This is the "Valuation" page of the "Entrepreneurship" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Entrepreneurship  

Resources on entrepreneurship
Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=545494 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Valuation Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

India

Heather Cowper, Stone Polishing Factory in Andhra Pradesh, CC 2.0, http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/deed.en

 

 

Books

Cover Art
Investment Valuation - Damodaran, Aswath
ISBN: 9781118011522
Publication Date: 2012
The definitive source of information on all topics related to investment valuation tools and techniques Valuation is at the heart of any investment decision, whether that decision is buy, sell or hold. But the pricing of many assets has become a more complex task in modern markets, especially after the recent financial crisis. In order to be successful at this endeavor, you must have a firm understanding of the proper valuation techniques. One valuation book stands out as withstanding the test of time among investors and students of financial markets, Aswath Damodaran′s Investment Valuation . Now completely revised and updated to reflect changing market conditions, this third edition comprehensively introduces investment professionals and students to the range of valuation models available and how to chose the right model for any given asset valuation scenario. This edition includes valuation techniques for a whole host of real options, start-up firms, unconventional assets, distressed companies and private equity, and real estate. All examples have been updated and new material has been added. Fully revised to incorporate valuation lessons learned from the last five years, from the market crisis and emerging markets to new types of equity investments Includes valuation practices across the life cycle of companies and emphasizes value enhancement measures, such as EVA and CFROI Contains a new chapter on probabilistic valuation techniques such as decision trees and Monte Carlo Simulation Author Aswath Damodaran is regarded as one of the best educators and thinkers on the topic of investment valuation This indispensable guide is a must read for anyone wishing to gain a better understanding of investment valuation and its methods. With it, you can take the insights and advice of a recognized authority on the valuation process and immediately put them to work for you.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Valuation Techniques - Larrabee, David T. & Voss, Jason A.
ISBN: 9781118397435
Publication Date: 2012
Analysis and insights from top thought leaders on a pivotal topic in investing and asset management Valuation is the cornerstone for investment analysis, and a thorough understanding and correct application of valuation methodologies are critical for long-term investing success. Edited by two leading valuation experts from CFA Institute, this book brings together the insights and expertise of some of the most astute and successful investment minds of the past 50 years. From Benjamin Graham, the "father of value investing," to Aswath Damodaran, you'll learn what these investment luminaries have to say about investment valuation techniques, including earnings and cash flow analysis.   Features the best thinking on valuation from the industry's masters on the topic, supplemented with dozens of fascinating and instructive real-world examples Comprehensively discusses special valuation situations, such as real options, employee stock options, highly leveraged firms, corporate takeovers, and more Supplies you with the tools you need to successfully navigate and thrive in the ever-changing financial markets Is being produced with the full support and input of CFA Institute, the world's leading association of investment professionals;

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Corporate Valuation Modeling - Allman, Keith A.
ISBN: 9780470481790
Publication Date: 2010
Accompanied by CD-ROM containing: Complete Excel and VBA-based discounted cash flow model for use with Model Builder exercises in text. Supplemental Excel exercises for use with Model Builder exercises in text.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Business Valuation - Mercer, Z. Christopher & Harms, Travis W.
Call Number: HG 4028 .V3 M47 2008
ISBN: 9780470148167
Publication Date: 2007
Praise for Business Valuation, Second Edition "The Second Edition of Business Valuation: An Integrated Theory manages to present the theoretical analysis of valuation from the first edition and expand on that discussion by providing additional guidance on implementing the relevant valuation theories, notably in its expanded discussion of the Quantitative Marketability Discount Model." -Dr. David Tabak NERA Economic Consulting Your Essential Valuations Reference Whether you are an accountant, auditor, financial planner, or attorney, Business Valuation: An Integrated Theory, Second Edition enables you to understand and correctly apply fundamental valuation concepts. Thoroughly revised and expanded, the Second Edition demystifies modern valuation theory, bringing together various valuation concepts to reveal a comprehensive picture of business valuation. With the implementation of new accounting pronouncements mandating the recognition of numerous assets and liabilities at fair value, it has become critical for CPAs charged with auditing financial statements to understand valuation concepts. With thoughtful and balanced treatment of both theory and application, this essential guide reveals: ∗ The "GRAPES of Value"-Growth, Risk and Reward, Alternative Investments, Present Value, Expectations, and Sanity ∗ The relationship between the Gordon Model and the discounted cash flow model of valuation ∗ The basis for commonly applied, but commonly misunderstood valuation premiums and discounts ∗ A practical perspective on the analysis of potential business acquisitions Grounded in the real world of market participants, Business Valuation, Second Edition addresses your need to understand business valuation, providing a means of articulating valuation concepts to help you negotiate value-enhancing transactions. If you want to get back to valuation basics, this useful reference will become your guide to defining the various levels of value and developing a better understanding of business appraisal reports.

Cover Art
Business Valuation: An Integrated Theory - Mercer, Z. Christopher. & Harms, Travis W.
ISBN: 9780470148167
Publication Date: 2007-10-05
Praise for Business Valuation, Second Edition "The Second Edition of Business Valuation: An Integrated Theory manages to present the theoretical analysis of valuation from the first edition and expand on that discussion by providing additional guidance on implementing the relevant valuation theories, notably in its expanded discussion of the Quantitative Marketability Discount Model." -Dr. David Tabak NERA Economic Consulting Your Essential Valuations Reference Whether you are an accountant, auditor, financial planner, or attorney, Business Valuation: An Integrated Theory, Second Edition enables you to understand and correctly apply fundamental valuation concepts. Thoroughly revised and expanded, the Second Edition demystifies modern valuation theory, bringing together various valuation concepts to reveal a comprehensive picture of business valuation. With the implementation of new accounting pronouncements mandating the recognition of numerous assets and liabilities at fair value, it has become critical for CPAs charged with auditing financial statements to understand valuation concepts. With thoughtful and balanced treatment of both theory and application, this essential guide reveals: ∗ The "GRAPES of Value"-Growth, Risk and Reward, Alternative Investments, Present Value, Expectations, and Sanity ∗ The relationship between the Gordon Model and the discounted cash flow model of valuation ∗ The basis for commonly applied, but commonly misunderstood valuation premiums and discounts ∗ A practical perspective on the analysis of potential business acquisitions Grounded in the real world of market participants, Business Valuation, Second Edition addresses your need to understand business valuation, providing a means of articulating valuation concepts to help you negotiate value-enhancing transactions. If you want to get back to valuation basics, this useful reference will become your guide to defining the various levels of value and developing a better understanding of business appraisal reports.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
The Market Approach to Valuing Businesses - Pratt, Shannon P.
Call Number: HG 4028 .V3 P69 2005
ISBN: 0471696544
Publication Date: 2005
Your Best Approach to Determining Value If you′re buying, selling, or valuing a business, how can you determine its true value? By basing it on present market conditions and sales of similar businesses. The market approach is the premier way to determine the value of a business or partnership. With convincing evidence of value for both buyers and sellers, it can end stalemates and get deals closed. Acclaimed for its empirical basis and objectivity, this approach is the model most favored by the IRS and the United States Tax Court-as long as it′s properly implemented. Shannon Pratt′s The Market Approach to Valuing Businesses , Second Edition provides a wealth of proven guidelines and resources for effective market approach implementation. You′ll find information on valuing and its applications, case studies on small and midsize businesses, and a detailed analysis of the latest market approach developments, as well as: A critique of US acquisitions over the last twenty-five years An analysis of the effect of size on value Common errors in applying the market approach Court reactions to the market approach and information to help you avoid being blindsided by a litigation opponent Must reading for anyone who owns or holds a partial interest in a small or large business or a professional practice, as well as for CPAs consulting on valuations, appraisers, corporate development officers, intermediaries, and venture capitalists, The Market Approach to Valuing Businesses will show you how to successfully reach a fair agreement-one that will satisfy both buyers and sellers and stand up to scrutiny by courts and the IRS.

Cover Art
Intangible Assets - Cohen, Jeffrey A.
ISBN: 9780471671312
Publication Date: 2005
Praise for Intangible Assets"In Intangible Assets, Jeffrey Cohen presents an informative, thought-provoking and practical look at an increasingly important component of every business's worth. He describes the art and science of identifying assets that have clear economic benefit, but are typically not found on the balance sheet, and he provides an invaluable framework within which the reader can value these assets, despite their elusive nature." -Rick Westervelt, President, Skylist, Inc."Jeffrey Cohen's integrative approach to conceptual issues of intangible assets is creative and a refreshing contribution. He brings law, economics, finance, and accounting to the same table, which results in a comprehensive framework for understanding how value is created and sustained. His construct of 'proto-assets' and 'portfolio of intangible economic benefits' is key. Written in an easy-to-read style with many practical examples, this book will be useful for both novice and experienced professionals." -W. Dana Northcut, PhD, Adjunct Associate Professor of Accounting Graduate School of Business, University of Chicago Principal, Chicago Partners, LLC"This volume is the perfect resource for newcomers to IP valuation. Through lucid explanations and well-chosen illustrations, it does for the reader exactly what a valuation expert should do for a client-it makes the abstract concrete. But this volume is not just for the novice; it holds insights that will be useful to IP experts in law, accounting, and economics." -Edward F. Malone, Partner, Jenner & Block LLP

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
The Value Mindset - Stern, Erik & Hutchinson, Mike
Call Number: HG 4028 .V3 S825 2004
ISBN: 0471650293
Publication Date: 2004
A groundbreaking book on building long-term wealth for stakeholders As creator of the Wealth Added Index (WAI), Stern Stewart's Erik Stern has become a beacon for creating shareholder value within the current storm of corporate malfeasance and poor performance. The Value Mindset shows readers how to develop this way of thinking by blending individual manager incentives with the proper corporate structure and the willingness to pursue value discipline over the long term. Filled with practical concepts that have proved themselves in the real world, this book shows readers how they can transform a company into an organization that can deliver value and returns to its shareholders. The Value Mindset helps readers develop this mindset-as well as implement it-by detailing the metrics that are necessary for any manager to measure and monitor value creation within the firm. Erik Stern (London, UK) is a Senior Vice President at Stern Stewart & Co., based in London. He has designed and implemented programs for companies in several industries in the United States and Europe. Mike Hutchinson (London, UK) is a Vice President at Stern Stewart & Co., based in London. He worked previously for the BBC and the Consumers' Association.

Cover Art
Solving the Corporate Value Enigma - Mangamelli, Raymond L. & Hagen, Brian
Call Number: HG 4028 .V3 M3254 2002
ISBN: 0814406920
Publication Date: 2003
"Why is it that the average business captures less than 20 percent of its potential? Why is this underperformance so pervasive, and what's keeping these organizations from truly maximizing their shareholder value? Based on extensive research and featuring case studies, tools, and practical techniques, this practical handbook explains how all strategic decisions must be considered from four closely integrated perspectives: that of the business model, the company's portfolio of holdings, its financial structure, and the efficiency and efficacy of its management and operations. The book presents a step-by-step methodology for implementing a Value Structure System, enabling readers to identify, create, and capture the maximum value of their company by synchronizing the different essential components. Readers will learn how to: * Use a single value measure throughout all decision making * Immediately execute their own Value Structure Optimization (VSO) program * Perform diagnostic exercises quantifying risk, and prepare immediate action plans"

Cover Art
Foundations of Economic Value Added - Grant, James L.
Call Number: HG 4028 .V3 G69 2003
ISBN: 0471234834
Publication Date: 2003
An updated look at the role of economic profit analysis in the process of wealth creation Grant explains the pivotal role of economic value added (EVA) in the theory of finance, how to measure EVA with standard accounting adjustments, how to use EVA to value companies and their stock, and how to use economic profit principles to identify wealth-creating firms, industries, and even market economies.

Cover Art
Valuation Methods and Shareholder Value Creation - Fernandez, Pablo
Call Number: HG 4028 .V3 F47 2002
ISBN: 0122538412
Publication Date: 2002
Valuation Methods and Shareholder Value Creation provides a comprehensive examination of valuation tools and guidance for analyzing and valuing a business. It covers the basics of valuation methods and shareholder value creation in addition to rigorous approaches to discounted cash flow valuation and real options for valuing a company. By examining eight different methods of discounted cash flow valuation and discussing the pros and cons of each method, Fern ndez offers thorough, accessible coverage of corporate valuation. With examples and case studies from international markets, this book provides well-structured guidance for students and executives alike. * Highlights quantitative analyses of firm value * Emphasizes qualitative management assessments * Integrates data from international companies

Cover Art
The Complete Guide to Valuing and Selling Your Business - Lipman, Frederick D.
Call Number: HD 1393.25 .L56 2001
ISBN: 0761534512
Publication Date: 2001
Selling your business should be a profitable, crowning moment of achievement, but it can also be slow, difficult, and loaded with pitfalls. Inside, author and corporate attorneyFrederick D. Lipmanprovides you with the comprehensive resource for selling your business—from strategically positioning your company's assets to finalizing the perfect deal. Straightforward and easy to read, this book explores the potential difficulties and demonstrates how you can enhance the value of your business and conduct its sale smoothly and profitably. You'll discover how to: • Establish the true value of your business, including intellectual property • Market your business to prospective buyers without alarming staff, suppliers, competitors, and the media • Negotiate the deal properly • Structure the transaction to avoid paying exorbitant taxes • Avoid potential "deal-killers" right from the start • And more! Also included is how to assemble a professional team of bankers and attorneys and conduct an auction, as well as appendixes providing detailed examples from actual sales and samples of key documents. For anyone selling or contemplating selling a business, this book is absolutely essential reading. "The best explanation I've ever seen on how to get the highest price for your company. Thanks for the millions."—Stan Gordon, President, Gordon Phillips Beauty Schools

Cover Art
Valuing a Business - Pratt, Shannon P.; Reilly, Robert F.; Schweihs, Robert P.
Call Number: HG 4028 .V3 P7 2000
ISBN: 0071356150
Publication Date: 2000
First published in 1981, Valuing a Business is today the world's most widely followed valuation reference. As more professional associations than ever offer valuation education and credentials, this Fourth Eidtion - with 10 new chapters that significantly expand the book's scope - promises to appeal to an even broader market. This easy-to-use reference features increased emphasis on vlauation court cases and decisions; new information on arbitration and mediation; updated data on stock option valuation; and much more.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
George Libbey
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip