Clinical Nurse LeaderClinical Nurse SpecialistDoctor of Nursing PracticeFamily Nurse PractitionerHealth Systems ManagementNurse AnesthesiaNurse EducatorRN to BSN
This is the "Web Resources" page of the "Nursing " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nursing  

Last Updated: Oct 20, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/nursing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Web Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Medical Reference Resources

   Merriam-Webster’s medical desk dictionary

MediLexicon: Search medical abbreviations/acronyms, medical equipment & surgical instruments, medical news, ICD-9 and ICD9CM codes

Affordable Care Act and Health Insurance

Catholicism and Health Care

  • Catholic Health Initiatives
    Mission is to nurture the healing ministry of the Church, supported by education and research. Fidelity to the Gospel urges us to emphasize human dignity and social justice as we create healthier communities.
  • Catholic Health Association of the United States - CHA
    Catholic health care is a ministry of the Catholic Church continuing Jesus' mission of love and healing in the world today. The Catholic health ministry is the largest group of nonprofit health care providers in the nation.

Continuing Education

Cross-cultural / Minority Health Care

 

Electronic Preventive Services Selector (ePSS)

Add your patient's age, select the appropriate radio buttons, then click Submit.

General Nursing Sites

  • American Nurses Association
    ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.
  • National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN)
    Disseminates data and information related to licensure of nurses.
  • National League for Nursing
    The preferred membership organization for nurse faculty and leaders in nursing education.

Health Statistics

List includes sites for Workforce statistics.

Health Measurement Tools

  • American FactFinder
    Find popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community. Data is derived from several censuses and surveys.
  • APN Data Collection Toolkit | McMaster University
    A compendium of tools used in APN related research. Along with the name and reference of the tool are listed: Psychometric properties, other APN studies that have used the tool, author contact information, and where available, a PDF of the tool.
  • Books/eBooks
    Detroit Mercy Library has a few books and ebooks that contain nursing instruments.
  • Health Services and Sciences Research Resources | National Library of Medicine
    HSRR is a searchable database of information about research datasets, instruments/indices and software. It also includes URLs of providers for additional information or access to the resources. HSRR is not a repository of the actual resources.
  • SDSU Test Finder | San Diego State University
    Searches the SDSU Library Database of Tests, Instruments, Rating Scales, and Measures
  • Surveys and Tools | RAND Health
    All of the surveys from RAND Health are public documents, available without charge (for non-commercial purposes).
  • Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences (TMdb)
    An aid in locating known assessment instruments. Entries include only instrument title, author, date, & pages located in a larger compilation.
    After locating the test, see if UDM owns the resource containing the test.

Health Technology

History of Nursing

Medical Images

  • A.D.A.M. Medical Encyclopedia: MedlinePlus
    Includes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
  • Anatomy tv
    Detailed online interactive 3D model of the human anatomy. You are allowed to copy and use images for presentations and scholarly works.
  • Hardin MD
    Hardin Library for the Health Sciences, University of Iowa. Portal of medical images. Contains a "free to copy pictures" link for images that are not copyright protected.
  • Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) Collection
    Housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library, contains over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. Specific collections in HEAL include neuroscience, hematology, histology, and dermatology, among other subjects.
  • HONmedia
    Repository of over 6,800 medical images and videos, pertaining to 1,700 topics and themes. All images remain the property of their author; usage requires permission.
  • Images from the History of Medicine | NLM
  • Mediscan
    Specializes in medical, health, scientific and natural history images.
  • MedPix
    These online radiology images are offered as a public service by the departments of radiology and biomedical informatics at the Uniformed Services University in Bethesda, Maryland. Contributed content may be © copyrighted by the original author/contributor, and is used with their consent and permission. Contributed content may be © copyrighted by the original author/contributor, and is used with their consent and permission. Contributed content may be copyrighted by the original author/contributor, and is used with their consent and permission.
  • NCI Visuals Online
    From the collection of the National Cancer Institute. Images are labelled either for re-use or permission required. Collection includes biomedical, science, and patient-care related illustrations and images.
  • NIH Image Bank | National Institutes of Health
    Contains images from the collections of the 27 Institutes and Centers that comprise the National Institutes of Health. NIH images are available for use in the public domain. If you would like to use an image, please credit the National Institutes of Health
  • Open-i - Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine
  • Public Health Image Library (PHIL) | CDC
    Offers a searchable database of photos, illustrations, and videos.
  • PubMed Central (PMC)
    Search for images directly in PMC. PMC is the National Institutes of Health digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature.
  • Specimens - an album on Flickr
    Gross and microscopic images of pathology specimens taken by Ed Uthman, a practicing pathologist in Houston, TX. Contains over 930 images, all licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) license
  • Trauma.org | Images
    Website containing trauma images which are freely available for educational use with attribution.
  • Wellcome Images
    One of the world's richest and most unique collections, with themes ranging from medical and social history to contemporary healthcare and biomedical science.
  • Wikimedia Commons

Nursing Informatics

 

Patient Education

Medline Plus provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in easy to understand language. Site includes health videos on topics such as human anatomy, surgical procedures and health news, as well as interactive tutorials.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ): Contains links to information on staying healthy, choosing quality care, getting safer care, understanding diseases and conditions, and comparing medical treatments.

healthfinder.gov: An encyclopedia of over 1,600 health topics, health news, and personal health tools such as a health calculator, activity and menu planner, and more.

Lab Tests Online: Offers information about laboratory tests and how they are used.
University of Michigan Health System Patient Education Care Guides: Includes videos, websites and handouts created by Uof M clinicians as well as materials from other organizations that were reviewed and approved by U of M clinics and committees.
FamilyDoctor.org: info on conditions, healthy living, seniors, over the counter medicines.

Patient Safety

  • Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ) Patient Safety Network
    The AHRQ mission is to improve the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. Offers Health IT tools and health information management research.
  • MDCH - Patient Safety for Professionals
    Michigan Department of Community Health developed this site to educate and assist the general public and health professionals in Michigan about Patient Safety
  • Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority
    Authority that informs nurses on issues that can affect patient safety and presents strategies they can easily integrate into practice.
  • Quality and Patient Safety: AHRQ
    Multiple links to a variety of patient safety topics.
  • SafetyLit
    SafetyLit (short for safety literature) is a free database service of the SafetyLit Foundation in cooperation with San Diego State University and the World Health Organization. Contains more than 500,000 records and draws content from more than 16,000 professional journals of 30+ distinct professional disciplines.
  • U S Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
    Responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, effectiveness, and security of human and veterinary drugs, vaccines and other biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, dietary supplements, products that give off radiation, and regulating tobacco products.

Pharmacology Resources

  • DailyMed | National Library of Medicine
    Provides high quality information about marketed drugs. This information includes FDA labels (package inserts). The website provides a standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up and download resource of medication content and labeling as found in medication package inserts.
  • Dietary Supplement Label Database | Nat'l Library of Medicine
    Offers information about ingredients in more than two thousand selected brands of dietary supplements. It enables users to determine what ingredients are in specific brands and to compare ingredients. Information is also provided on the health benefits claimed, but not evaluated by the FDA, by manufacturers. Warnings and Recalls from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), related to specific ingredients and supplement brands have also been provided.
  • Drug Information Portal | Nat'l Library of Medicine
    Searches multiple government drug information sites at one. (DailyMed, Pillbox, MedlinePlus Drugs, AIDSinfo, LactMed, ClinicalTrials.gov, USA.gov, Drugs@FDA, and more)
  • Drugs.com
    Offers prescription drug, over the counter and natural product information, interaction checker, side effects, and a pill identifier. Data sources include Micromedex, Cerner Multum, Wolters Kluwer, and others.
  • Drugs@FDA
    Good resource for finding: labels for approved drug products, generic drug products for an innovator drug product, therapeutically equivalent drug products for an innovator or generic drug product, consumer information for drugs approved from 1998 on, all drugs with a specific active ingredient, and for viewing the approval history of a drug.
  • Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products | Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
    Provides evidence-based information about herbs, botanicals, supplements, and more.
  • LactMed | Nat'l Library of Medicine
    "Database of drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant. Statements of the American Academy of Pediatrics concerning a drug's compatibility with breastfeeding are provided, as are suggested therapeutic alternatives to those drugs where appropriate."
  • MedlinePlus: Drugs, Herbs and Supplements | Nat'l Library of Medicine
    Learn about prescription drugs and over-the-counter medicines. Includes side effects, dosage, special precautions, and more. You can also browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
  • Pillbox | Nat'l Library of Medicine
    This website enables rapid identification of unknown solid-dosage medications (tablets/capsules) based on physical characteristics and high-resolution images.Once a medication is identified, Pillbox provides links to drug information and drug labels.

Public Health

  • CDC WONDER
    Single point of access to a variety of public health reports and data, categorized by topic.
  • Emergency Preparedness and Response|CDC
    Contains information on prevention & planning, surveillance, training & education, and communications for bioterrorism, natural disasters, radiation emergencies, chemical emergencies, and more.
  • Healthy People 2020
  • Kaiser Family Foundation
    Health Policy Research, Analysis, Polling, Facts, Data and Journalism

    Foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the U.S., as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. Kaiser develops and runs its own research and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with other non-profit research organizations or major media companies.
  • National Center for Disaster Preparedness | NCDP
    Research, policy, and practice to enhance system readiness for disasters and explore strategies to improve disaster recovery.
  • National Preparedness | FEMA.gov
    Provides information to help understand what it means to be prepared and how to do it effectively.
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA)
    Food, Nutrition and Consumer Services (administer federal domestic nutrition assistance programs and the Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion, which links scientific research to the nutrition needs of consumers through science-based dietary guidance, nutrition policy coordination, and nutrition education)

    Food Safety (ensures that the Nation's commercial supply of meat, poultry, and egg products is safe, wholesome, and properly labeled and packaged)

    Research, Education and Economics (dedicated to the creation of a safe, sustainable, competitive U.S. food and fiber system, as well as strong communities, families, and youth through integrated research, analysis, and education)

    Rural Development (committed to helping improve the economy and quality of life in all of rural America by providing financial programs to support essential public facilities and services as water and sewer systems, housing, health clinics, emergency service facilities and electric a
  • U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
    Responsible for protecting the public health by assuring the safety, effectiveness, and security of human and veterinary drugs, vaccines and other biological products, medical devices, our nation’s food supply, cosmetics, dietary supplements, products that give off radiation, and regulating tobacco products.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip