This is the "eBooks" page of the "Social Entrepreneurship" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Social Entrepreneurship  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=546120 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

eBooks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

eBooks

Cover Art
Rippling: How Social Entrepreneurs Spread Innovation Throughout the World - Beverly Schwartz; Ashoka (As told to); Drayton (Foreword by)
ISBN: 9781118225431
Publication Date: 2012
Principles for driving significant change throughout an entire system Drawing on the knowledge and experience of working with hundreds the world's top social change leaders in all fields, Beverly Schwartz presents a model for change based on five proven principles that any individual leader or organization can apply to bring about deep, lasting and systematic change. Rippling shows how to activate the type of change that is needed to address the critical challenges that threaten to destroy the foundations of our society and planet in these increasingly turbulent times. These actionable principles are brought to life by compelling real-life stories. Schwartz provides a road map that allows anyone to become a changemaker. Presents some of today's most innovative and effective approaches to solving social and environmental challenges Offers a vision of social entrepreneurs as role models, catalysts, enablers and recruiters who spread waves system changing solutions throughout society The author offers a model of change that begins with the end result in mind First book from an insider at Ashoka, the foremost global organization on social change through social entrepreneurship Rippling clearly demonstrates how and when empathy, creativity, passion, and persistence are combined; significant, life-altering progress is indeed possible.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Social Entrepreneur Revolution: Doing Good By Making Money, Making Money By Doing Good - Martin Clark
ISBN: 9789814312332
Publication Date: 2009
You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
The New Pioneers: Sustainable Business Success though Social Innovation and Social Entrpreneurship - Tania Ellis
ISBN: 9780470973677
Publication Date: 2010
New times create new needs - and new needs require new solutions. The New Pioneers is a practical guide for capitalists and idealists on how to navigate in the new economic world order. It is about the social megatrends that are shaping our lives in new ways and creating a new face of capitalism. And it is about the pioneers that are paving the way for the new business revolution: this century's generation of visionary leaders, social entrepreneurs and social intrapreneurs. 'Hardcore business people are realising that they can increase their profits by incorporating social responsibility into their business, and heartcore idealists are realising that the use of market methods helps them meet their social goals successfully,' argues Tania Ellis. With a wide array of cases from all over the world Tania Ellis explains the key principles of sustainable business success. Read The New Pioneers to gain insight into the new rules that are paving the way for business unusual - for the benefit of humanity and the bottom line. Learn more about The New Pioneers and join the movement of sustainable businesses and social entrepreneurs at www.thenewpioneers.biz

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
The Search for Social Entrepreneurship - Paul Charles Light; Paul C. Light
ISBN: 9780815701590
Publication Date: 2009
Research on social entrepreneurship is finally catching up to its rapidly growing potential. In The Search for Social Entrepreneurship, Paul Light explores this surge of interest to establish the state of knowledge on this growing phenomenon and suggest directions for future research. Light begins by outlining the debate on how to define social entrepreneurship, a concept often cited and lauded but not necessarily understood. A very elemental definition would note that it involves individuals, groups, networks, or organizations seeking sustainable change via new ideas on how governments, nonprofits, and businesses can address significant social problems. That leaves plenty of gaps, however, and without adequate agreement on what the term means, we cannot measure it effectively. The unsatisfying results are apple-to-orange comparisons that make replication and further research difficult.The subsequent section examines the four main components of social entrepreneurship: ideas, opportunities, organizations, and the entrepreneurs themselves. The copious information available about each has yet to be mined for lessons on making social entrepreneurship a success. The third section draws on Light's original survey research on 131 high-performing nonprofits, exploring how they differ across the four key components. The fourth and final section offers recommendations for future action and research in this burgeoning field.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Social Entrepreneurship : New Models of Sustainable Social Change - Alex Nicholls
ISBN: 9780191515804
Publication Date: 2006
Examines 'Social Entrepreneurship', a term that has come to be applied to the activities of grass-roots activists, NGOs, policy makers, international institutions, and corporations, amongst others, which address a range of social issues in innovative and creative ways. -;'Social Entrepreneurship' is a term that has come to be applied to the activities of grass-roots activists, NGOs, policy makers, international institutions, and corporations, amongst others, which address a range of social issues in innovative and creative ways.Themed around the emerging agendas for developing new, sustainable models of social sector excellence and systemic impact, Social Entrepreneurship offers, for the first time, a wide-ranging, internationally-focused selection of cutting-edge work from leading academics, policy makers, and practitioners. Together they seek to clarify some of the ambiguity around this term, describe a range of social entrepreneurship projects, and establish a clear set of frameworks with which tounderstand it.Included in the volume are contributions from Muhammad Yunus, the father of microfinance, Geoff Mulgan, former head of the British prime minister's policy unit, and Bill Drayton, founder of the Ashoka network of social entrepreneurs. Jeff Skoll, founder of the Skoll Foundation, and first president of eBay, provides a preface. -;'Social enterprise is an exciting movement which challenges both private and public sectors. To succeed in realising its potential it needs to be supported by evidence, analysis, and academic insight. The Skoll Centre for Social Entrepreneurship provides a hub for this thinking and Dr Alex Nicholls' latest book is a strong contribution to the field.' - Ed Miliband MP, Minister for the Third Sector

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
George Libbey
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip