Civil ProcedureContractsPropertyTorts
This is the "Using the Library" page of the "Guide for First Year Law Students" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Oct 17, 2017 URL: http://libguides.udmercy.edu/firstyear Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Using the Library Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Facebook

 

Staff

Patrick Meyer
Library Director and Associate Professor 
meyerpj@udmercy.edu

Katherine Cooper
Research Specialist / Serials Librarian
cooperkt@udmercy.edu

Alicia Y. Dyer
Reference Librarian
dyeray@udmercy.edu

Jennifer Hostetler
Research Specialist / Night Manager
holzwojm@udmercy.edu

Elaine Manning
Cataloging Assistant
manninec@udmercy.edu

Gene Moy
Government Documents / Reference Librarian
moyg@udmercy.edu

Sally Moy
Electronic Resource Specialist
sally@udmercy.edu

M. Catherine Piche
Government Documents Technician
pichemc@udmercy.edu

Latha Rangarajan
Head of Technical Services 
rangarl@udmercy.edu

Zach Turk
Serials Technician
turkzp@udmercy.edu 

 

Our Mission

The Kresge Law Library supports foundational research and provides direction for more in-depth research on legal issues of interest to our faculty and students by maintaining comprehensive core collections in a variety of formats on each area of law covered by our curriculum or that is the subject of faculty research. The library provides access to high-quality library services designed to meet the curriculum, research, professional, intellectual, creative, and personal needs of the University of Detroit Mercy community, and provides Detroit lawyers and residents with access to basic legal information.

The library staff will provide students and faculty with guidance and assistance in both locating information and planning research strategies. 

 

Collections

The library’s online catalog can be accessed at murphy.law.udmercy.edu. Items can be located in the catalog with the following search parameters: keyword, title, author, subject, LC call #, government document #, ISBN/ISSN, or OCLC #.

Reserves
Reserve items are located behind the circulation desk and include: study aids, hornbooks and treatises, Michigan practice materials, Tax Management portfolios, Michigan statutes, court rules, and course reserve materials.

Electronic Resources
The Law Library provides access to a wide variety of electronic resources, including electronic journal indices and abstracts, tables of contents of journals, and full-text electronic journals. Several of the library’s resources are accessible not only in the Library, but also through remote access.  Links to electronic resources can be found on the library website's research tab or through Murphy.

Periodicals
Periodicals are located on the third floor of the library. The majority of journals are shelved in alphabetical order. For specific journal titles, please see a Reference Librarian.

Loose-Leaf Publications
The majority of loose-leaf publications (i.e., CCH and BNA) are located on the ground floor.

Michigan Records and Briefs
These materials are located on the ground floor of the library. Please see a Reference Librarian for assistance.

International and Foreign Law Collection
The majority of the international law materials and foreign law collections are located on the ground floor (English, Canadian).  

Government Documents 
The library became a government documents depository in 1979. Title 44, Section 1911, of the United States Code, guarantees reasonable public access to all depository materials within the library’s collection. Government documents and microfiche materials are located on the ground floor. Federal government publications are arranged according to the Superintendent of Documents classification system. All documents published after 1990 are available for searching on Murphy. The Catalog of United States Government Publications online database may also be used to access the collection. 

Law School Exams
The library has law school exams dating back to 1955; all exams are located on the first floor, Row 16. There are also select model answers available at the circulation desk.

Microfiche
The microfiche collection includes: Congressional Information Service (1970-present), Federal Register (1936-present), Congressional Record (1960-present), and U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs (1952-present). These materials are located on the ground floor of the library in the Microfiche room. Librarians are available to help find items and to operate the reader-printer.

“Movies and the Law” DVD Collection
The DVD collection includes movie classics, such as Inherit the Wind and Twelve Angry Men, as well as newer titles, such as The Social Network. These materials are located on the first floor of the library.

 

Library Services

Student Computers / Internet Access
The library has computers available for law student access located behind the general reference section. Law students may access the internet from these terminals. Wireless internet access is available throughout the library.

Westlaw / Lexis Patron Access
There are several computers reserved on the first floor for public patron access to Westlaw and Lexis, all with printing capabilities. Users will have access to state and federal laws, cases, and administrative materials. Reference librarians may be available to assist with research inquiries. There is no internet access available at these terminals.

Remote Access
Remote access to electronic resources is available at the following web address: http://murphy.law.udmercy.edu. For databases that are IP driven, you may need to enter your library patron number or your Titan Connect number to gain access.  

Library Scanner
A scanner is available for use by students, faculty, and staff. It is located by the student computers behind the general reference section. The scanner will send images directly to a user-defined email address. 

Printing
Printing is available to students from student access terminals and wirelessly. Instructions for printing are available at the circulation desk.

Photocopying
The photocopier is located on the first floor of the library in the copy center. Photocopies are $.10 each. U.S. currency only.

Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary loan is a service offered by the UDM Law Library to aid students, faculty, and staff in research. It is designed to complement the resources of the library, not to supply the major part of materials for extended research. Policies are based on the National Interlibrary Loan Code of the American Library Association and on the regulations of the individual lending libraries.

Microfiche Digital Reader
A microfiche digital reader is located on the ground level of the library.  

 

Hours

Monday – Thursday
7:00 a.m. – 10:50 p.m.

Friday
7:00 a.m. – 5:50 p.m.

Saturday & Sunday
10:00 a.m. – 5:50 p.m.

Special schedules will be posted for exam periods, semester breaks, holidays, and the summer session.

 

Contact Us

Circulation Desk
(313) 596-0241

Reference Desk
(313) 596-0244

Email
lawlibrary@udmercy.edu

Website
http://www.law.udmercy.edu

 

Other Library Guides

Basic Canadian Legal Research
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Feb 27, 2017
2 views this year
Basic International Legal Research
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Feb 27, 2017
7 views this year
Children and the Law
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Aug 28, 2017
83 views this year
Copyright Law
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Aug 28, 2017
17 views this year
Environmental Law
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Aug 28, 2017
58 views this year
Family Law
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Aug 28, 2017
22 views this year
Guide for First Year Law Students
by Jennifer Hostetler - Last Updated Oct 17, 2017
84 views this year
History of Detroit Mercy Law
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Aug 28, 2017
Includes some print and online resources dedicated to the history of our law school.
9 views this year
History of the Michigan Constitution
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Feb 27, 2017
85 views this year
Immigration Law
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Aug 28, 2017
12 views this year
International Commercial Arbitration
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Aug 28, 2017
194 views this year
Introduction to "The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation"
by Jennifer Hostetler - Last Updated Oct 17, 2017
18,914 views this year
Legal Hierarchy
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Aug 28, 2017
158 views this year
Researching Federal Legislative History
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Feb 27, 2017
13 views this year
Researching Michigan Legislative History
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Feb 27, 2017
44 views this year
Selected Topics in Criminal Law-Seminar
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Aug 28, 2017
136 views this year
Selected Topics in Torts-Seminar
by Alicia Dyer - Last Updated Aug 28, 2017
95 views this year
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip