Trying to locate a specific article? If you have the reference or citation,
search for the journal title here.
- SAGE Journals Online
SAGE Journals Online includes the full-text of peer reviewed journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 24 years, encompassing over 18,000 articles. It covers such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, Forensic Psychology, and Family and Domestic Violence.
It also includes articles from the health sciences, humanities, engineering and life sciences all in one large database.
The searchable database consists of bibliographic records (indexed summaries or abstracts) as well as the complete text of each journal article. Every bibliographic record in the Collection links to the appropriate full-text in PDF format.
- ProQuest Criminal Justice
ProQuest Criminal Justice provides information on the research of crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, litigation and crime trends. Included are U.S. and international scholarly journals on correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material for researchers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)
Established in 1972, the National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) is a federally funded resource offering justice and drug-related information to support research, policy, and program development worldwide. Currently there are summaries of more than 215,000 justice and substance abuse resources. Many of the articles are available full text from other UDM databases.
- Homeland Security Digital Library
You MUST request an individual account to access this database or seek assistance from the McNichols librarians.
From the website: "We invite all homeland security officials and academics to utilize the HSDL for research, analysis, and policy and strategy development. Library access is offered to U.S. citizens who are: Federal, state, tribal, and local government officials, Members of the U.S. military, Homeland security researchers and academics, Security staff protecting organizations vital to U.S. infrastructure"
LexisNexis Academic is an interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 45,000 legal, news and business sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
JStor provides full text and scholarly articles in the following disciplines: Area Studies, Arts, Business and Economics, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine and Allied Health, Science and Mathematics, and Social Sciences. Coverage begins with the first issue published, and continues, ending 3-5 years before the current year. An additional year of journals published is added annually.
PsycInfo is produced by the American Psychological Association and provides abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books and dissertations. Ninety-nine percent of the 3.3 million citations and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s are peer-reviewed. Journal coverage, from 1800s to present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
- Wiley Online
Click Law & Criminology, click Criminology. Full text is available from at least 2001 (except for new journals) and may go back to the 1970s. Volumes available through UDM are preceded by an OPEN PADLOCK icon.
- GTD Global Terrorism Database
While this is not an academic subscription database, you will find very pertinent information about terrorist attacks by group, including filterable statistics.
From the website: "The Global Terrorism Database (GTD) is an open-source database including information on terrorist events around the world from 1970 through 2011 (with annual updates planned for the future). Unlike many other event databases, the GTD includes systematic data on domestic as well as international terrorist incidents that have occurred during this time period and now includes more than 104,000 cases."
- Chicago Project on Security and Terrorism - Suicide Attack Database
From the website: "The Chicago Project maintains a complete worldwide knowledge base of suicide attacks and attackers, martyr videos, terrorist group profiles, and multidisciplinary analyses confronting core international security challenges."
It is a "a searchable database on all suicide attacks from 1982 to May, 2015."