This guide includes resources and information to help you in your library research for communication studies topics.
Many databases will create a citation for you. Click on an article title, then look for a link or icon that says "Citation Tools" or "Cite". You can cut and paste the citation to include in your list of references.
If you're using a book or website, or you find an article that's not in a database, these websites will automatically create citations for your sources, but you may need to enter some information manually, and ALWAYS make sure to double-check the results.
Search these databases to find articles related to public relations:
- Communications and Mass Media Colletcion (Gale)
A custom collection of more than 250 journals focused on advertising, public relations, journalism, and communications.
- Management and Organization Studies (SAGE)
Includes articles on : Business & Management, Organizations Studies, Human Resource Management, Human Resource Development, , Marketing, Analytical Marketing, S Industrial Relations, Small Business/Entrepreneurship, Organizational Communication and Interpersonal Communication.
- Demographics Now
Find information about specific businesses or compare businesses competing in a specific geographic area using this database
- Business Decision
Includes comprehensive business-to-consumer market data. Detailed company profiles, product and brand information combined with investment reports and rankings.
- Business Collection (Gale)
rovides information on companies, markets and industries, market trends, mergers and acquisitions, current management theory and company overviews. The database provides access to business and trade journals, newspapers and company directory profiles with full text and images.
- LexisNexis Academic
An interdisciplinary, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
Call Number: LB 2369 .C53 2016
Publication Date: 2016
Sources today are published today in a dizzying range of formats. A book, for example, may be read in print, online, or as an e-book--or perhaps listened to in an audio version. On the Web, modes of publication are regularly invented, combined, and modified. In this shorter and redesigned for easy use new edition the MLA recommends instead one universal set of guidelines, which writers can apply to any type of source.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: BF 76.7 .P83 2010
Publication Date: 2001
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, metrication, statistical and mathematical data, tables and figures for use in writing, reports or presentations.
The Associated Press Stylebook 2015
Call Number: PN 4783 .A83 2015
Publication Date: 2015
The style of the Associated Press is the gold standard for news writing. WithThe AP Stylebook in hand, you can learn how to write and edit with the clarity and professionalism for which they are famous. Includes invaluable additional sections on the unique guidelines for business and sports reporting and on how you can guard against libel and copyright infringement.
The Chicago Manual of Style
Call Number: Z 253 .U69 2010
Publication Date: 2010
While digital technologies have revolutionized the publishing world in the twenty-first century, one thing still remains true: The Chicago Manual of Style is the authoritative, trusted source that writers, editors, and publishers turn to for guidance on style and process. For the sixteenth edition, every aspect of coverage has been reconsidered to reflect how publishing professionals work today
When evaluating sources, consider the following:
- Who are the Authors
- Objectivity and Purpose
- Content and Accuracy
See this handout for more information.
- Annenberg Institute's Critical Thinking Resources
Lists political leanings of organizations on different issues.
- Fact-Checking: How to Improve Your Skills in Accountability Journalism
Free online course to help reporters learn to identify credible sources.
- Fact Checker's Code of Principles
from the international Fact-Checking Network
Created by the Annenberg Public Policy Center, a nonpartisan, nonprofit, consumer advocate that monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political figures.
- OpenSecrets.org Center for Responsive Politics
A nonpartisan, nonprofit, and independent group that tracks money in U.S. politics.
- American Press Institute's Fact-Checking Resources
Links, tools and techniques for fact-checking various sources and issues, including social media and web content, public health, crime, health care, and climate change.
"PolitiFact is a fact-checking website that rates the accuracy of claims by elected officials and others who speak up in American politics. PolitiFact is run by editors and reporters from the Tampa Bay Times, an independent newspaper in Florida"
- Africa Check
A nonprofit organization in Africa that tests claims made by public figures, institutions and the media against the best possible evidence.
- Duke University's Reporters Lab
Includes links to global fact-checking site and fact-checking news.