Stay current in the area of family law with journals. For general research purposes, the UDM Law Library encourages our researchers to consult a variety of resources, which could include journals and law reviews that are not specific to the area of family law.
- Family Law Quarterly
Available online through Hein; covers from 1967 to present.
- Canadian Family Law Quarterly
Available online through Westlaw; database identifier is CFLQ.
- University of Louisville Journal of Family Law
Available in print and also online through Hein Online or Westlaw.
- Journal of Law and Family Studies
Available online through Hein, Westlaw, and Lexis.
- International Journal of Law, Policy, and the Family
Available in print and online through Hein, Westlaw, and Lexis.
- Family Court Review
Available through Lexis and Westlaw; Westlaw database identifier is FAMCR.
- International Journal of the Jurisprudence of Family
Available online through Hein.
- Journal of the American Academy of Matrimonial Lawyers
Available in print and online via Hein.
- Law and Sexuality: A Review of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Legal Issues
Available online through Hein, Lexis, and Westlaw.
- Children's Legal Rights Journal
Available online from HeinOnline.
The UDM Law Library is proud to offer a wide range of indexes for varied use. These indexes are particularly helpful for finding older materials; however, researchers may be surprised at the ease of using the print materials for subject-specific legal information from periodicals. We recommend consulting multiple sources when conducting your research.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books
Prior volumes of this index are held in the law library; however, this index is no longer current in print form. The Index to Legal Periodicals and Books is located in Row 61 on the third floor of the law library. Alternatively, researchers can use the link to access the Index online. The online version is current and regularly maintained.
- Current Law Index
This index is available in print from the UDM Law Library, and is located in Row 61 on the third floor. This title also corresponds with our LegalTrac database, available online. The print version is published annually, and include two volumes (one to browse by subject and the other to browse by author or title).
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
This is an excellent resource that can be used to locate titles and citations to foreign periodicals. Each volume is arranged with a subject index, geographical index, book review index, and author index. This series is no longer being maintained in print; however, it is available from HeinOnline beginning with 1985.
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature
This is a multi-volume set that includes a nicely organized subject index. Each volume is dedicated to a specific set of letter combinations (i.e., to located environmental law materials, consult the DI-FE volume). The set is current through 2011. The ICLL is fully bilingual, and offers comprehensive coverage of Canadian secondary legal literature.
This form allows our patrons to suggest that materials be added to our collection. Unless it is a source you have previously evaluated, you may wish to first utilize the Inter Library Loan (ILL) method first. ILL forms are available in the library at the circulation desk.
Family Law is an interdisciplinary field, and researchers may wish to include in their research materials outside of the law. Below, researchers will find a list of resources they may wish to consult for interdisciplinary research needs.
JSTOR (also known as Journal Storage) includes journals from a wide variety of disciplines.
- SSRN (Social Science Research Network)
SSRN has articles in 20 core subject areas, including the Legal Scholarship Network. This database is free, and offers abstract and title search features. Abstracts provide helpful glimpses of the articles, and researchers can use the one-click download feature to access relevant articles. This database does include working papers, which may help researchers stay on top of current scholarship in their area.
- ProQuest's Government Periodicals Index
This database offers several methods of searching, including a topical index from which researchers can browse different areas of interest. Materials are typically presented in pdf format with direct links to the resource.
- Databases from the McNichols Campus
Library use only. UDM Law patrons may access materials from the McNichols Campus Databases from within the library.
- Congressional Research Service Database
This database is sponsored through the University of North Texas and is a comprehensive compilation of CRS reports. The site's aim is to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990. Many CRS reports are in pdf format.