Find eBooksFind DVDs
UDM Certification Information
Autism Spectrum DisorderNo Child Left BehindSpecial Educaton Websites
Graphic Novels
This is the "Children's Lit" page of the "Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education  

Last Updated: Feb 9, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/education Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Children's Lit Print Page
  Search: 
 

Books & Authors (Gale)

  • Books & Authors
    Books & Authors brings ease, authority and fun to the question of “what do I read next?” It offers book suggestions from experts, titles, biographies and more.

    Today’s Web user may browse menus that easily broaden and narrow searches according to author, title, character, subject and other criteria. Children’s authors and books included.

    UDM students and Michigan residents with ID may use this database.

ALA Literature and Language

  • Great Websites for Kids
    Check out the websites under Literature and Languages. They include: Authors & Illustrators, Children's Book Awards, Expanding the Classics and more.
 

DRP Booklink

DRP bookLink: literature & popular titles
Call Number: PN 204 .D76 2005 CD-ROM
ISBN: 9781564971357
Publication Date: 2005
Find books that match your curriculum needs as well as student abilities and interests. Designed to identify books appropriate for reading abilities for all grade levels, interests, and ages. Fully annotated readability listings for more than 15,000 titles. Create a list for fiction or non-fiction books.

 

Newbery Award Winner 1972

Cover Art
One Fine Day - Nonny Hogrogian (Illustrator)
Call Number: PZ7.H6844On
ISBN: 0020436203
Publication Date: 1971
Awarded the Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished picture book of 1971 for grades PS-2, 27 pages.

"A fox walked through a forest and became very thirsty so he stopped to drink a pail of milk. The woman who owned the pail chopped his tail off and told him that he could have it back when he returned her milk. So he set off to find some milk but everyone that he asked for help was only willing to give it to him if he would do something for them.

First it was a cow, then the field, followed by the stream, the fair maiden, a peddler, a hen, and finally a miller. The miller felt sorry for him so he gave him the grain that the hen wanted and he started back.

Once he has delivered and picked up all of his promises he returned to the woman with a pail of milk. She in turn sewed his tail back on."

Children's Literature Comprehensive Database

  • Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
    This children's literature database provides books for children and young adults by grade level and reading level, and applicable includes a review of the title.


    This database is for UDM students who must authenticate using their TitanConnect username and password.

ICDL International Children's Digital Library

  • International Children's Digitial Library
    Read international and foreign language books free. According to the mission of the ICDL, "The ICDL Foundation's goal is to build a collection of books that represents outstanding historical and contemporary books from throughout the world.

    Ultimately, the Foundation aspires to have every culture and language represented so that every child can know and appreciate the riches of children's literature from the world community.

Michigan Authors and Illustrators Database

  • Michigan Authors and Illustators Database
    Use the database to find out about Michigan authors! You can look for non-fiction, poetry, mysteries, romance, children’s books and much more. You can find authors for presentations and visits.

Digital Library of America

  • Digital Public Library of America
    From the website: "Efforts led by a range of organizations, including the Library of Congress, HathiTrust, and the Internet Archive, have successfully built resources that provide books, images, historic records, and audiovisual materials to anyone with Internet access.

    The DPLA brings these different viewpoints, experiences, and collections together in a single platform and portal, providing open and coherent access to our society’s digitized cultural heritage."

    Explore

Internet Field Trips

  • Internet Field Trips
    From Scholastic, Inc, find "Internet Field Trips" on a variety of reading/language arts topics. Especially interesting is the Genre section including poetry, mysteries, plays, folktales, diaries, and more.

Brown Baby Reads

  • Brown Baby Reads
    "The children's book database is full of books that feature African American children as main characters and/or written by African American authors." There are sections for children, parents, and teachers.

Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site

  • Carol Hurst's Children's Literature Site
    "This is a collection of reviews of great books for kids, ideas of ways to use them in the classroom and collections of books and activities about particular subjects, curriculum areas, themes and professional topics."
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip