This is the "Books, eBooks, DVD's" page of the "Play Therapy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Play Therapy  

Last Updated: Sep 27, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/playtherapy Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books, eBooks, DVD's Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Print Books

Cover Art
Play Therapy - Virginia M. Axline
Call Number: RJ 505 .P6 A94 1969
ISBN: 9780345303356
Publication Date: 1969
Here is an intensely practical book that gives specific illustrations of how therapy can be implemented in play contacts, and tells how the toys of the playroom can be vivid performers and aids in growth. Dr. Axline has taken true case histories from the rich mine of verbatim case material of children referred for play therapy, choosing children ranging in age, problem, and personality. It's all here in an important and rewarding book for parents, teachers, and anyone who comes in contact with children.

Cover Art
Short-Term Play Therapy for Children - Heidi Gerard Kaduson (Editor); Charles E. Schaefer (Editor)
Call Number: RJ 505 .P6 S53 2015
ISBN: 9781462527847
Publication Date: 2016-06-29
Illustrated with rich case examples, this widely used practitioner resource and text presents a range of play approaches that facilitate healing in a shorter time frame. Leading play therapists from diverse theoretical orientations show how to tailor brief interventions to each child's needs.

Cover Art
Play Therapy with Vulnerable Populations - Eric J. Green (Editor); Terry Kottman (Contribution by); Kristin K. Meany-Walen (Contribution by); Julia A. Mitchell (Contribution by); Judith A. Parson (Contribution by); Eileen Prendiville (Contribution by); Janine Shelby (Contribution by); Cynthia C. S
ISBN: 9781442232525
Publication Date: 2014-12-11
While many books and current research in the field of child psychotherapy focus on typical psychiatric conditions faced by children and the associated treatments for those conditions, there is a paucity of information on treating vulnerable demographics and unique child populations. These include, but are not limited to, children affected by natural disasters, complex trauma, and obsessive-compulsive disorder. Play Therapy with Vulnerable Populations: No Child Forgotten provides the latest research-supported, play-based interventions for clinicians to utilize with these children.

Cover Art
Direct Work with Vulnerable Children : Playful Activities and Strategies for Communication - Audrey Tait; Helen Wosu; Brigid Daniel (Foreword by)
Call Number: HV 713 .T28 2013
ISBN: 1849053197
Publication Date: 2012-12-15
For many vulnerable children, the idea of talking to an adult about their experiences and feelings can be a daunting prospect. This book demonstrates how the introduction of playfulness when working with neglected or abused children helps to build a trusting relationship by openly engaging with the child's world.

Cover Art
Play Therapy with Children in Crisis - Nancy Boyd Webb (Editor); Lenore C. Terr (Foreword by)
Call Number: RJ 505 .P6 P56 2007
ISBN: 9781593854959
Publication Date: 2007-08-16
This widely adopted casebook and text presents effective, creative approaches to helping children who have experienced such stressful situations as parental death or divorce, abuse and neglect, violence in the school or community, and natural disasters.

Cover Art
Contemporary Play Therapy - Charles E. Schaefer (Editor); Heidi Gerard Kaduson (Editor)
Call Number: RJ 505 .P6 C67 2006
ISBN: 9781593853044
Publication Date: 2006-07-10
This book presents current developments in play therapy, including innovative applications for particular problems and populations. The latest ideas and techniques emerging from object relations, experiential, dynamic, and narrative perspectives are discussed. Next, research evaluating the effectiveness of play interventions is reviewed in detail. The book's third and largest section demonstrates creative approaches for helping children deal with a variety of adverse circumstances: homelessness, family problems, sexual abuse, social aggression, natural disasters, and more.

Cover Art
Handbook of Preschool Mental Health - Joan L. Luby (Editor)
Call Number: RJ 499 .H36 2006
ISBN: 9781593853136
Publication Date: 2006-07-10
This volume comprehensively explores the development of psychiatric disorders in 2- to 6-year-olds, detailing how the growing empirical knowledge base may lead to improved interventions for young children and their families.

Cover Art
101 Favorite Play Therapy Techniques - Heidi Kaduson (Editor); Charles Schaefer (Editor)
Call Number: RJ 505 .P6 A14 1997
ISBN: 0765700409
Publication Date: 2002-12-01
Building on children's natural inclinations to pretend and reenact, play therapy is widely used in the treatment of psychological problems in childhood. 101 Favorite Play Therapy Techniques incorporates methods developed to elicit the best responses

Cover Art
Play Therapy: A Comprehensive Guide - O'Dessie O. James
Call Number: RJ 505 .P6 J35 1997
ISBN: 0765700522
Publication Date: 1997-07-01
This book, reviews the literature on theoretical, technical, and practical considerations in the play therapy arena. It will advance the learning curve of the professional at every level of development.

Cover Art
Handbook of Play Therapy - Charles E. Schaefer; Kevin J. O'Connor
Call Number: RJ 505 .P6 H23 1983
ISBN: 0471094625
Publication Date: 1983-01-21
This volume provides coverage with 18 chapters in four parts organized in sections as: Theoretical Approaches to the Practice of Play Therapy, Developmental Adaptations of Play Therapy, Play Therapy Techniques & Methods, & Play Therapy Applications.

 

Electronic Books

Cover Art
The Therapeutic Powers of Play - Charles E. Schaefer; Athena A. Drewes
ISBN: 9781118336878
Publication Date: 2013-09-16
A practical look at how play therapy can promote mental health wellness in children and adolescents Revised and expanded, The Therapeutic Powers of Play, Second Edition explores the powerful effects that play therapy has on different areas within a child or adolescent's life: communication, emotion regulation, relationship enhancement, and personal strengths.

Cover Art
Play Therapy: Basics and Beyond - Kottman; Terry Kottman
ISBN: 9781556203053
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Written for use in play therapy and child counseling courses, this extraordinarily practical text provides a detailed examination of basic and advanced play therapy concepts and skills and guidance on when and how to use them.

Cover Art
Play for Sick Children: Play Specialists in Hospitals and Beyond - Catherine Hubbuck
ISBN: 184310654X
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Play for Sick Children offers a unique insight into the crucial work of the play specialist. It examines the repercussions of being ill and receiving treatment experienced by children and their families, and highlights the importance of receiving quality play opportunities to counter these negative effects.

Cover Art
Play Therapy with Abused Children - Ann Cattanach
ISBN: 184310587X
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
This second edition of Ann Cattanach's book explores the use of play therapy with abused children as a way of helping them heal their distress and make sense of their experiences through expanding their own creativity in play. The book provides practical ways of starting play therapy with abused children and explains how the child can use this process for healing.

Cover Art
If You Turned into a Monster: Transformation through Play: A Body-Centred Approach to Play Therapy - Dennis McCarthy
ISBN: 1843105292
Publication Date: 2007-06-28
Dennis McCarthy's work with distressed or traumatized children begins with an exercise that is simple but very effective: he invites the child to communicate with him in their own way, through the non-verbal language of play. Using case studies from his clinical experience and with numerous children's monster drawings, McCarthy lets the meaningful self-expression of the child take center stage. He demonstrates that being allowed to play, move and draw impulsively and creatively in the supportive presence of the therapist is in fact the beginning of the therapeutic process.

Cover Art
Using Superheroes in Counseling and Play Therapy - Lawrence C. Rubin
Call Number: RJ 505 .P6 U85 2007
ISBN: 0826102697
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Also available in print. This book takes a dynamic tour of the benefits of using icons of popular culture and fantasy in counseling and play therapy. Not only can superheroes assist in clinical work with children, but they can facilitate growth and change with teen and adults. Also available at the UDM library in print.

Cover Art
Short-Term Play Therapy for Children - Heidi Gerard Kaduson (Editor); Charles E. Schaefer (Editor)
ISBN: 9781593853303
Publication Date: 2006-08-17
Now in a thoroughly revised and updated second edition, this volume presents a variety of play approaches that facilitate children's healing in a shorter time frame. Invaluable for clinicians working within managed care and all those seeking to optimize limited time with clients, the book describes effective methods for individual, family, and group treatment of children struggling with specific disorders and life challenges.

Cover Art
The Handbook of Gestalt Play Therapy - Rinda Blom
ISBN: 1843104598
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
This book is an introduction to gestalt play therapy a technique which combines the principles of gestalt theory with play techniques, so that children are able to use play to address their needs and problems.

Cover Art
Profiles of Play - Saralea E. Chazan
ISBN: 1843107031
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
This practical text provides a template for interpreting change and meaning in children's lives through their play activity. It shows how each child's pattern of play has a distinct profile of measurable features. Real-life examples are included.

Cover Art
The Handbook of Play Therapy - Linnet McMahon
ISBN: 0203359313
Publication Date: 1992-07-01
A comprehensive introduction to the theory and practice of play therapy. It provides a practical guide to the basic skills necessary to tap the healing potential of play and gives many examples of good practice.

DVD's/Videos

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip