Books and EbooksWeb ResourcesPrimary Sources
This is the "Books and Ebooks" page of the "Judaism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Judaism  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/judaism Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Books and Ebooks Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

Cover Art
The Holocaust Encyclopedia - Walter Laqueur (Editor); Judith Tydor Baumel
ISBN: 0300084323
Publication Date: 2001-03-29
This reference text provides an overview of the Holocaust and information on major events and policy decisions. Scholars from different countries provide studies on the political, social, religious and moral issues of the Holocaust.

Encyclopedia of the Holocaust - Israel Gutman (Editor)
Call Number: D 804.3 .E53 1990
ISBN: 0028960904
Publication Date: 1989-10-01
4 volume set.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Holocaust Literature - David Patterson (Editor); Alan L. Berger (Editor); Sarita Cargas (Editor)
Call Number: PN 56 .H55 E53 2002
ISBN: 1573562572
Publication Date: 2002-03-30
In Reference.

Cover Art
Dictionary of the Holocaust - Philip E. Rosen; Eric Joseph Epstein
Call Number: D 804.25 .E67 1997
ISBN: 031330355X
Publication Date: 1997-11-30
This concise, easy-to-use resource on the Holocaust is rich in factual and statistical information, and provides a comprehensive compilation of the people and terms that are essential for an understanding of the Holocaust. In 2,000 entries, it profiles major personalities, covers concentration and death camps, cities and countries, and significant events.

 

Ebooks

Representing the Holocaust - Dominick La Capra
ISBN: 0801429978
Publication Date: 1994-06-28
Defying comprehension, the tragic history of the Holocaust has been alternately repressed and canonized in postmodern Western culture. Recently our interpretation of the Holocaust has been the center of bitter controversies, from debates over Paul de Man's collaborationist journalism and Martin Heidegger's Nazi past to attempts by some historians to downplay the Holocaust's significance. A major voice in current historiographical discussions, Dominick LaCapra brings a new clarity to these issues as he examines the intersections between historical events and the theory through which we struggle to understand them.

Cover Art
The Plunder of Jewish Property During the Holocaust - Avi Beker (Editor)
ISBN: 0333760646
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
The campaign for the restitution of Jewish property stolen during the Holocaust touched a raw nerve within European society. This text reviews major case studies of restitution in several countries and how national myths must be re-examined.

Cover Art
Post-Holocaust - Berel Lang
ISBN: 0253345014
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
In these essays, philosopher Berel Lang examines post-Holocaust intepretations and misinterpretations showing the ways in which rhetoric and ideology have affected historical discourse about the Holocaust and how these accounts can be deconstructed. Why didn't the Jews resist? How could the Germans have done what they did? Why didn't more bystanders join in the rescue? To confront such issues adequately requires comparative and contextual evidence.

Cover Art
Hitler, the Germans, and the Final Solution - Ian Kershaw
ISBN: 9780300124279
Publication Date: 2008-06-10
The volume brings together the most important and influential aspects of Ian Kershaw's research on the Holocaust for the first time. The writings are arranged in three sections;Hitler and the Final Solution, popular opinion and the Jews in Nazi Germany, and the Final Solution in historiography and Kershaw provides an introduction and a closing section on the uniqueness of Nazism. Kershaw was a founding historian of the social history of the Third Reich, and he has throughout his career conducted pioneering research on the societal causes and consequences of Nazi policy.

 

Books

Cover Art
Hitler's Willing Executioners - Daniel Jonah Goldhagen
Call Number: D 804.3 .G648 1996
ISBN: 0679446958
Publication Date: 1996-03-19
A work of the utmost importance--as authoritative as it is explosive--Hitler's Willing Executioners will fundamentally change our perception of the Holocaust and of Germany in the Nazi period. Goldhagen reaches conclusions that are both uncompromising and savage, rejecting as inadequate the conventional historical explanations for how an entire country could allow the Holocaust to happen, and gives the first detailed, broad-ranging account of the actual killers of the Jews.

The Origins of Nazi Genocide - Henry Friedlander
Call Number: DD 256.5 .F739 1995
ISBN: 0807822086
Publication Date: 1995-01-01
Also available electronically. Tracing the rise of racist and eugenic ideologies, Henry Friedlander explores in chilling detail how the Nazi program of secretly exterminating the handicapped and disabled evolved into the systematic destruction of Jews and Gypsies. He describes how the so-called euthanasia of the handicapped provided a practical model for the later mass murder, thereby initiating the Holocaust.

Cover Art
Auschwitz - Miklos Nyiszli; Tibere Kremer (Translator); Richard Seaver (Translator); Bruno Bettelheim (Introduction by)
Call Number: D 805 .P7 N9513 2011
ISBN: 161145011X
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
When the Nazis invaded Hungary in 1944, they sent virtually the entire Jewish population to Auschwitz. A Jew and a medical doctor, Dr. Miklos Nyiszli was spared from death for a grimmer fate: to perform scientific research on his fellow inmates under the supervision of the infamous Angel of Death: Dr. Josef Mengele. Nyiszli was named Mengele s personal research pathologist. Miraculously, he survived to give this terrifying and sobering account.

Cover Art
Nazis after Hitler - Donald M. Mckale
Call Number: D 804.3 .M396 2012
ISBN: 9781442213166
Publication Date: 2011-11-23
This deeply researched and informative book traces the biographies of thirty "typical" perpetrators of the Holocaust--some well known, some obscure--who survived World War II. Donald M. McKale reveals the shocking reality that the perpetrators were only rarely, if ever, tried or punished for their crimes, and nearly all alleged their innocence in Germany's extermination of nearly six million European Jews during the war. He highlights the bitter contrasts between the comfortable postwar lives of many war criminals and the enduring suffering of their victims.

Cover Art
History vs. Apologetics - David Cymet
Call Number: BM 535 .C88 2010
ISBN: 9780739132937
Publication Date: 2010-04-26
Set within the context of the political and ideological developments of the time, History vs. Apologetics examines the role played by the Catholic Church in the rise and consolidation of the Third Reich and in particular with regard to the Nazi persecution of the Jews.

Cover Art
The Eichmann Trial - Deborah E. Lipstadt
Call Number: KMK 44 .E33 L57 2011
ISBN: 9780805242607
Publication Date: 2011-03-15
The capture of SS Lieutenant Colonel Adolf Eichmann by Israeli agents in Argentina in May of 1960 and his subsequent trial in Jerusalem by an Israeli court electrified the world. The public debate it sparked on where, how, and by whom Nazi war criminals should be brought to justice, and the international media coverage of the trial itself, was a watershed moment in how the civilized world in general and Holocaust survivors in particular found the means to deal with the legacy of genocide on a scale that had never been seen before.

 

Classic Works on the Holocaust

Cover Art
Night - Elie Wiesel (Preface by); Marion Wiesel (Translator)
Call Number: DS 135 .R13 W543
ISBN: 0809073560
Publication Date: 2006-04-01
Night is Elie Wiesel's masterpiece, a candid, horrific, and deeply poignant autobiographical account of his survival as a teenager in the Nazi death camps.

Anne Frank: The Diary of a Young Girl - Anne Frank
Call Number: D 810 .J4 F82
Publication Date: 1963
Discovered in the attic in which she spent the last years of her life, Anne Frank's remarkable diary has since become a world classic—a powerful reminder of the horrors of war and an eloquent testament to the human spirit. In 1942, with Nazis occupying Holland, a thirteen-year-old Jewish girl and her family fled their home in Amsterdam and went into hiding. For the next two years, until their whereabouts were betrayed to the Gestapo, they and another family lived cloistered in the "Secret Annex" of an old office building.

Cover Art
Man's Search for Meaning - Viktor E. Frankl
Call Number: D 805 .G3 F7233
ISBN: 0671023373
Publication Date: 1997-12-01
Internationally renowned psychiatrist Viktor E. Frankl endured years of unspeakable horror in Nazi death camps. During, and partly because of, his suffering, Dr. Frankl developed a revolutionary approach to psychotherapy known as logotherapy. At the core of his theory is the belief that man's primary motivational force is his search for meaning.

Cover Art
My Father Bleeds History - Art Spiegelman
Call Number: D 804.3 .S66 1986
ISBN: 0394541553
Publication Date: 1991-11-01
Spiegelman interviewed his father, Vladek, a Holocaust survivor living outside New York City, about his experiences. He then deftly translated that story into a graphic novel. By portraying a true story of the Holocaust in comic form--the Jews are mice, the Germans cats, the Poles pigs, the French frogs, and the Americans dogs--Spiegelman compels the reader to imagine the action, to fill in the blanks that are so often shied away from. Reading Maus, you are forced to examine the Holocaust anew.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip