Have questions regarding RefWorks? Contact us for help.
McNichols Library: 313-993-1071
Dental Library: 313-494-6900
Create a Simple Reference List
In RefWorks you can create a bibliography from a list of references, without creating a document. This reference list may contain your entire database, the references in your My List area or you can select a specific folder from which to create the bibliography.
In the Create section of the Bibliography area of RefWorks you can generate a reference list in your desired style, using all the references in a particular folder. You can use this to preview your finished list of references, or simply generate a list to copy and paste into your document.
Note: RefWorks will store the last 10 output styles you have used to generate a reference list or bibliography at the top of the output-style drop-down for easy access.
To create a bibliography from a specific folder or the entire database:
Click the Bibliography menu and select Create.
Under Output Style, select the appropriate style.
Click Format a Bibliography from a List of References (if this area is not already expanded).
Under File Type, select the file format you wish to create (Text, HTML, RTF (Rich Text), Word for Windows (2000 or later, or Word for Mac (98 or later) or OpenOffice (.odt).
Under Reference to Include, select All References, My List or References from <folder name>
Click Create Bibliography.
Follow your browser's instructions for viewing the file and be sure to save the document to your computer before closing.
Note: When generating a Reference List from the Bibliography area, the final output is sorted based on the output style you have chosen. If the output style is based on the order cited in a document, since there is no document, it defaults to alphabetical by first author.
Email it: After the bibliography is created you may also email the list. The email address in your RefWorks account is automatically entered, but you can overwrite it with another address. Only one email address can be entered.