- American FactFinder
From the website: "The Census Bureau conducts nearly one hundred surveys and censuses every year. By law, no one is permitted to reveal information from these censuses and surveys that could identify any person, household, or business."
- BJS Bureau of Justice Statistics
From the website...The Bureau's mission is "to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded. "
- Facts on International Relations and Security Trends - FIRST
From the website: " FIRST contains high-quality, up-to-date and clearly documented information [for most countries of the world] in areas such as:
• conflicts, arms transfers and military expenditure
• hard facts on states and international organizations
• economic and social statistics
FedStats, available since 1997, provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.
- Vision of Humanity
Check out rankings for terrorism, global peace, and US, UK, and Mexico peace.
From the website: "Vision of Humanity is a strong proponent of the need to further study, advocate and act on peace. This website will focus on the major issues facing us in the 21st century and it is going to try and bring a balanced approach with factual information that is positive and solution based."
- ESOC Empirical Studies of Conflict
From the website: "The Empirical Studies of Conflict Project (ESOC) identifies, compiles, and analyzes micro-level conflict data and information on insurgency, civil war, and other sources of politically motivated violence worldwide."
- GTD Global Terrorism Database
While this is not an academic subscription database, you will find very pertinent information about terrorist attacks by group, including filterable statistics.
From the website: "The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2011 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 104,000 cases."
- Human Security Research Group
From the website: "The Human Security Report Project (HSRP) is an independent research centre affiliated with Simon Fraser University (SFU) in Vancouver, Canada.
The HSRP tracks global and regional trends in organized violence, their causes and consequences."
- Crime Solutions.gov
From the website: We created CrimeSolutions.gov to give practitioners and policymakers information about evidence-based programs and practices in criminal justice, juvenile justice, and crime victim services. It includes easily understandable ratings based on the evidence that indicates whether a program or practice achieves its goals. 11/14
- Campus Safety and Security Data Analysis Cutting Tool
From the website: " This analysis cutting tool was designed to provide rapid customized reports for public inquiries relating to campus crime and fire data. The data are drawn from the OPE Campus Safety and Security Statistics website database to which crime statistics and fire statistics (as of the 2010 data collection) are submitted annually, via a web-based data collection, by all postsecondary institutions that receive Title IV funding (i.e., those that participate in federal student aid programs)."
- Statistical Resources Online
From the website: "This research guide provides links to some of the best online sources for international statistical information. The resources have been reviewed and selected by Library Network research librarians for use by World Bank Group and IMF staff.
Most are free Internet resources, but we have also included commercial databases accessible through paid site licences, with access restricted to IMF and/or Bank Group staff on an institution-wide basis."
- US Census Bureau
This is the official U.S. Census Bureau website, providing information about the 2010 census with access to older census data.
Included are anonymous data from many social, financial and medical studies that are conducted by the Bureau of the Census.
- USA.gov Data and Statistics
Search USA.gov for statistics on agriculture, climate, education, engergy, finance, health, public safety, science and research, and more.l
- UNESCO Institute of Statistics
From the website: "The UIS publishes a broad range of publications, including analytical reports, technical papers and statistical frameworks.
The majority of publications focus on education issues, reflecting the breadth of related statistics and indicators in the UIS database. There is also a growing number of titles featuring UIS data and analysis in the fields of science and technology, culture as well as communication."
- United Nations Statistics Division
From the website: "[The United Nations Statistics Division] provides a global centre for data on international trade, national accounts, energy, industry, environment and demographic and social statistics gathered from national and international sources."