This guide is a starting point for those interested in finding resources related to African American studies.
Trying to locate a specific article? If you have the reference or citation,
search for the journal title here.
- Academic OneFile
Academic OneFile is a major source of full-text articles 1980-date from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times 1985-date. Some audio files and broadcast transcripts from National Public Radio Programming are included. Updated daily.
- General OneFile
With coverage from 1980 to present for selected titles, this database contains more than 87 million records including wire services covering agriculture, general news, broadcast news, government, business press releases, industry topics, sports and current events; indexing of The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times and Christian Science Monitor; and general interest magazines, refereed academic journals, business publications, technology periodicals, and specialty titles in law, health care and computers.
- Black Thought and Culture
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. Particular care has been taken to index this material so that it can be searched more thoroughly than ever before. Where possible the complete published non-fiction works are included, as well as interviews, journal articles, speeches, essays, pamplets, letters and other fugitive material.
- Black Women Writers
Black Women Writers celebrates the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Offering fiction, poetry, and essays from three continents, the database gives an unparalleled view of black women's struggles through time. The database features over 104,729 pages.
- Diversity Studies Collection
This collection of over 150 journals supports social science, history and liberal arts coursework, focusing on cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.
Published by the American Theological Library Association, ATLAReligion is a comprehensive database of religious and theological scholarship. It includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from ATLA print indexes. Over 1650 journals are indexed and abstracted; 158 are available in full text. The database contains more than 1,600,000 records.
Full text of over 1,200 core academic journals in most disciplines. Coverage starts with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. An additional year of journals published is added annually. The Libraries own current paper issues of many titles in the collections.
- Project MUSE
Project Muse is a collection of 530 academic journals in the social sciences and humanities, initiated by Johns Hopkins University Press and the Milton Eisenhower Library at Johns Hopkins. Most titles start in 1997, and complement UDM's holdings in JSTOR.
- Sociology Collection
Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection includes the full-text of 36 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 50 years, encompassing over 12,700 articles. It covers such subjects as Childhood, Contemporary Sociology, Comparative Sociology, Consumer Culture, Classical Sociology, Ethnic Studies, Gender Studies, Leisure Studies, Social Theory, Sociology of Sport, and Sociology of Work and Employment (Labor Studies). The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article.