This is the "Books" page of the "China and Energy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

China and Energy  

This guides has resources that UDM owns about China and its energy policy, resources, and global influence.
Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=543859 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books

Cover Art
China and the Energy Equation in Asia - Jean A. Garrison
Call Number: HD 9502 .C62 G37 2009
ISBN: 9781935049050
Publication Date: 2009




Cover Art
China's Energy Geopolitics - Thrassy N. Marketos; Marketos
ISBN: 9780203894286
Publication Date: 2008-11-21

Cover Art
China's Energy Relations with the Developing World - Carrie Liu Currier
ISBN: 9781441194343
Publication Date: 2011
The book examines China's access to the energy resources of the developing world and its impact on Chinese foreign relations.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
China's Superbank: Debt, Oil and Influence - How China Development Bank Is Rewriting the Rules of Finance - Forsythe, Michael; Sanderson, Henry;
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 9781118176399
Publication Date: 2012
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Earth Wars - Geoff Hiscock
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 9781118152911
Publication Date: 2012
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus


Energy Conservation In East Asia: Towards Greater Energy Security - Elspeth Thomson; Youngho Chang; Jae-Seung Lee
ISBN: 9789812771780
Publication Date: 2010
You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Energy Economics: Modeling and Empirical Analysis in China - Yi-Ming Wei
Call Number: HD 9502 .C6 E55 2010
ISBN: 9781439811214
Publication Date: 2009

Cover Art
Energy Efficiency Finance: Assessing the Impact of IFC's China Utilitiy-based Energy Efficiency Finance - World Bank Staff
Call Number: EBook
ISBN: 9780821384527
Publication Date: 2010
You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.


Cover Art
Energy Science and Technology in China: A Roadmap to 2050 - Yong Chen
ISBN: 9783642053207
Publication Date: 2010
As one of the eighteen field-specific reports comprising the comprehensive scope of the strategic general report of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, this sub-report addresses long-range planning for developing science and technology in the field of energy science. They each craft a roadmap for their sphere of development to 2050. In their entirety, the general and sub-group reports analyze the evolution and laws governing the development of science and technology, describe the decisive impact of science and technology on the modernization process, predict that the world is on the eve of an impending S&T revolution, and call for China to be fully prepared for this new round of S&T advancement. Based on the detailed study of the demands on S&T innovation in China's modernization, the reports draw a framework for eight basic and strategic systems of socio-economic development with the support of science and technology, work out China's S&T roadmaps for the relevant eight basic and strategic systems in line with China's reality, further detail S&T initiatives of strategic importance to China's modernization, and provide S&T decision-makers with comprehensive consultations for the development of S&T innovation consistent with China's reality. Supported by illustrations and tables of data, the reports provide researchers, government officials and entrepreneurs with guidance concerning research directions, the planning process, and investment. Founded in 1949, the Chinese Academy of Sciences is the nation's highest academic institution in natural sciences. Its major responsibilities are to conduct research in basic and technological sciences, to undertake nationwide integrated surveys on natural resources and ecological environment, to provide the country with scientific data and consultations for government's decision-making, to undertake government-assigned projects with regard to key S&T problems in the process of socio-economic development, to initiate personnel training, and to promote China's high-tech enterprises through its active engagement in these areas.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
The Globalization of Energy: China and European Union - Medhi Amineh (Editor); Guang Yang (Editor)
ISBN: 9789004181120
Publication Date: 2010
Energy security challenges are topping the policy agenda of the European Union and China. Consequently, policy makers of both energy import-dependent polities continue to look for new responses. But will these new policies put EU-China relations in a cooperative or competitive setting?

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
The Green Economy and Its Implementation in China - Liu, Manhong Mannie; Ness, David; Huang, Haifeng;
ISBN: 9789814332873
Publication Date: 2011
This book offers an in-depth review and unique insight into China's green economy. It is a collection of essays and papers presented by over 30 internationally regarded experts from China, Canada, the United States, Europe and Australia in a series of conferences on China's ecological development issues at the China-Europe Forum hosted by the Ecological Development Union International (EDUI) in 2010, and covers issues such as government policies, the challenges of water resources, renewable energy in the context of the 11th and 12th Five-Year Plans, and the sustainable development of the green economy.
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Green Innovation in China - Joanna I. Lewis
Call Number: HD 9502.5 .W553 L49 2013
ISBN: 9780231153300
Publication Date: 2012
As the greatest coal-producing and consuming nation in the world, China would seem an unlikely haven for wind power. Yet the country now boasts a world-class industry that promises to make low-carbon technology more affordable and available to all. Conducting an empirical study of China's remarkable transition and the possibility of replicating their model elsewhere, Joanna I. Lewis adds greater depth to a theoretical understanding of China's technological innovation systems and its current and future role in a globalized economy. Lewis focuses on China's specific methods of international technology transfer, its forms of international cooperation and competition, and its implementation of effective policies promoting the development of a home-grown industry. Just a decade ago, China maintained only a handful of operating wind turbines -- all imported from Europe and the United States. Today, the country is the largest wind power market in the world, with turbines made almost exclusively in its own factories. Following this shift reveals how China's political leaders have responded to domestic energy challenges and how they may confront encroaching climate change. The nation's escalation of its wind power use also demonstrates China's ability to leapfrog to cleaner energy technologies -- an option equally viable for other developing countries hoping to bypass gradual industrialization and the "technological lock-in" of hydrocarbon-intensive energy infrastructure. Though setbacks are possible, China could one day come to dominate global wind turbine sales, becoming a hub of technological innovation and a major instigator of low-carbon economic change.

Cover Art
The Hungry Dragon - Sigfrido Burgos Caceres; Sophal Ear
ISBN: 9780203072530
Publication Date: 2013
China's ubiquitous presence in Africa, Asia and Latin America is reshaping the world with regards to economics, politics and national security. This book offers a comprehensive examination of China's energy security strategy.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
The Oil Curse: How Petroleum Wealth Shapes the Development of Nations - Ross, Michael L.
ISBN: 1400841925
Publication Date: 2012
Countries that are rich in petroleum have less democracy, less economic stability, and more frequent civil wars than countries without oil. What explains this oil curse? And can it be fixed? In this groundbreaking analysis, Michael L. Ross looks at how developing nations are shaped by their mineral wealth--and how they can turn oil from a curse into a blessing. Ross traces the oil curse to the upheaval of the 1970s, when oil prices soared and governments across the developing world seized control of their countries' oil industries. Before nationalization, the oil-rich countries looked much like the rest of the world; today, they are 50 percent more likely to be ruled by autocrats--and twice as likely to descend into civil war--than countries without oil. The Oil Curse shows why oil wealth typically creates less economic growth than it should; why it produces jobs for men but not women; and why it creates more problems in poor states than in rich ones. It also warns that the global thirst for petroleum is causing companies to drill in increasingly poor nations, which could further spread the oil curse. This landmark book explains why good geology often leads to bad governance, and how this can be changed.
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from outside of the library.

Cover Art
One Goal, Two Paths - World Bank Staff
ISBN: 9780821388372
Publication Date: 2011
This flagship report of the East Asia and the Pacific Region of the World Bank outlines an ambitious course of action to eradicate energy poverty in the Region by 2030. Despite its impressive economic growth, over 1 billion people in the EAP Region still lack the most basic access to electricity and modern cooking solutions. With every second household in the Region depending on solid fuels for cooking, indoor air pollution is a major health risk factor, particularly for women and children. This flagship report urges the governments of EAP countries to work simultaneously on two paths. The first path is to achieve universal electricity access by accelerating both grid and off-grid programs while employing appropriate policies and innovative technical solutions to reduce costs, improve reliability, and provide timely service to all EAP households. The second path calls for a major push to increase access to clean cooking fuels (natural gas, liquefied petroleum gas, and biogas) and to advanced cooking stoves, particularly for biomass in poor rural areas. Both of these paths are affordable. The combined investments required for universal access to modern energy in the EAP Region are estimated at US$78 billion over the next 2 decades. This amount is US$32 billion more than the amount required to maintain the "business-as-usual" scenario over the same period. Although the annual incremental investment will be a small fraction of the Regional GDP, most EAP countries will require significant support from donors and multilateral institutions to reach the goal of universal access to modern energy by 2030.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Quantitative and Empirical Analysis of Energy Markets - Apostolos Serletis
ISBN: 9789812704740
Publication Date: 2007
Bringing together leading-edge research and innovative energy markets econometrics, this book collects the author's most important recent contributions in energy economics. In particular, the book: - applies recent advances in the field of applied econometrics to investigate a number of issues regarding energy markets, including the theory of storage and the efficient markets hypothesis - presents the basic stylized facts on energy price movements using correlation analysis, causality tests, integration theory, cointegration theory, as well as recently developed procedures for testing for shared and codependent cycles - uses recent advances in the financial econometrics literature to model time-varying returns and volatility in energy prices and to test for causal relationships between energy prices and their volatilities - explores the functioning of electricity markets and applies conventional models of time series analysis to investigate a number of issues regarding wholesale power prices in the western North American markets - applies tools from statistics and dynamical systems theory to test for nonlinear dynamics and deterministic chaos in a number of North American hydrocarbon markets (those of ethane, propane, normal butane, iso-butane, naptha, crude oil, and natural gas)

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Red Alert - Stephen Leeb; Gregory Dorsey (As told to)
Call Number: HC 427.95 .L445 2012
ISBN: 9781455519248
Publication Date: 2012
"I would caution readers to dismiss Stephen Leeb's warnings only at their peril." -Thomas Kaplan, chairman, Tigris Financial Group The American Dream is close to being replaced by a living nightmare: Key commodities that are essential to our daily lives and that are widely believed to be abundant are running critically short. Even worse, the Chinese are doing what they can to monopolize the world's dwindling resources. The U.S. is now largely dependent on our greatest economic rival for rare earth elements as well as a host of other minerals-all of which are absolutely essential to the development of alternative energies and are critically important for our defense industry, computers, cell phones, and other electronic devices. While America has been fighting wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, China has focused its substantial muscle on securing vital commodities from these and other lands to upgrade its infrastructure and industrial strength to meet the resource challenge head-on. China has wrapped itself in the green flag of combating climate change while systematically discouraging other nations from adopting similar policies in a bid to gain time to achieve its plans. RED ALERT is a provocative and frightening look at the growing political, economic, and social power of China and the threat that nation poses to the Western world. It lays out how the Chinese are strategizing to overtake the United States as the world's premier economic power-and details how our failure to respond quickly will result in a permanently lower standard of living for Americans. Peppered with startling statistics, charts, and evidence of how China continues to expand its economic reach, RED ALERT is both controversial and powerful in its scope.


Cover Art
Sustainable Low-Carbon City Development in China - Axel Baeumler (Editor); Ede Ijjasz-Vasquez (Editor); Shomik Mehndiratta (Editor)
ISBN: 9780821389874
Publication Date: 2012
The continuing rapid growth and development of China s cities brings many complex challenges. Tasked with supporting strong economic development that provides jobs and a good quality of life for its growing number of residents, China s cities also must ensure sustainable development in line with national efforts to transition to a less carbon-intensive economy, as outlined in China s 12th Five-Year Plan. Sustainable Low-Carbon City Development in China summarizes, through the specific lens of low-carbon development, the lessons of the World Bank s activities related to sustainable urban development in China. The various chapters present overall approaches and achievements in low-carbon city developments and highlight specific experiences across all urban sectors, including energy, transport, solid waste, water, and waste water. The book also explores cities role in climate adaptation and opportunities presented by carbon finance and other global mechanisms to finance low-carbon city development. The World Bank project data and experience combined with the national and international experience presented in this edited book deliver both a broad picture and actionable steps for China s urban development. The chapters argue that China s cities not only need to, but also have an opportunity and the ability to integrate sustainable low-carbon development in their urban development. Low-carbon efforts align closely with the sustainable urbanization agenda and the book points to multiple benefits, such as improved air quality and urban livability, that can be derived from implementing this urgent agenda. The intended audience of this edited book is government officials of municipalities, cities, and townships in China who will be defining policies and programs to achieve the targets of economic growth and carbon emission reductions emerging from the 12th Five-Year Plan. The lessons presented may also be of interest to other countries and development partners supporting low-carbon urban programs.

You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Renewable Energy in China, Volume 1: Toward a Green Economy - Liu, Manhong Mannie; Henry, Mike; Huang, Haifeng;
ISBN: 9781623200480
Publication Date: 2013
Renewable Energy in China: Towards a Green Economy presents a complete look at China's efforts to become a "green" nation. This book uses an overview of contemporary issues of sustainable development, as well as a set of 25 unique case studies (from leading companies and industry experts in China and the West), to highlight China's unique "green" role. The key concepts of sustainable development, including the rising use of solar and wind power, present complex challenges for China and shape the nation's geopolitical role. With a preface from renowned statesman Cheng Siwei and an introduction from Nobel Prize winner Mohan Munasinghe, Renewable Energy in China: Towards a Green Economy offers an authoritative review of all aspects of China's progress as a green economy including the nation's current efforts to promote a culture of sustainable development.
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Renewable Energy in China, Volume 2: Toward a Green Economy - Liu, Manhong Mannie; Henry, Mike; Huang, Haifeng;
ISBN: 9781623200497
Publication Date: 2013
Renewable Energy in China: Towards a Green Economy presents a complete look at China's efforts to become a "green" nation. This book uses an overview of contemporary issues of sustainable development, as well as a set of 25 unique case studies (from leading companies and industry experts in China and the West), to highlight China's unique "green" role. The key concepts of sustainable development, including the rising use of solar and wind power, present complex challenges for China and shape the nation's geopolitical role. With a preface from renowned statesman Cheng Siwei and an introduction from Nobel Prize winner Mohan Munasinghe, Renewable Energy in China: Towards a Green Economy offers an authoritative review of all aspects of China's progress as a green economy including the nation's current efforts to promote a culture of sustainable development.
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Renewable Energy in China, Volume 3: Toward a Green Economy - Liu, Manhong Mannie; Henry, Mike; Huang, Haifeng;
ISBN: 9781623200503
Publication Date: 2013
Renewable Energy in China: Towards a Green Economy presents a complete look at China's efforts to become a "green" nation. This book uses an overview of contemporary issues of sustainable development, as well as a set of 25 unique case studies (from leading companies and industry experts in China and the West), to highlight China's unique "green" role. The key concepts of sustainable development, including the rising use of solar and wind power, present complex challenges for China and shape the nation's geopolitical role. With a preface from renowned statesman Cheng Siwei and an introduction from Nobel Prize winner Mohan Munasinghe, Renewable Energy in China: Towards a Green Economy offers an authoritative review of all aspects of China's progress as a green economy including the nation's current efforts to promote a culture of sustainable development.
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Thinking the Inevitable: China's Economic Superpower Aspiration in the New Paradigm - Lo, Chi
ISBN: 9814298999
Publication Date: 2012
Focusing on China’s macroeconomy and policy, this book discusses a popular topic around the world: whether China could become a global economic superpower in the new paradigm following the U.S. subprime crisis. Thorough and relevant, this record analyzes the impact and implications of the subprime crisis on China’s policies as well as the risks and obstacles China is facing during economic reform and expansion. A review of the internationalization of the Renminbi and an assessment of China’s aspirations and future are also included.
You must login to the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Cover Art
Understanding China's Economic Indicator: Translating the Data into Investment Opportunities - Orlik, Thomas
ISBN: 0132620197
Publication Date: 2011
In Understanding China's Economic Indicators, leading economist and Wall Street Journal columnist Thomas M. Orlik introduces 35 of China's most significant economic statistics. Orlik explains why each indicator matters, how it is collected and computed, and its impact on equity, commodity, and currency markets. nbsp; As China has emerged as a central player in the global economy, more and more investors are seeking profitable opportunities there. To choose the right investments, it's crucial to understand China's economic environment-and that means finding, interpreting, and utilizing China's growing base of economic indicators. Orlik helps investors make sense of data on everything from Chinese GDP growth to inflation, unemployment, bond yields, electricity production, and aircraft passenger numbers. He draws on the best information supplied by the Chinese government's statistical agency, ministries, and industry associations, as well as private sources. Each indicator is clearly described, along with a practical discussion of its implications for investors.

Cover Art
Winner Take All - Dambisa Moyo
Call Number: HC 427.95 .M69 2012
ISBN: 9780465028283
Publication Date: 2012
Commodities permeate virtually every aspect of modern daily living, but for all their importance#151;their breadth, their depth, their intricacies, and their central role in daily life#151;few people who are not economists or traders know how commodity markets work. Almost every day, newspaper headlines and media commentators scream warnings of impending doom--shortages of arable land, clashes over water, and political conflict as global demand for fossil fuels outstrips supply. The picture is bleak, but our grasp of the details and the macro shifts in commodities markets remain blurry. Winner Take All is about the commodity dynamics that the world will face over the next several decades. In particular, it is about the implications of China’s rush for resources across all regions of the world. The scale of China’s resource campaign for hard commodities (metals and minerals) and soft commodities (timber and food) is among the largest in history. To be sure, China is not the first country to launch a global crusade to secure resources. From Britain’s transcontinental operations dating back to the end of the 16th century, to the rise of modern European and American transnational corporations between the mid 1860’s and 1870’s, the industrial revolution that powered these economies created a voracious demand for raw materials and created the need to go far beyond their native countries. So too is China’s resource rush today. Although still in its early stages, already the breadth of China’s operation is awesome, and seemingly unstoppable. China’s global charge for commodities is a story of China’s quest to secure its claims on resource assets, and to guarantee the flow of inputs needed to continue to drive economic development. Moyo, an expert in global commodities markets, explains the implications of China’s resource grab in a world of diminishing resources.

Librarian Consultant

Profile Image
Julia Eisenstein
Contact Info
313-578-0576
eisensjl@udmercy.edu
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip