Books and EbooksWeb ResourcesPrimary Sources
This is the "Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Dictionaries" page of the "Judaism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Judaism  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/judaism Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Encyclopedias, Handbooks, Dictionaries Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

English-Hebrew Dictionaries

 

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks


The Universal Jewish Encyclopedia - Isaac Landman
Call Number: DS 102.8 .U5, v. 1-10
Publication Date: 1939-1943
an authoritative and popular presentation of Jews and Judaism since the earliest times

The Jewish Encyclopedia - Isidore Singer; Cyrus Adler
Call Number: DS 102.8 .J65 1901
Publication Date: 1901
a descriptive record of the history, religion, literature, and customs of the Jewish people from the earliest times

Cover Art
Encyclopedia Judaica - Fred Skolnik; Michael Berenbaum
Call Number: DS 102.8 .E496 2007
ISBN: 0028659287
Publication Date: 2006-12-12
Providing an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures, Encyclopaedia Judaica, Second Edition is important to scholars, general readers and students.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Jewish Biography - Dan Cohn-Sherbok
ISBN: 0826480403
Publication Date: 2006-03-10
Electronic book. From Abraham to Saul Bellow, from Moses Maimonides to Woody Allen, from the Baal Shem Tov to Albert Einstein, this comprehensive dictionary of Jewish biographies provides a first point of entry into the fascinating richness of the Jewish heritage. Modelled on the highly acclaimed Dictionary of Christian Biography (Continuum 2001) and with the advice of leading Jewish scholars, the Dictionary of Jewish Biography provides a rapid reference to those Jewish men and women who have, over the last four thousand years, contributed to the life of the Jewish people and the history of the Jewish religion. This dictionary will prove essential for general readers interested in the evolution of Judaism from ancient times to the present day, a perfect study aid for students and teachers.

Cover Art
The JPS Dictionary of Jewish Words - Joyce Eisenberg; Ellen Scolnic
ISBN: 9780827607200
Publication Date: 2001-05-01
From one of the most trusted names in Jewish publishing comes an indispensable reference to the most common Jewish words and terms in use today. The entries include words for and associated with Jewish holidays and life-cycle events, culture, history, the Bible and other sacred texts, Jewish worship, and more. Each entry has a pronunciation guide and is cross-referenced to other related terms. The introduction serves as an excellent primer on the history of Jewish words, their transliteration, and pronunciation.

Cover Art
Jewish Women in America: An Historical Encyclopedia - Paula E. Hyman (Editor); Deborah Dash Moore (Editor)
Call Number: DS 115.2 .J49 1997
ISBN: 0415919363
Publication Date: 1997-11-05
This encyclopedia provides the first standard reference work on the lives, history and activities of Jewish women in the United States. Covering a period which extends from the arrival of the first Jewish women in North America in 1654 to the present, this two-volume set presents the most comprehensive and detailed portrait of American Jewish women ever published, and brings together for the first time the wealth of recent scholarship on this subject.

Cover Art
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt - Donald B. Redford (Editor)
Call Number: DT 58 .O94 2001
ISBN: 0195102347
Publication Date: 2001-01-11
In three volumes.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip