Study Rooms
Study rooms are located on the second and third floors of the library. Students wishing to reserve a room must book through LibCal.
Student Computers / Internet Access
The library has computers available for law student access located behind the general reference section. Law students may access the internet from these terminals. Wireless internet access is available throughout the library.
Remote Access
Electronic resources can be accessed remotely through the library's database listing. For databases that are IP driven, you may need to enter your library patron number or your Titan Connect number to gain access.
Library Scanner
A scanner is available for use by students, faculty, and staff. It is located by the student computers behind the general reference section. The scanner will send images directly to a user-defined email address.
Printing
Printing is available to students from student access terminals and wirelessly. Instructions for printing are available at the circulation desk.
Photocopying
The photocopier is located on the first floor of the library in the copy center. Photocopies are $.10 each. U.S. currency only.
Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary loan is a service offered by the Law Library to aid students, faculty, and staff in research. It is designed to complement the resources of the library, not to supply the major part of materials for extended research. Policies are based on the National Interlibrary Loan Code of the American Library Association and on the regulations of the individual lending libraries.
Microfiche Digital Reader
A microfiche digital reader is located on the ground level of the library.
The library’s online catalog, Murphy, can be accessed at detml.iii.com. Items can be located in the catalog with the following search parameters: keyword, title, author, subject, LC call #, government document #, ISBN/ISSN, or OCLC #.
Reserves
Reserve items are located behind the circulation desk and include: study aids, hornbooks and treatises, Michigan practice materials, Tax Management portfolios, Michigan statutes, court rules, and course reserve materials.
Electronic Resources
The Law Library provides access to a wide variety of electronic resources, including electronic journal indices and abstracts, tables of contents of journals, and full-text electronic journals. Several of the library’s resources are accessible not only in the Library, but also through remote access. Links to electronic resources can be found on the library website's research tab or through Murphy.
Periodicals
Periodicals are located on the third floor of the library. The majority of journals are shelved in alphabetical order. For specific journal titles, please see a Reference Librarian.
Loose-Leaf Publications
The majority of loose-leaf publications (i.e., CCH and BNA) are located on the ground floor.
Michigan Records and Briefs
These materials are located on the ground floor of the library. Please see a Reference Librarian for assistance.
International and Foreign Law Collection
The majority of the international law materials and foreign law collections are located on the ground floor (English, Canadian).
Government Documents
The library became a government documents depository in 1979. Title 44, Section 1911, of the United States Code, guarantees reasonable public access to all depository materials within the library’s collection. Government documents and microfiche materials are located on the ground floor. Federal government publications are arranged according to the Superintendent of Documents classification system. All documents published after 1990 are available for searching on Murphy. The Catalog of United States Government Publications online database may also be used to access the collection.
Law School Exams
A selection of past midterm and final exams from Detroit Mercy Law professors and instructors are available to current students on TWEN—just add the "Past Exams" course to your TWEN homepage.
Microfiche
The microfiche collection includes: Congressional Information Service (1970-present), Federal Register (1936-present), Congressional Record (1960-present), and U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs (1952-present). These materials are located on the ground floor of the library in the Microfiche room. Librarians are available to help find items and to operate the reader-printer.
“Movies and the Law” DVD Collection
The DVD collection includes movie classics, such as Inherit the Wind and Twelve Angry Men, as well as newer titles, such as The Social Network. These materials are located on the first floor of the library.
Patrick Meyer
Library Director & Associate Professor of Law
meyerpj@udmercy.edu
Michael Bird
Reference & Serials Librarian
birdmi@udmercy.edu
Jennifer Hostetler
Reference & Government Documents Librarian
holzwojm@udmercy.edu
William Ketchum
Head of Public Services
ketchuwi@udmercy.edu
Elaine Manning
Cataloging Assistant
manninec@udmercy.edu
Stephanie McCoy
Head of Access Services and Archives
mccoysn@udmercy.edu
Tracian Radway
Circulation Assistant
radwaytl@udmercy.edu
Latha Rangarajan
Head of Technical Services
rangarl@udmercy.edu