This is the "Getting Information into RefWorks" page of the "RefWorks" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

RefWorks  

Last Updated: Feb 10, 2016 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=461803 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Getting Information into RefWorks Print Page
  Search: 
 

Need Help?

Have questions regarding RefWorks?   Contact  us  for help.

McNichols Library: 313-993-1071

Dental Library: 313-494-6900

 

Data Vendor Import Instructions

RefWorks supports hundreds of databases provided by numerous data vendors. Import filter development is an ongoing process and new filters are being added continually. For a complete up-to-date list of import filters, click here.

For detailed import instructions for many data vendors, click here.

How do I bring my research information into my database?

There are six ways to build your database in RefWorks:

We recommend that before you even start creating your database, spend some time thinking about how you want to organize your data. The two most convenient ways to find references quickly are searching and viewing folders. You might want to organize the data by creating folders for specific topics, assigning descriptors (keywords) to references as you add them to the database, or some combination of both. For example, you could create a folder for each class you are taking; e.g., Child Psychology and Business Management. In the first instance you would select View Folder and then the folder name from the View menu to find all references for a particular class (or click on the hyper-linked folder name displayed with a reference from your search results or in the Standard View). If you do not want to set up folders, you could use Child Psychology and Business Management as descriptors to organize the data. In this, you would select By Descriptor from the Search menu option where you can search and locate all references organized by descriptors.  

How you organize, to a large extent, depends on how large you expect the database to be. Using the example above, if you believe that your database will contain many references in both areas and include descriptors such as "training requirements" or "motivation" it is best to set up separate folders. By doing this, you can use Advanced Search to search for the specific descriptor "motivation" in the Child Psychology folder, avoiding any references to Business Management.

You could accomplish similar results by adding all of the terms to the descriptor field and creating a search by using "Boolean" connectors. The use of folders, however, adds another level to your search strategy. For details, see Advanced Search.

      
     

    Video Tutorial: Adding References to RefWorks Using Direct Export

     

    Video Tutorial: Adding References to RefWorks by Importing Text Files - PubMed Example

     

    Video Tutorial: Adding References to RefWorks by Manual Entry

     

    Video Tutorial: Adding References to RefWorks by Searching Online Catalogs or Databases

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip