This is the "Reference" page of the "Legal Administration / Legal Assistant" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Legal Administration / Legal Assistant  

Last Updated: Jun 9, 2016 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/content.php?pid=440582 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Reference Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

eBooks

Login may be required

Cover Art
The New Oxford Companion to Law - Peter Cane (Editor); Joanne Conaghan (Editor)
Call Number: K 48 .W34 2009 (eBOOK)
ISBN: 9780199290543
Publication Date: 2008-11-15
For any reader needing a concise explanation of a subject in law The New Oxford Companion to Law is the ideal reference work. Providing greater depth than legal dictionaries but always accessible to the non-expert, entries in the Companion cover all areas of law and legal systems and are extensively cross-referenced for ease of navigation.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to American Law - Kermit L. Hall (Editor); Joel B. Grossman (Editor); James W. Ely (Editor); N. E. H. Hull (Editor); David S. Clark (Editor)
Call Number: KF 154 .O96 2002 (eBOOK)
ISBN: 9780195088786
Publication Date: 2002-05-02
This Companion offers a one-volume, alphabetically arranged, encyclopedia introducing the main lines of American law, from the institutions, people, events, and cases to the doctrines and concepts.

Cover Art
The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States - Kermit L. Hall (Editor); James W. Ely; Joel B. Grossman
Call Number: KF 8742 .A35 O93 2005 (eBOOK)
ISBN: 9780195176612
Publication Date: 2005-05-19
The Supreme Court has continued to write constitutional history over the thirteen years since publication of the highly acclaimed first edition of The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court.

Cover Art
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government - John J. Patrick; Richard M. Pious; Donald A. Ritchie
Call Number: JK 9 .P384 2002 (eBOOK)
ISBN: 9780195142730
Publication Date: 2001-07-04
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government is the ultimate resource for authoritative information on the U.S. Presidency, Congress, and Supreme Court. Compiled by three top scholars, its pages brim with the key figures, events, and structures that have animated U.S. government for more than 200 years.

Cover Art
Opportunities in Paralegal Careers - Alice Fins
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780071438445
Publication Date: 2005-03-21
Part of a series that gives you the inside scoop on more than 100 professions as well as on various useful aspects of your career. This book provides information about job opportunities and earning potential, along with a forecast of the paralegal profession. It gives an overview of education, curriculum, and training requirements.

 

Print books

Cover Art
NALA Manual for Paralegals and Legal Assistants - National Association of Legal Assistants, Inc. Staff
Call Number: KF 320 .L4 N34 2015
ISBN: 9781133591863
Publication Date: 2014-01-29
Succeed on the job--and in your course--and prepare for the Certified Paralegal examination with the NALA Manual. More than 100 leading authorities with a wide range of experience in legal disciplines and management have contributed to this comprehensive manual since it was introduced in 1976. Covering all the skills required of paralegals today, the updated manual includes a collection of successful solutions to actual assignments accomplished by working paralegals nationwide.These proven techniques and procedures can be used as starting points from which you can make changes, adaptations, and modifications when you encounter similar situations on the job.

Cover Art
Paralegal Professional - Thomas F. Goldman; Henry R. Cheeseman
Call Number: KF 320 .L4 C445 2014
ISBN: 9780132956055
Publication Date: 2013-01-03
An engaging and practical introduction to the paralegal profession.   Written by an award-winning author team, The Paralegal Professional, 4e provides a solid foundation in substantive and procedural legal knowledge and analytical skills. Using chapter opening vignettes, ethical perspectives, advice from the field, and chapter exercises, it develops the real-world skills needed to be successful in a paralegal career. Substantive law chapters provide an overview of the most common individual legal areas of practice. The text brings paralegal practice alive and illuminates the roles and tasks paralegals assume in the legal working environment.   MyLegalStudiesLab Virtual Law Office Experience The new Fourth Edition of The Paralegal Professional is accompanied by MyLegalStudiesLab Virtual Law Office Experience, including groundbreaking, interactive guided learning tools and media, and a robust course management and assessment program. MyLegalStudiesLab gives students the opportunity to test themselves on key concepts from their textbook, learn how to apply the concepts to real-life scenarios, and practice the skills they have learned through a Virtual Law Office Experience.

Cover Art
Torts and Personal Injury Law for the Paralegal - Richard Jeffries
Call Number: KF 1250 .Z9 J44 2014
ISBN: 9780132919845
Publication Date: 2013-02-19
Written by a trial lawyer who has had 37 years of practical experience in torts and personal injury law and moving beyond traditional torts textbooks, Tort and Personal Injury Law for the Paralegal covers the topics that help win and lose cases. In addition to the traditional black letter law of torts, the book offers unique chapters on medical and insurance issues-preparing paralegals for the real tasks they are likely to face in today's workplace. This revolutionary book is filled with authentic legal, medical and insurance documents that allow students to learn how documents are constructed and where to find critical information. End-of-chapter assignments and instructor materials simulate a supervising attorney's work requests and help students build skills and create samples for prospective employers.

Cover Art
Paralegal Today - Roger LeRoy Miller; Mary Meinzinger
Call Number: KF 320 .L4 M556 2014
ISBN: 9781133591078
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Designed to provide readers with a comprehensive introduction to the legal system, the sixth edition of PARALEGAL TODAY: THE LEGAL TEAM AT WORK uses real-world examples, practical applications, ethical dilemmas, and hands-on assignments to prepare readers to thrive in the legal environment. With coverage of general information as well as specific areas of the law, this book ensures that readers develop a comprehensive understanding of the laws in our society, the importance of ethical and professional responsibility, and the skills needed to succeed in the legal world. The sixth edition includes increased coverage of technology in the workplace, including critical topics such as confidentiality issues, e-mail policies, technology in the courtroom, and the use of social media in crime detection and enforcing delinquent court judgments. In addition, "Social Media Today" boxed features explain how social media such as Twitter, Facebook, Google+, and LinkedIn can be used in the legal field.

Cover Art
Civil Litigation - Thomas F. Goldman; Alice Hart Hughes
Call Number: KF 8841 .G65 2012
ISBN: 0135109434
Publication Date: 2011-01-04
This fully-updated text is designed to build the skill sets students need to succeed as members of today's civil litigation teams. CIVIL LITIGATION: PROCESS AND PROCEDURES, 2/e  clearly presents legal concepts, emphasizing the details of the litigation process, critical thinking, and hands-on exercises that develop practical law office skills. Students will gain real-world procedural skills, master electronic discovery and court rules; learn how to handle ethical challenges in civil litigation practice; and develop a professional employment portfolio. This edition includes 46 video case studies that illustrate each stage of the litigation process, showing the day-to-day activities of the litigation team preparing and trying a civil case in a real world setting. Extensive assignment-related case materials and documents are provided in the text and online.

Cover Art
Legal Research and Writing for Paralegals - Neal R. Bevans; Pamela Tepper
Call Number: KF 240 .T47 2009
ISBN: 9780073524627
Publication Date: 2008-05-22
Legal Research and Writing for Paralegals takes students on a step-by-step journey through the intricacies of researching legal issues and creating legal documents. The focus is on critical areas paralegals deal with daily: what law is and how to find it, what role the Internet plays in legal research, how to incorporate legal research into writing, and how to create an array of legal documents. Ethics are integral to the practice of law, and each chapter addresses issues particularly relevant to paralegals. The many practical assignments throughout and at the end of each chapter allow students to put into practice what they are learning about research and writing. The pedagogy of the book focuses on three main goals: Learning outcomes (critical thinking, vocabulary building, skill development, issues analysis, writing practice) Relevance of topics without sacrificing theory (ethical challenges, current law practices, technology application) Practical application (real-world exercises, practical advice, portfolio creation) The Paralegal Supersite Site

Cover Art
Ethics for Paralegals - Linda A. Spagnola; Vivian B. Batts
Call Number: KF 320 .L4 S69 2009b
ISBN: 9780073376981
Publication Date: 2008-05-16
Ethics for Paralegals attempts to animate the study of Ethics. It is critical for the paralegal student to understand the parameters of their not only their job, but also the ethical rules that define the proper practice of law. It is only after understanding legal ethics that the paralegal understands why they do things a certain way in the law office. Files are kept in a certain manner to maintain client confidentiality, retainers are collected in a certain way to comply with the rules relating to fees, and even a paralegal’s business card has ethical implications regarding the “unauthorized practice of law”. This text attempts to put these ethical rules into perspective. Attorneys and paralegals deal with these rules everyday, so everyday examples and hypotheticals are used for in-class discussion. The Paralegal Supersite Site

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip