- Berry, Harry. Make the Kaiser Dance. 1978
- Boyd, William. With a field Ambulance at Ypres: being letters written March 7-August 15, 1915.
- Empey, Arthur Guy. Over the Top! 1917
- Graves, Robert. Good-bye to All That. 1957.
- Haigh, Richard. Life in a Tank. 1918
- Junger, Ernst. Storm ot Steel. 1920
- Lewis, Cecil. Sagittarius Rising. 1963
- O'Brien, Pat. Outwitting the Hun: my escape from a German prison camp.
- Pellissier, Robert E. Good Idea of Hell: letters from a Chasseur a Pied. 2003
- Richthofen, Manfred, Freiherr von. The Red Baron. 1969
- Richthofen, Manfred Freiherr von. The Red Battle Flyer. 1918.
Same book as the "Red Baron, " just a more literal translation of the title.
- Spring, Harry. An Engineer's Diary of the Great War. 2001.
- Stackpole, Peirmont. In the Company of Generals: the World War I diary of Pierpont L. Stockpole.
- Stevenson, William Yorke. At the Front in a Flivver. 1917.
- Timmins, George. Kiss the Kids for Dad, Don't Forget to Write: the wartime letters ot George Timmins, 1916-18. 2009
- Toland, Edward. The Aftermath of Battle: with the Red Cross in France. 1916
- York, Alvin. Sergeant York, his own life story and war diary. 1928
Click on "The Great War" for a list of full text diaries. Organized by nationality.
- American Unofficial Collection of World War I Photographs, 1917 - 1918
This collection from the National Archives "contains images obtained from the U.S. Army Signal Corps, various federal and state government agencies and the American Red Cross."
- Europeana 1914-1918
Diaries, films, and other historical material.
- The First World War: sources for history.
National Archives of Great Britain.
- The Stars and Stripes: the American Soldier's newspaper of World War I, 1918-1919
- Schwink, Otto. Ypres 1914--An offical account published by the order of the German general staff. 1919.
- WWI: the World War I Document Archive
Documents from both sides, includes everything from treaties, biography, and images.
- World War I Cartoons
A selection of political and propaganda cartoons from different sourcesl
- World War I Cartoons
About 300 images of political cartoons published in the British magazine Punch.
- World War One. The British Library
Contains all sorts of primary materials--photographs, posters, and cartoons.
Borden, Mary. Forbidden Zone. 1929.
Cowrn, Ruth editor.. A Nurse at the Front: the Great War Diaries of Sister Edith Appleton. 2012.
Farmborough, Florence. With the Armies of the Tsar: a nurse at the Russian Front, 1914-1918. 1975
- Anonymous. Diary of a Nursing Sister on the Western Front. 1914-1915. 1915
- Bagnold, Enid. A Diary Without Dates. 1918
- Evelyn, Princess Blucher: An English Wife in Berlin: a private memoir of events, politics, and daily life in Germany throughout the war and the social revolution of 1918
- Sinclair, Mary. A Journal of Impressions in Belgium. 1915.
- Lawrence, Dorothy. Sapper Dorothy Lawence, the only English woman soldier. Late Royal Engineers, 51st Divsion 179th Tunneling Company, B.E.F. 1919
- la Motte, Ellen N. The Backwash of War: the human wreckage of the battlefield as witnessed by an American hospital nurse. 1916
- Turczynowicz, Laura. When the Prussians Came to Poland: the experiences of an American woman during the German invasion. 1916