Online Philosophy Encyclopedias
- In the Encyclopedia Judaica entry on Philosophy, Richard H. Popkin explains how Jewish philosophers contributed to the development of philosophy in different regions of the world starting in the 14th century. Try typing jewish ethics into the search box to learn about important ethical works and philosophers.
- Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy: This online encyclopedia includes L.E. Goodman's entry on Jewish Philosophy, an overview of Jewish philosophy and ethics, their history, and some of their strengths and weaknesses.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy: Search for individual philosophers or their contributions to specific philosophical movements and ethical theory.
Background Reading and Guides
- Jewish philosophy: perspectives and retrospectives (eBook), by Raphael Jospe and Dov Schwartz, Academic Studies Press, 2012
- The Jewish Philosophy Reader (eBook) , by Oliver Leaman, Daniel H. Frank and Charles H. Manekin, Routledge, 2000.
- "Jewish ethics" by Moshe Sokol in Encyclopedia of Ethics, Routledge, 2nd ed., 2001, pp. 909-915.
- "Judaism" by Oliver Leaman in The Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics, Academic Press, 1998, pp. 1-8. McNichols Library Reference Collection BJ 1546 .E5 1998
- History of Jewish Philosophy (eBook), by Oliver Leaman and Daniel H. Frank, Routledge, 1997.
- Jewish philosophy and philosophers, by Raymond Goldwater, Hillel Foundation, 1961. McNichols Library Stacks B 154 .J49 1962
- Philosophies of Judaism : the history of Jewish philosophy from Biblical times to Franz Rosenzweig, by Julius Guttmann, Holt, Rinehart & Winston, 1964. McNichols Library Stacks B 154 .G813