LibGuides: Selected Topics in Professional Responsibility Seminar: Lexis/Westlaw/Bloomberg

Lexis Advance

Lexis Advance offers primary resources and secondary resources in professional ethics. This link permits researchers with a Detroit Mercy Law Lexis account to browse available sources.

Legal Ethics
A compilation of resources available from Lexis Advance under the topic of Legal Ethics.

Specific Titles from Lexis Advance

The links below lead researchers directly to the table of contents for that particular resource.

Westlaw Next

To access any of the Westlaw databases, click on the link below.

ABA Model Rules for Lawyers' Funds for Client Protection
ABA Ethics Opinions
The database Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility-American Bar Association Ethics Opinions contains formal and informal opinions related to legal ethics.
ABA Survey on Lawyer Discipline Systems
The results of a questionnaire sent to 56 lawyer disciplinary agencies. Forty-five agencies responded to the survey. The survey results include eight charts, explanatory footnotes, and a sample survey form. The results are provided by the American Bar Association Center for Professional Responsibility. Coverage includes the 1996 edition.
Annotated Model Rules of Professional Conduct
ABA Annotated Model Rules of Professional Conduct contains the rule accompanied by commentary and annotations.
Code of Judicial Conduct
Criminal Defense Ethics
This single-volume resource reviews the underlying ground rules and the range of resolutions applicable to particular ethical and legal dilemmas. Coverage includes forfeiture of legal fees, abuse of the subpoena process, liability in malpractice suits, and conflicts of interest. Discusses disqualification motions, ineffective assistance of counsel, and trial publicity and other public statements.
Ethical Standards in the Public Sector
Ineffective Assistance of Counsel
This database discusses the development of ineffective assistance of counsel, evaluates the current state of the law, and provides guidance for those who encounter ineffective assistance claims. Provides in-depth coverage of state and federal constitutional standards for ineffectiveness, applications of standards in pretrial, trial, sentencing, and appellate settings. Also reviews state constitutional law variations on constitutional standards. Includes hundreds of carefully indexed cases, plus analysis of Supreme Court decisions concerning Sixth Amendment and ineffective assistance of counsel issues. Section one details the development of the legal standards, while section two focuses on the application of those standards by the courts.
Law of Lawyer Advertising
This treatise covers in depth the current "hot areas" of lawyer advertising including: submission requirements, use of testimonials and actors, provability requirements, court views on advertisement "dignity", approval requirements, content regulation, competing models of regulation, accident and disaster solicitation ("ambulance chasing") regulations, and societal considerations for regulation. It covers every United States Supreme Court decision on the subject of lawyer advertising as well as the rules and regulations pertaining to lawyer advertising in every state.
Lawyer Regulation for a New Century - Report of the Commission on Evaluation of Disciplinary Enforcement (McKay Report) Scope Information
The McKay Report contains the results of a nationwide evaluation of lawyer disciplinary enforcement and 21 blackletter recommendations, adopted by the American Bar Association House of Delegates on February 4, 1992, and related commentary. The recommendations provide a model for responsible regulation of the legal profession into the 21st century.
Lawyer's Desk Book
A reference book for lawyers with sections on areas including business planning and litigation, contract and property law, and law office issues.
Legal Ethics--The Lawyer's Deskbook on Professional Responsibility
Legal Ethics-The Lawyer's Deskbook on Professional Responsibility, by Ronald D. Rotunda, provides commentary on the ABA's Model Rules of Professional Conduct, as well as references to current case law and the Restatement of the Law 3d - The Law Governing Lawyers.
Legal Malpractice
Legal Malpractice discusses malpractice, prevention, and insurance issues.
Legal Opinion Letters: A Comprehensive Guide to Opinion Letter Practice
Covers all aspects - drafting, requesting, receiving, interpreting and evaluating - of both client and third-party legal opinion letters.
Model Rules for Lawyer Disciplinary Enforcement
Liability of Attorneys and Accountants for Securities Transactions
Full text of Liability of Attorneys and Accountants for Securities Transactions, by Robert J. Haft, which focuses on the potential liabilities that each professional may encounter in the course of a securities transaction and how to minimize that liability. The treatise includes chapters on sections 11 and 12 of the 1933 Act, rule 10b-5 of the 1934 Act, other federal civil liability provisions, state law claims, the influence of professional standards on liability, disclosure defenses, proportionate liability and contribution, and Securities and Exchange Commission and other regulatory proceedings against attorneys and accountants.
Model Rules of Professional Conduct (Unannotated)
Professional Responsibility in Criminal Defense Practice
Prosecutorial Misconduct
Rule 11 Sanctions
Text of Rule 11 Sanctions by Georgene M. Vairo.
Standards for Imposing Lawyer Sanctions

Bloomberg Law

Bloomberg Law content is available for use by Detroit Mercy Law students and faculty. [Please see a librarian for more information about creating a Bloomberg Law account.] Particular to this course, researchers should consider the resources found in ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct. This resource contains news reports, a searchable database to ethics opinions, practice guides, and much more.

ABA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct (Current Report)
Bloomberg Law
Compilation of resources in Bloomberg Law on legal ethics, which may be of interest to upper level students.