 9780470038567
Publication Date: 2006
A crucial resource for increasing response rates and obtaining high-quality feedback from mail, electronic, and other surveys Don Dillman's Mail and Internet Surveys, Second Edition has been the definitive guide for creating and conducting successful surveys using both traditional and new media channels. Now, this special 2007 Update of the classic text features major additions covering the latest developments in online survey design and administration. Like its predecessor, this resource lays out a complete, start-to-finish guide for determining the needs of a given survey, designing it, and effectively administering it. Drawing on social science, statistics, and proven best practices, Dillman's text discusses surveys for a variety of purposes, audiences, and situations. New and updated material covers both the principles behind and directions for how to: Conduct Web surveys Visually design questionnaires Use paper mailed surveys As insightful and practical as its classic original, Mail and Internet Surveys, Second Edition, 2007 Update is a crucial resource for any researcher seeking to increase response rates and obtain high-quality feedback from mail, electronic, and other self-administered surveys.

Mail Surveys: Improving the Quality - Thomas W. Mangione (Editor)
Call Number: H 62 .M2359 1995
ISBN: 0803946627
Publication Date: 1995
Students and researchers who want to improve the quality of their mail-survey data collection will find this book invaluable. The author considers such issues as: reducing sampling bias; questioning response errors; and obtaining good response rates from a mail surveys. The book also offers useful insights and tips on: problems to avoid in mail surveys; what type of rating scales to use; open-ended versus closed-ended questions; screening questions and skip instructions; question and response order effects; sampling strategies; and ways to reduce nonresponse errors - for example, by prenotification or incentives.

Cover Art
Measuring Customer Satisfaction - Bob E. Hayes
Call Number: HF 5415.335 .H39 1998
ISBN: 087389362X
Publication Date: 1997
Now in its second edition, this best seller presents detailed information about how to construct, evaluate, and use questionnaires. New to this second edition is a chapter that includes two different methods of sampling and determining an appropriate sample size for reliable results. the author has updated the chapter on reliability and validity to cover more information about other forms of reliability. Also added is a chapter devoted to presenting examples on real customer satisfaction measures and how they can be used. Other topics include guidelines for developing questionnaires, scale development, the concept of quality, frequencies, sampling error, and two methods of determining important service or product characteristics as perceived by the customer.

Measuring Customer Satisfaction and Loyalty: Survey Design, Use, and Statistical Analysis Methodds - Bob E. Hayes
Call Number: HF 5415.335 .H39 2008
ISBN: 0873897439
Publication Date: 2008
"The third edition of this best-seller updates its detailed information about how to construct, evaluate, and use questionnaires, and adds an entirely new chapter on customer loyalty." "Readers will gain a sound grasp of the scientific methodology used to construct and use questionnaires utilizing the author's systematic approach. They will be able to pinpoint and focus on the most relevant topics, and study both the qualitative and quantitative aspects of questionnaire design and evaluation. These and many more important scientific principles are presented in simple, understandable terms."--BOOK JACKET.

Cover Art
Measuring Marketing - John A. Davis
Call Number: HF 5415 .D366 2007
ISBN: 9780470821329
Publication Date: 2006
Marketing is now being asked to be measurably accountable for not only the top-line of their income statement, but also for the bottom-line as well. They're being asked to account for the total marketing program in addition to its component product programs, its advertising, sales promotion, sales and distribution, and pricing programs. This is the first book that addresses the clamor and demand from marketing's many stakeholders to be accountable for its strategies and activities.

Professional Mail Surveys - Paul L. Erdos; Arthur J. Morgan
Call Number: HF 5415.3 .E7
Publication Date: 1970

Cover Art
Questionnaire Design: How to Plan, Structure, and Write Survey Material for Effective Market Research - Ian Brace
Call Number: HF 5415.3 .B683 2004 + CD
ISBN: 074944181X
Publication Date: 2004
* A guide that focuses on core skills * Written by one of the most experienced market researchers in the field of questionnaire design * Includes a free CD-ROM containing questionnaire-writing software Questionnaires are a vital tool for the market researcher: they draw accurate information from respondents, give structure to interviews, facilitate data processing and provide a standard form on which facts, comments and attitudes can be recorded. "Questionnaire Design" explains the role of questionnaires in market research, and looks at different types of questions and questionnaires and when and how they should be used. The book also explains how to plan, structure and write the right questionnaire for the research you are running. Contents are as follows: * Objectives in writing questionnaires * Differences between data collection media * Planning your questionnaire * Writing the questions * types of questions * Using prompt material * Laying it out * Piloting * Ethical issues * Social desirability bias and how to avoid it * Issues in multi-national surveys

Cover Art
Questionnaire Design: How to Plan Structure and Write Survey Material for Effective Market Research - Ian Brace
ISBN: 9780749467807
Publication Date: 2013
Questionnaires are vital for the market researcher: they draw accurate information from respondents, give structure to interviews, provide a standard form on which facts, comments and attitudes can be recorded, and facilitate data processing. Questionnaire Design explains the role of questionnaires in market research and looks at different types of questionnaire, examining when and how they should be deployed. The book explains how to plan, structure and compose the right questionnaire for the research you are undertaking. Fully updated with new content on encouraging respondent involvement, this new edition also includes the latest information on online and mobile questionnaires, their problems and potential. This book will be a useful addition to the bookshelf of every student or practitioner of market research.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Questionnaire Design: How to Plan, Structure, and Write Survey Material for Effective Marketing Research - Ian Brace
ISBN: 9781423711155
Publication Date: 2004
You must log into the EBSCOHost eBook Collection database to access this book from off campus.

Standardized Survey Interviewing - Floyd J. Fowler (Editor); Thomas W. Mangione
Call Number: H 61.28 .F68 1990
ISBN: 0803930925
Publication Date: 1990
A practical guide to producing standardized, and reliable, interviews, this volume represents a blending of social science theories of interviewing dynamics, the authors' own extensive research on interview-related error and research evidence from other prominent methodologists.

Cover Art
Survey Methodology - Robert M. Groves; Floyd J. Fowler; Mick P. Couper; James M. Lepkowski; Eleanor Singer; Roger Tourangeau; Floyd J. Fowler; Groves
Call Number: HA 31.2 .S873 2009
ISBN: 9780470465462
Publication Date: 2009
Praise for the "First Edition" "The book makes a valuable contribution by synthesizing current research and identifying areas for future investigation for each aspect of the survey process." --"Journal of the American Statistical Association" "Overall, the high quality of the text material is matched by the quality of writing . . ." --"Public Opinion Quarterly" ." . . it should find an audience everywhere surveys are being conducted." --"Technometrics" This new edition of "Survey Methodology" continues to provide a state-of-the-science presentation of essential survey methodology topics and techniques. The volume's six world-renowned authors have updated this Second Edition to present newly emerging approaches to survey research and provide more comprehensive coverage of the major considerations in designing and conducting a sample survey. Key topics in survey methodology are clearly explained in the book's chapters, with coverage including sampling frame evaluation, sample design, development of questionnaires, evaluation of questions, alternative modes of data collection, interviewing, nonresponse, post-collection processing of survey data, and practices for maintaining scientific integrity. Acknowledging the growing advances in research and technology, the Second Edition features: Updated explanations of sampling frame issues for mobile telephone and web surveys New scientific insight on the relationship between nonresponse rates and nonresponse errors Restructured discussion of ethical issues in survey research, emphasizing the growing research results on privacy, informed consent, and confidentiality issues The latest research findings on effective questionnaire development techniques The addition of 50% more exercises at the end of each chapter, illustrating basic principles of survey design An expanded FAQ chapter that addresses the concerns that accompany newly established methods Providing valuable and informative perspectives on the most modern methods in the field, "Survey Methodology," Second Edition is an ideal book for survey research courses at the upper-undergraduate and graduate levels. It is also an indispensable reference for practicing survey methodologists and any professional who employs survey research methods.

The Survey Research Handbook: Guidelines and Strategies for Conducting a Survey - Pamela L. Alreck; Robert B. Settle
Call Number: HN 29 .A46 1985
ISBN: 0870945297
Publication Date: 1985

Survey Research Methods - Floyd J. Fowler
Call Number: HN 29 .F68 1993
ISBN: 0803950489
Publication Date: 1992
This new edition of the bestselling Survey Research Methods aims to give those who collect, analyze or read about survey data a sound basis for evaluating data collection procedures. With an emphasis on the importance of minimizing nonsampling errors through good question design, good quality interviewing and high response rates, this book will help readers understand the relationship of the details of data collection to figures and statistics based on the survey. Presenting the most up-to-date methodological knowledge on survey research, the new edition covers: the role of microcomputers in data collection and data entry procedures; the latest research findings on the training and supervision of interviewers; and significant developments in question design and evaluation.

Cover Art
Survey Research: The Basics - Keith F. Punch
Call Number: H 62 .P934 2003
ISBN: 0761947051
Publication Date: 2003
Survey Research can be used as an independent guide or as a workbook to accompany Keith F Punch's bestselling Introduction to Social Research (SAGE, 1998). It represents a short, practical `how-to' book on a central methodology technique aimed at the beginning researcher. The focus of this book is on small-scale quantitative surveys studying the relationships between variables. After showing the central place of the quantitative survey in social science research methodology, it then takes a simple model of the survey, describes its elements and gives a set of steps and guidelines for implementing each element. The book then shows how the simple model of the quantitative survey generalizes easily to more complex models. It includes a detailed example of both simple and complex models, which readers should find very helpful. It is directed primarily at beginning researchers - upper-level undergraduate and graduate students in any area of social science, who often have to do small scale surveys in projects and dissertations. Beyond this, it will be of interest to anybody interested in learning about survey research. It is written in non-technical language, aiming to be as accessible as possible to a wide audience.

Cover Art
The Survey Kit - Arlene Fink (Editor)
Call Number: HN 29 .S724 2003 vols. 1-10
ISBN: 0761925805
Publication Date: 2002
'A complete overview that conveys a sense of the detail needed to do a high quality survey.'''--Kathy Sexton-Radek, Elmhurst College'''Provides a good overview of doing surveys with a clear and easy to follow writing style and a variety of examples covering the social and behavioral sciences.'''--Carol J. Lancaster, Medical University of South Carolina'''Fink explains the different types of survey instruments and the activities that constitute a typical survey and demonstrates how to organize surveys and estimate their costs. In addition, she discusses such techniques as what types of questions to ask in pilot tests, how to relate survey costs to needs for personnel and time, and how to execute a management plan and a budget for a survey.'''--Gerald Albaum, University of Oregon, review in Journal of Marketing Research''New to this Edition:''· The characteristics and uses of qualitative surveys''· The steps in a content analysis of qualitative data''· Survey ethics, including the ethical principles to use in survey development and the characteristics of survey research misconduct''· The main components of an informed consent form'''æReasonable ResourcesÆ is an excellent way to end this first volume. It provides foreshadowing for the rest of the Kit, yet does not go into too much detail. This material is a valuable reference as an overview (or, planning aid) for the research process.'''--David McCaffrey, University of Mississippi

Cover Art
Modern Analysis of Customer Surveys - Ron. S Kenett; Silvia Salini; Ron Kenett
ISBN: 9781119961161
Publication Date: 2011
Customer survey studies deals with customers, consumers and user satisfaction from a product or service. In practice, many of the customer surveys conducted by business and industry are analyzed in a very simple way, without using models or statistical methods. Typical reports include descriptive statistics and basic graphical displays. As demonstrated in this book, integrating such basic analysis with more advanced tools, provides insights on non-obvious patterns and important relationships between the survey variables. This knowledge can significantly affect the conclusions derived from a survey. Key features: Provides an integrated, case-studies based approach to analysing customer survey data. Presents a general introduction to customer surveys, within an organization's business cycle. Contains classical techniques with modern and non standard tools. Focuses on probabilistic techniques from the area of statistics/data analysis and covers all major recent developments. Accompanied by a supporting website containing datasets and R scripts. Customer survey specialists, quality managers and market researchers will benefit from this book as well as specialists in marketing, data mining and business intelligence fields.

Cover Art
The Snapshot Survey: Quick, Affordable Marketing Research for Every Organization - Lloyd Corder
ISBN: 9781419506963
Publication Date: 2006
Companies know that market research can be crucial to retaining customers and winning new ones. Yet many avoid undertaking survey research because they consider it expensive, slow and difficult to administer. `Not so', says author and research ace Lloyd Corder. In The Snapshot Survey, Corder gives business professionals the tools and know-how to complete highly effective, custom- designed surveys quickly and easily. This book is `boot camp' for those who have never done a survey and an eye- opening refresher course for those who have. Lloyd Corder is founder and CEO of CorCom Inc, a strategic marketing research firm. Before establishing his company, Corder was vice president of marketing research for Ketchum, one of the five largest public relations firms in the world.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
The Science of Web Surveys - Tourangeau, Roger; Conrad, Frederick G.; Couper,Mick P.;
Call Number: HM 538 .T68 2013
ISBN: 9780199747047
Publication Date: 2013
The development and widespread use of Web surveys have resulted in an outpouring of research on their design. In this volume, Tourangeau, Conrad, and Couper provide a comprehensive summary and synthesis of the literature on this increasingly popular method of data collection. The book includesnew integration of the authors' work with other important research on Web surveys, including a meta-analysis of studies that compare reports on sensitive topics in Web surveys with reports collected in other modes of data collection. Adopting the total survey error framework, the book examinessampling and coverage issues, nonresponse, measurement, and the issues involved in combining modes. In addition, the conclusion provides a model for understanding the errors in estimates that combine data collected in more than one mode. Web surveys have several important characteristics that affect their ability to collect accurate survey data. Discussing these in detail, the authors address basic design decisions from input widgets to background colors. They additionally focus on the visual character of Web surveys, on theirability to automatically interact with respondents, and on the Web as a method of self-administration. The Science of Web Surveys is relevant for those with the practical goal of improving their own surveys and those with an interest in understanding an increasingly important method of datacollection.

Cover Art
Social Media, Sociality, and Survey Research - Hill, Craig A.; Dean, Elizabeth; Murphy, Joe;
ISBN: 9781118595022
Publication Date: 2013
Provides the knowledge and tools needed for the future of survey research The survey research discipline faces unprecedented challenges, such as falling response rates, inadequate sampling frames, and antiquated approaches and tools. Addressing this changing landscape, Social Media, Sociality, and Survey Research introduces readers to a multitude of new techniques in data collection in one of the fastest developing areas of survey research. The book is organized around the central idea of a "sociality hierarchy" in social media interactions, comprised of three levels: broadcast, conversational, and community based. Social Media, Sociality, and Survey Research offers balanced coverage of the theory and practice of traditional survey research, while providing a conceptual framework for the opportunities social media platforms allow. Demonstrating varying perspectives and approaches to working with social media, the book features: New ways to approach data collection using platforms such as Facebook and Twitter Alternate methods for reaching out to interview subjects Design features that encourage participation with engaging, interactive surveys Social Media, Sociality, and Survey Research is an important resource for survey researchers, market researchers, and practitioners who collect and analyze data in order to identify trends and draw reliable conclusions in the areas of business, sociology, psychology, and population studies. The book is also a useful text for upper-undergraduate and graduate-level courses on survey methodology and market research.

You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Social and Behavioral Research and the Internet: Advances in Applied Methods and Research Strategiew - Marcel Das; Peter Ester; Lars Kaczmirek; (eds.)
Call Number: HM 538 .S63 2011
ISBN: 9781848728172
Publication Date: 2010
Highlighting the progress made by researchers in using Web-based surveys for data collection, this timely volume summarizes the experiences of leading behavioral and social scientists from Europe and the US who collected data using the Internet. Some chapters present theory, methodology, design, and implementation, while others focus on best practice examples and/or issues such as data quality and understanding paradata. A number of contributors applied innovative Web-based research methods to the LISS panel of CentERdata collected from over 5,000 Dutch households. Their findings are presented in the book. Some of the data is available on the book website. The book addresses practical issues such as data quality, how to reach difficult target groups, how to design a survey to maximize response, and ethical issues that need to be considered. Innovative applications such as the use of biomarkers and eye-tracking techniques are also explored. Part 1 provides an overview of Internet survey research including its methodologies, strengths, challenges, and best practices. Innovative ways to minimize sources of error are provided along with a review of mixed-mode designs, how to design a scientifically sound longitudinal panel and avoid sampling problems, and address ethical requirements in Web surveys. Part 2 focuses on advanced applications including the impact of visual design on the interpretability of survey questions, the impact survey usability has on respondents " answers, design features that increase interaction, and how Internet surveys can be effectively used to study sensitive issues. Part 3 addresses data quality, sample selection, measurement and non-response error, and new applications for collecting online data. The issue of underrepresentation of certain groups in Internet research and the measures most effective at reducing it are also addressed. The book concludes with a discussion of the importance of paradata and the Web data collection process in general, followed by chapters with innovative experiments using eye-tracking techniques and biomarker data. This practical book appeals to practitioners from market survey research institutes and researchers in disciplines such as psychology, education, sociology, political science, health studies, marketing, economics, and business who use the Internet for data collection, but is also an ideal supplement for graduate and/or upper level undergraduate courses on (Internet) research methods and/or data collection taught in these fields.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
George Libbey
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip