This is the "Style Manuals" page of the "References" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

References  

This page will help you reference or cite works in your research.
Last Updated: Oct 12, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=452239 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Style Manuals Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in UDM's Catalog

Cover Art
The ACS Style Guide - Lorrin R. Garson (Editor); Anne M. Coghill (Editor)
Call Number: QD 8.5 .A25 2006
ISBN: 9780841239999
Publication Date: 2006-07-20
In the time since the second edition ofThe ACS Style Guidewas published, the rapid growth of electronic communication has dramatically changed the scientific, technical, and medical (STM) publication world. This dynamic mode of dissemination is enabling scientists, engineers, and medical practitioners all over the world to obtain and transmit information quickly and easily. An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. This extensive revision ofThe ACS Style Guidethoroughly examines electronic tools now available to assist STM writers in preparing manuscripts and communicating with publishers. Valuable updates include discussions of markup languages, citation of electronic sources, online submission of manuscripts, and preparation of figures, tables, and structures. In keeping current with the changing environment, this edition also contains references to many resources on the internet. With this wealth of new information,The ACS Style Guide'sThird Edition continues its long tradition of providing invaluable insight on ethics in scientific communication, the editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style for any STM author, reviewer, or editor. The Third Edition is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts.

Cover Art
APA Style Simplified - Bernard C. Beins
Call Number: BF 76.7 .B447 2012
ISBN: 9780470671238
Publication Date: 2012-05-15
This is a compact but comprehensive guide to writing clearly and effectively in APA style. * Demonstrates how to write objective scientific research papers using interesting prose * Incorporates guidelines from the 6th edition of the APA publication manual * Explores how to develop ideas, connect them to what others have written, and express them clearly * Discusses the differences between written, oral, and poster presentations and offers instructions for applying APA style to each

Cover Art
The Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law - Norm Goldstein
Call Number: PN 4783 .A83 2002
ISBN: 0738207403
Publication Date: 2002
More people write for the Associated Press than for any newspaper in the world, and more writers --over 1,750,000--have bought The AP Stylebook than any other journalism reference. It provides facts and references for reporters, and defines usage, spelling, and grammar for editors. There are separate sections for journalists specializing in sports and business, and complete guidelines for how to write photo captions, proofread text, file copy over the wire, handle copyrights, and avoid libel. This new edition of the Stylebook has been fully updated with fifty new entries and revisions to more than one hundred others in order to keep pace with world events, common usage, and Associated Press procedures. More than 1.7 million copies sold

Cover Art
The Chicago Manual of Style - University of Chicago Staff (Editor)
Call Number: Ref Z 253 .U69 2010
ISBN: 9780226104201
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
The Sixteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription website. The same content fromThe Chicago Manual of Styleis in both versions. While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true:The Chicago Manual of Styleis the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today. Though processes may change, theManualcontinues to offer the clear, well-considered style and usage advice it has for more than a century. The sixteenth edition offers expanded information on producing electronic publications, including web-based content and e-books. An updated appendix on production and digital technology demystifies the process of electronic workflow and offers a primer on the use of XML markup, and a revised glossary includes a host of terms associated with electronic as well as print publishing. The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources. Figures and tables are updated throughout the book—including a return to theManual’s popular hyphenation table and new, comprehensive listings of Unicode numbers for special characters. With the wisdom of a hundred years of editorial practice and a wealth of industry expertise from both Chicago’s staff and an advisory board of publishing professionals,The Chicago Manual of Style,16th edition, is an invaluable resource in this rapidly changing world. If you work with words—no matter what the delivery medium—this is the one reference you simply must have.

Citing Medicine: The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers - Patrias, Karen
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2007
You must log into the ebrary database to access this book from off campus.

Columbia Guide to Online Style - Walker, Janice r.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2006

Cover Art
Concise Rules of APA Style - American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: BF 76.7 .C66 2010
ISBN: 9781433805608
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The Concise Rules of APA Style, Sixth Edition offers essential writing and formatting standards for students, teachers, researchers, and clinicians in the social and behavioral sciences. This easy-to-use pocket guide, compiled from the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, provides complete guidance on the rules of style that are critical for clear communication. Readers will learn how to avoid the grammatical errors most commonly reported by journal editors; how to choose the appropriate format for statistics, figures, and tables; how to credit sources and avoid charges of plagiarism; and how to construct a reference list through a wide variety of examples and sources. In addition to guidance on grammar points that have challenged writers in the social sciences, the Concise Rules provides suggestions for reducing bias in language; reviews the mechanics of style for punctuation, spelling, capitalization, abbreviation, italicization, headings, and quotations; examines the preferred use of numbers as well as standards for metrication and statistics; provides guidance on the construction and formatting of tables, figures, and appendixes; and offers clear examples and models for citing sources and constructing error-free reference lists. How does the Concise Rules differ from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association? The Publication Manual remains the best source for broad background information about scientific publishing. It provides detailed guidance on publication ethics, journal article reporting standards, and the process of journal publication. The Concise Rules, by comparison, targets only those rules writers need for choosing the best words and format for their articles. It offers a comprehensive list of essential writing standards in a convenient, easily retrievable format. Available in a light-weight, spiral-bound format, the Concise Rules will travel

Cover Art
Health Professionals Style Manual - Barbara J. Nerone; Shirley Fondiller
Call Number: R 119 .F66 2007
ISBN: 0826102077
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
"This book] is a guide to improving writing, with a major focus on demonstrating proper English grammar and composition .This is a must have reference to be kept at the writers side." Score:100, 5 stars --"Doodys" Now you can learn and apply the basic principles of writing style, composition, grammar, word usage, and misusage, to the field of health care. With the "Health Professionals Style Manual" you will learn to improve your message and communicate more effectively. With up-to-date resources and references, these are just some of the rules and tools you will learn to use in your own writing: Style and Substance Art of Effective Writing Tips and Pitfalls Redundancies, Euphemisms, and Cliches Computers and the Internet Common Abbreviations and Acronyms Commonly Misspelled Words Using Prefixes and Suffixes Common Proofreaders Marks Electronic Resources If youre a researcher, student or professional specializing in the health related professions, this new, handy guide will help you improve your writing style and hone your grammar and word usage skills.

Cover Art
The Hollywood Standard - Christopher Riley
Call Number: PN 1996 .R48 2005
ISBN: 1932907017
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Finally a script format guide that is accurate, complete, authoritative and easy to use, written by Hollywood's foremost authority on industry standard script formats.

Cover Art
Manual of Style - American Medical Association Staff; Cheryl Iverson
Call Number: Dental Library R 119 .A533 1998
ISBN: 0683402064
Publication Date: 1997
The latest edition features an expanded chapter on legal and ethical concerns in publishing. Readers will also find an extensive chapter on statistics, a completely updated chapter on nomenclature, new policies for eponyms and numbers styles, a larger references section, an expanded discussion of inclusive language and abbreviations, and a larger section on figures and tables. A new section on typography is also featured, along with current information on electronic publishing, encompassing rapid changes affecting the publishing environment. End-of-chapter references make the book easier to use, and the entire text is reviewed by more than 70 editors for accuracy and dependability.

Cover Art
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing - Joseph Gibaldi; Herbert Lindenberger (Introduction by)
Call Number: Reference Desk PN 147 .G444 1998
ISBN: 0873526996
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
Since its publication in 1985, the "MLA Style Manual" has been the standard guide for graduate students, teachers, and scholars in the humanities and for professional writers in many fields. Extensively reorganized and revised, the new edition contains several added sections and updated guidelines on citing electronic works--including materials found on the World Wide Web.

Cover Art
Political Science Student Writer's Manual - Gregory M. Scott; Stephen M. Garrison
Call Number: JA 86 .S39 2006
ISBN: 9780131892590
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
This comprehensive, practical writer's manual is designed to helpreaders accomplish two goals: 1) improve their writing skills and strategies and 2) learn political science at the same time. The manual considers the different types of papers common to political science at all levels, at the introductory level, and at the advanced level-exploring the purposes and characteristics of each paper, the steps for writing a successful paper, and typical formats. The volume provides a handbook of style for political science, guide to distance learning and the Internet and writing assignments for all levels. For those interested in improving the political science writing.

Cover Art
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association - American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: BF 76.7 .P83 2010
ISBN: 9781433805615
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences, this updated "Publication Manual" provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias.

Cover Art
Reporting Research in Psychology - Harris M. Cooper
Call Number: BF 76.8 .C66 2011
ISBN: 9781433809163
Publication Date: 2010-12-15
Reporting Research in Psychology provides practical guidance on understanding and implementing journal article reporting standards (JARS) and meta-analyses reporting standards (MARS). Described for the first time in the sixth edition of the Publication Manual, these standards were designed to make the reporting of results both comprehensive and uniform Reporting standards, now widely used in the behavioral, social, educational, and medical sciences, provide transparency to the research process and make the generalization of results across studies more precise. In this book, Harris Cooper includes carefully chosen examples from articles published in APA journals that illustrate how JARS and MARS can be incorporated into various types of research studies, with engaging and helpful commentaries on each item. This book fills an important gap in the literature and is essential reading for undergraduate students in research methods classes as well as graduate students and early career researchers.

Cover Art
Scientific Style and Format - Council of Science Editors, Style Manual Committee Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: T 11 .S386 2006
ISBN: 9780977966509
Publication Date: 2006-04-01

Cover Art
A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistry - Jan A. Pechenik; Holly B. Davis; Julian F. Tyson
Call Number: QD 8.5 .D38 2010
ISBN: 9780205550609
Publication Date: 2009-12-15
This writing guide, by the author of Pearson’s best-sellingShort Guide to Writing about Biologyalong with two well-known chemists, teaches students to think as chemists and to express ideas clearly and concisely through their writing.                Providing students with the tools they'll need to be successful writers,A Short Guide to Writing about Chemistryemphasizes writing as a way of examining, evaluating, and sharing ideas. The book teaches readers how to read critically, study, evaluate and report data, and how to communicate information clearly and logically.   Students are also given detailed advice on locating, evaluating, and citing useful sources within the discipli≠ maintaining effective laboratory notebooks and writing laboratory reports; writing effective research proposals and reports; and communicating information to both professional and general audiences.

Cover Art
The Sociology Student Writer's Manual - William A. Johnson; Richard P. Rettig; Gregory M. Scott; Stephen M. Garrison
Call Number: HM 585 .S638 2004
ISBN: 0131113887
Publication Date: 2003-10-14
The most comprehensive book available that deals "specifically" with writing sociology papers, this updated" reference/manual helps users learn how to research and write in sociology, and how to improve their writing ability in general. Based on the authors' "extensive" experience in teaching a variety of sociology courses, it combines the latest sociological research and writing techniques with a broad spectrum of writing activities. It gives specific directions for writing a variety of papers in sociology--from introductory to advanced--while also providing instructions on how to write and how to format the paper and cite sources following the American Sociological Association's guidelines. The manual gives users the guidance they need to tackle projects of all complexities. The author details writing as communication, writing competently, formats, sources, conducting research in sociology, and how to write different types of sociology papers. For those interested in writing in a sociological framework.

Cover Art
A Student Handbook for Writing in Biology - Karin Knisely
Call Number: QH 304 .K59 2009
ISBN: 9781429234917
Publication Date: 2009-04-10
This book provides practical advice to students who are learning to write according to the conventions in biology. Using the standards of journal publication as a model, the author provides, in a user-friendly format, specific instructions on: using biology databases to locate references; developing sound reading strategies; paraphrasing for improved comprehension; writing for a particular audience with the appropriate tone; preparing lab reports or scientific papers, posters, and oral presentations with accepted format and content; self-evaluating drafts; using peer and instructor feedback for professional development; and preparing oral presentations in PowerPoint.

Cover Art
Student's Guide to Writing College Papers - Kate L. Turabian; Gregory G. Colomb (Editor); Joseph M. Williams (Editor); University of Chicago Press Staff (Editor)
Call Number: LB 2369 .T8 2010
ISBN: 9780226816319
Publication Date: 2010-04-15
High school students, two-year college students, and university students all need to know how to write a well-reasoned, coherent research paper—and for decades Kate Turabian’sStudent’s Guide to Writing College Papershas helped them to develop this critical skill. In the new fourth edition of Turabian’s popular guide, the team behind Chicago’s widely respectedThe Craft of Researchhas reconceived and renewed this classic for today’s generation. Designed for less advanced writers than Turabian’sManual of Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Seventh Edition, Gregory G. Colomb and Joseph M. Williams here introduce students to the art of defining a topic, doing high-quality research with limited resources, and writing an engaging and solid college paper. TheStudent’s Guideis organized into three sections that lead students through the process of developing and revising a paper. Part 1, "Writing Your Paper," guides students through the research process with discussions of choosing and developing a topic, validating sources, planning arguments, writing drafts, avoiding plagiarism, and presenting evidence in tables and figures. Part 2, "Citing Sources," begins with a succinct introduction to why citation is important and includes sections on the three major styles students might encounter in their work—Chicago, MLA, and APA—all with full coverage of electronic source citation. Part 3, "Style," covers all matters of style important to writers of college papers, from punctuation to spelling to presenting titles, names, and numbers. With the authority and clarity long associated with the name Turabian, the fourth edition ofStudent’s Guide to Writing College Papersis both a solid introduction to the research process and a convenient handbook to the best practices of writing college papers. Classroom tested and filled with relevant examples and tips, this is a reference that students, and their teachers, will turn to again and again.

Cover Art
AMA Manual of Style - Cheryl Iverson (Editor); Stacy Christiansen (Editor); Annette Flanagin (Editor); JAMA and Archives Journals Staff (Editor)
Call Number: R 119 .A533 2007
ISBN: 0195176332
Publication Date: 2007
For decades indispensable, the AMA Manual of Style continues to provide editorial support to the medical and scientific publishing community. Since the 1998 publication of the 9th edition, however, the world of medical publishing has rapidly modernized, and the intersection of research and publishing has become ever more complex. The 10th edition of the AMA Manual of Style, to be published in early 2007, brings this definitive manual into the 21st century with a broadened international perspective. In doing so, the 10th edition has expanded its electronic guidelines, with the understanding that authors now routinely submit articles through online systems and often cite Web-only content. Ethical and legal issues receive increased attention, with detailed guidelines on authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, and the protection of individuals' rights in scientific research and publication. The new edition examines research ethics and editorial independence and features new material on indexing and searching as well as medical nomenclature. JAMA and the Archives Journals, one of the most respected groups of medical publications in the world, have lent their expert staff of professional journal editors, half of whom are physicians, to the committee that has produced this edition. Extensively peer-reviewed, the forthcoming 10th edition will provide a welcome and improved standard for the growing international medical community. More than a style manual, this 10th edition offers invaluable guidance on how to navigate the dilemmas that authors and researchers and their institutions, medical editors and publishers, and members of the news media who cover scientific research confront in a society that has thrust these issues center stage.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
George Libbey
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip