News Sources/AggregatorsBlogsGeneral Topic Sources
General ResourcesProstitutionIlllicit DrugsGambling
This is the "Illlicit Drugs" page of the "Selected Topics in Criminal Law-Seminar" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Selected Topics in Criminal Law-Seminar  

Last Updated: Aug 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/vice Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Illlicit Drugs Print Page
  Search: 
 

On the Web

  • Drugs and Crime Research--National Institute of Justice
    Be sure to check out the section on publications related to drugs, which contains 175 various publications written by and sponsored by the National Institute of Justice.
  • Drugs Prevention and Education--National Criminal Justice Reference Service
    Website is nicely organized to help researchers find specific resources on various topics. Researchers may find the Q/A section of the website helpful for locating current trends and issues in the area of drug prevention and education, or may be able to locate current publications on the topics as well. Don't forget to check out resources on specific types of drugs as well (see the left hand panel of the webpage).
  • Drug Crime--National Criminal Justice Reference Service
    Like other NCJRS webpages, this link allows researchers to choose from a variety of topics related to drug crime, including manufacturing, trafficking, possession, and drug-related crimes.
  • Office of National Drug Control Policy (White House)
    See topic coverage for issues such as prescription drug abuse, prevention, and special populations.
  • US Drug Enforcement Administration
    Researchers can locate statistical information, drug fact sheets, drug scheduling information, etc. Be sure to check out information on the DEA's latest programs, which can be found under the "Operations" tab.
  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration
    Congress established the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) in 1992 to make substance use and mental disorder information, services, and research more accessible. Researchers can find statistical information and other publications on the website.
  • The National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse (Columbia University)
    Website contains many articles written by CASAColumbia staff. Researchers can browse the article titles and other publications for relevant information. Please contact a member of the library staff if you need assistance in obtaining a particular resource.
 

Books from our Collection

Controlled Substances Benchbook - Michigan Judicial Institute
Call Number: Online Resource
Publication Date: 2011

Cover Art
Legalizing Marijuana - Rudolph J. Gerber
Call Number: HV5822.M3 G47 2004
ISBN: 0275974480
Publication Date: 2004
Highlights the failures of the government's war on marijuana, likening it to 1920s-style prohibition politics, and points to the need for citizen initiatives to change drug policy.

Cover Art
Privacy As a Constitutional Right: Sex, Drugs, and the Right to Life - Darien A. McWhirter; Jon D. Bible
Call Number: KF 1262 .M45 1992
ISBN: 0899306381
Publication Date: 1992
This book presents in understandable terms what the law of constitutional privacy is in the U.S. It deals with issues such as sex, abortion, drug testing, and the right to die. It provides a comprehensive discussion of the historical, philosophical, and legal foundations of the constitutional right to privacy.

Unequal under Law: Race in the War on Drugs - Doris Marie Provine
Call Number: KF 4755 .P76 2007
ISBN: 0226684601
Publication Date: 2007
Race is clearly a factor in government efforts to control dangerous drugs, but the precise ways that race affects drug laws remain difficult to pinpoint. Illuminating this elusive relationship,Unequal under Law lays out how decades of both manifest and latent racism helped shape a punitive U.S. drug policy whose onerous impact on racial minorities has been willfully ignored by Congress and the courts. Doris Marie Provine's engaging analysis traces the history of race in anti-drug efforts from the temperance movement of the early 1900s to the crack scare of the late twentieth century, showing how campaigns to criminalize drug use have always conjured images of feared minorities. Explaining how alarm over a threatening black drug trade fueled support in the 1980s for a mandatory minimum sentencing scheme of unprecedented severity, Provine contends that while our drug laws may no longer be racist by design, they remain racist in design. Moreover, their racial origins have long been ignored by every branch of government. This dangerous denial threatens our constitutional guarantee of equal protection of law and mutes a much-needed national discussion about institutionalized racism—a discussion that Unequal under Law promises to initiate.

Cover Art
Let's Get Free: A Hip Hop Theory of Justice - Paul Butler
ISBN: 1595583297
Publication Date: 2009
Paul Butler was an ambitious federal prosecutor, a Harvard graduate - until he was arrested for a crime he didn't commit. His stint on the other side of the law confirmed his belief that the legal system wasn't working. He gives an insider's view into the easiness with which people are imprisoned, a trend creating more crime than it prevents. Butler offers innovative methods for citizens to resist complicity and introduces the concept of jury nullification as a powerful protest to unjust laws. Chapter 3 is titled, "Justice on Drugs," and melds the author's personal experiences with additional contextual information including a brief history of the issue in the US.

Cover Art
Controlled Substances: Crime, Regulation, and Policy - Alex Kreit
Call Number: KF3885 .K74 2013
ISBN: 1594608717
Publication Date: 2013
Controlled Substances: Crime, Regulation, and Policy provides a comprehensive overview of the many fascinating issues of law and policy related the criminalization and regulation of illegal drugs. The book begins with materials on the debate about prohibition and its alternatives, with a particular focus on the modern "war on drugs" model of prohibition. After establishing this foundation, the book turns its attention to the drug laws themselves, taking an in depth look at controlled substances offenses, drug sentencing, and the investigation of drug crimes. The book then considers the body of administrative law that governs the classification of controlled substances and the use and distribution of controlled substance for medical purposes. Finally, the book concludes with an overview of international and comparative issues in drug law.

Cover Art
Drugs, Crime, and Violence: From Trafficking To Treatment - Howard Rahtz
Call Number: HV5801 .R34 2012
ISBN: 0761859675
Publication Date: 2012
Forty years ago, President Richard Nixon declared a war on drugs. Since that time, the country has incarcerated thousands of citizens and spent billions of dollars, and yet the drug problem rolls on. Today, the illegal drug market funds international terrorism, the horrific drug war on the Mexican border, and the senseless violence plaguing our communities, large and small. It is past time for a new direction. This book provides a drug policy framework that will choke off the revenue supporting the illegal drug market. Howard Rahtz outlines a series of drug policy steps buttressed by a historical review of drug policy measures, a review of international efforts against trafficking, and a clear understanding of the dynamics of addiction and its role in facilitating the illegal drug market.

Cover Art
Marijuana Legalization - Jonathan P. Caulkins; Mark A. R. Kleiman; Angela Hawken; Beau Kilmer
Call Number: HV5822.M3 C38 2012
ISBN: 0199913714
Publication Date: 2012
Should marijuana be legalized? The latest Gallup poll reports that exactly half of Americans say "yes"; opinion couldn't be more evenly divided. Marijuana is forbidden by international treaties and by national and local laws across the globe. But those laws are under challenge in several countries. In the U.S., there is no short-term prospect for changes in federal law, but sixteen states allow medical use and recent initiatives to legalize production and non-medical use garnered more than 40% support in four states. California's Proposition 19 nearly passed in 2010, and multiple states are expected to consider similar measures in the years to come. The debate and media coverage surrounding Proposition 19 reflected profound confusion, both about the current state of the world and about the likely effects of changes in the law. In addition, not all supporters of "legalization" agree on what it is they want to legalize: Just using marijuana? Growing it? Selling it? Advertising it? If sales are to be legal, what regulations and taxes should apply? Different forms of legalization might have very different results. Marijuana Legalization: What Everyone Needs to Know® will provide readers with a non-partisan primer about the topic, covering everything from the risks and benefits of using marijuana, to describing the current laws around the drug in the U.S. and abroad. The authors discuss the likely costs and benefits of legalization at the state and national levels and walk readers through the "middle ground" of policy options between prohibition and commercialized production. The authors also consider how marijuana legalization could personally impact parents, heavy users, medical users, drug traffickers, and employers. What Everyone Needs to Know® is a registered trademark of Oxford University Press.

Cover Art
Dealing with Drugs: Control, Prevention and Treament - Courtney M. Blanchard
Call Number: HV5825 .D43 2011
ISBN: 1612093493
Publication Date: 2011
Federal domestic drug control policy has evolved over the course of the past century and currently consists of a three-pronged approach to reducing illegal drug use: prevention, substance abuse treatment and enforcement activities. This book examines the war on drugs and drug enforcement efforts; the National Youth Anti-Drug Media Campaign; the background and effectiveness of the drug courts and the legal issues relating to the disposal of dispensed controlled substances.

Cover Art
Drugs in American Society - Erich Goode
Call Number: HV5825 .G66 2012
ISBN: 0078111544
Publication Date: 2012
Drugs in American Society is a sociological introduction to the use of psychoactive substances in the United States that takes the focus of attention on drug use out of the lab and into the street. Throughout the book, personal accounts tell the stories of drug use and the impact that it has on the lives of users. The book also contrasts the image of drugs in society, particularly in the news media, and the reality of drug use itself.

Cover Art
Blowing Smoke: Rethinking the War on Drugs Without Prohibition and Rehab - Michael J. Reznicek
Call Number: HV5825 .R49 2012
ISBN: 1442215143
Publication Date: 2012
Alcohol, opiates, cocaine and marijuana, among other drugs, have been used and abused for millennia. Prior to the disease model approach to drug addiction, which posits that addiction is a psychological and biological problem and that sufferers are victims, societies had a workable solution: let people consume what they want, and let informal cultural controls reinforce responsible behavior. Legal sanctions were reserved for any use that affected the safety of others. Blowing Smoke proposes an approach to the war on drugs that returns us to the pre-disease-model era. Dr. Reznicek asserts that addiction is not a medical problem to be treated in rehab or by prohibiting substance use. Rather, he debunks the disease model, arguing that it has exacerbated the problem by telling drug abusers that they are not responsible for their behavior, that they are sick, that they are not to blame. He skillfully argues for a new approach to drug use and abuse that requires a shift in the way we fight the war on drugs. Dr. Reznicek provides a new framework for understanding drug abuse: the habit model. Habits are practiced as long as they provide comfort, and are abandoned when they cause pain. The habit model is more consistent with current neuroscientific knowledge and it accounts for the widely observed phenomenon that most substance abusers don't change until they "hit bottom," the point where the consequences of drug use finally outweigh its benefits. Using the habit model, Dr. Reznicek suggests the solution to the drug problem is to turn back the clock, and to take lessons from societies that use social controls and consequences to deal with addiction and drug abuse. He recommends the legalization of drugs for adults, the implementation of social practices to dissuade abusers, and the end to the use of rehab as a way of handling addiction. Blowing Smoke shows how such an iconoclastic approach can work for us today.

LC Subject Headings

Try searching these headings in our catalog or in WorldCat for more resources.

  • Drugs of Abuse "Nation" (i.e., Drugs of Abuse United States)
  • Drugs of Abuse Government Policy
  • Drugs of Abuse Law and Legislation
  • Designer Drugs
  • Drug Abuse
  • Narcotics
  • Drug Control
  • Drug Courts
  • Drug Legalization
  • Drug Traffic
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip